Research Guides: Career Research Guide: Home

Recommended Resources from Syracuse University Career Services

Career Services Resources for Undergraduate and Graduate Students

Syracuse University Career Services
Main website for Syracuse University Career Services offering many events and resources. Also includes a list of Syracuse University school and college career centers for specialized career support.
Handshake
Handshake is Syracuse University’s centralized career management tool for students and alumni. Find internships, professional employment, and professional development opportunities offered by Syracuse University and other internal and external partners. Schedule career advising appointments, explore career fair and professional development events, and connect with employers.
Big Interview
Big Interview, provided by Syracuse University Career Services, helps strengthen interview skills and provides a platform for practicing virtual and in-person interviews.
Firsthand
Firsthand, provided by Syracuse University Career Services, includes industry insights, professional development content and events, mentor matching, and networking opportunities.
Interstride
Interstride, provided by Syracuse University Career Services, helps students connect with the international community and discover jobs and internships in the United States and throughout the world by work authorization, visa type, and employers' historical records of H-1B sponsorship.
LinkedIn
LinkedIn is recommended by Syracuse University Career Services for professional networking, visibility, and employment opportunities.
VMock
VMock, provided by Syracuse University Career Services, is a resume review platform offering personalized resume feedback.
Labor Market Insights
Labor Market Insights, provided by Syracuse University Career Services, draws data from O*Net (a U.S. Department of Labor, Employment and Training Administration database) to show career projections and salary estimates by occupation and industry at the national, state, and county level.

Career Services Resources for Graduate Students

Syracuse University Graduate School Career Exploration and Planning Resources
Career resources recommended by the Syracuse University Graduate School Professional and Career Development Office for master's students, PhD students, and postdocs.

A Few Highlighted Resources for Graduate Students

Beyond Graduate School Career Training Platform
Professional development platform featuring five modules to help master's students learn how to leverage their education and build a meaningful career.
Beyond the Professoriate PhD Career Training Platform
Professional development platform featuring a 4-stage program helping Ph.D. students and postdocs successfully transition into an academic or nonacademic career.
ImaginePhD
Start planning your graduate school career and assessing your skills, values, and interests. It’s a free, confidential and online tool especially designed for humanities and social sciences students.

Websites Recommended by the Librarian for Business, Management, and Entrepreneurship

My Next Move
Contemplate the question, "What do you want to do for a living?" by searching careers with keywords, browsing careers by industry, and answering questions that will help you discover careers that align with your interests.
O*Net OnLine
Complements My Next Move by offering additional search options, data, and reports for researching careers.
Occupational Outlook Handbook
Information on work environment, education, training, qualifications, salary, and job outlook for hundreds of occupations.
Indeed
Job search site for finding employment and posting your resume.
Glassdoor.com
Job search site that includes employee reviews, salaries, and interview questions on thousands of companies.
Idealist
Job and volunteer search site focused on the non-profit sector.
Dice
Job search site focused on tech jobs.

Databases Recommended by the Librarian for Business, Management, and Entrepreneurship

In addition to the resources and tips from Syracuse University Career Services and the recommended websites, use the company, industry, and article research databases provided by Syracuse University Libraries to create lists of prospective employers, discover industry trends, and industry associations, and learn everything you can about a company before you interview.

Industry Research

Learn more about the industry in which you would like to work. Discover trends, top companies, and future outlook.

IBISWorld
Industry and company reports, industry outlook and risk rating reports, market share, and business environment profiles, and more, searchable by keyword or NAICS code.
Business Insights
Includes company profiles, financials, and SWOT analyses, associations, market share reports, business publications, and more. Search by keyword or NAICS code in "Industries" to discover relevant industry reports.

Additional Recommended Industry Research Databases
Find more industry information with these industry databases and industry research tips.

Company Research

Create your own targeted lists of companies where you might like to work (using industry codes, such as NAICS codes, geography, and other criteria) and learn everything you can about a certain company before you interview.

Mergent Intellect
Information about U.S. and international public and private companies, company news, and key business ratios. Searchable by company, person, or industry. Includes content in D & B Million Dollar Database and offers FirstResearch industry profiles, Nielsen demographics, and residential and consumer lifestyle directories.
Data Axle Reference Solutions
Includes profiles on United States and Canadian companies (including smaller private companies), a U.S. New Businesses search (with new businesses added weekly), a U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles database (where consumers can be identified with criteria such as income level and area of interest/hobbies), and directories of U.S. and Canadian residents.

Additional Recommended Company Research Databases
Explore other company research databases and find additional company research tips.

Business Article Databases

Find more information about a company, industry, or career by searching in business article databases.

ABI/INFORM Collection
Index and abstracts to publications in business, management, and news, as well as reports and working papers; includes some full text.
Business Source Elite
Coverage for hundreds of business publications and economics journals, including peer-reviewed publications. Contains full text from the world's top management and marketing journals including the Harvard Business Review.

Additional Recommended Databases for Business Articles
Find more articles by exploring these additional business article databases.

Business Information Guide

Visit the Business Information Guide to find more information and resources relevant for career and business research.

Business Information Guide
by Steph McReynolds Last Updated Nov 14, 2025 6529 views this year

Finding Industry Associations

Industry associations often gather industry statistics and data, create industry reports, and publish industry news and articles. Some industry associations include member listservs where jobs within that industry are posted. This valuable industry information is sometimes made available to non-members either on the association's website or via the Libraries' research databases. Business Insights and IBISWorld are databases that are especially useful for locating industry associations. The Yearbook of International Organizations also includes industry/professional associations.

Industry Associations in IBISWorld

IBISWorld

Industry associations may be found in the "Additional Resources" and "Assistance" sections of industry reports in IBISWorld.

Industry Associations in Business Insights

Business Insights

Search Across All Association Directories

To search across all industry association directories and editions in Business Insights, follow these instructions:

Enter a keyword in Business Insights that is relevant for your industry, such as energy. (Please note that NAICS code searches will not work when searching for association directories.)
Then click on "Associations," under "Showing Results For."
Under "Filter Your Results," you will have the option to select a certain "Publication Title," such as "Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Organizations" and/or "Publication Date."
Please note that other directory-specific limiters, such as "Country/Territory" and "State" are only available with a "Publication Search," as described below.

Search Within the Current Edition of a Specific Association Directory

To search within the current edition of a specific industry association directory in Business Insights, follow these instructions:

Go to "Browse" and then select "Publications" from the dropdown menu.
In the "Publication Search" box enter the keyword associations and click "Search."
Multiple editions of the following three industry association directories will be listed:
- Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
- Encyclopedia of Associations: National Organizations of the U.S.
- Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Organizations
In that list, click on each publication title to find the publication year in the publication description on the "About This Publication" page so you may select the most recently published editions of the three publications.
On the "About This Publication" page for one of the directories, click on the publication title, such as "Encyclopedia of Associations: Regional, State and Local Organizations," which will bring you to a list and number of associations, such as "Associations (34,226)."
Under "Filter Your Results" click on "Search Within" and then enter a term that may be relevant for the industry you are interested in, such as energy. (Please note that NAICS code searches will not work when searching within the association directories.)
You may also use the limiters for "Country/Territory" and/or "State" under "Filter Your Results."

Industry Associations in the Yearbook of International Organizations

Yearbook of International Organizations
Includes Intergovernmental Organizations (IGOs) and International Nongovernmental Organizations (INGOs).