Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Design and Costume
The Costume Site "Online Costuming Sources for Historical, Science Fiction & Fantasy Costumers." Includes links to Internet costume images and to costume collections in museums.
The Costume Page Once the most comprehensive costume site on the Internet. Worth visiting for bibliographies and book lists, dictionaries, images from online costume books, links to museums, ethnic sites, and costume history.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Images, videos, reference, biographies, and peer reviewed articles for research in international fashion and dress and fashion as performance art. Includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion, the Valerie Steele Core Collection of fashion photographs, and videos from the YOOX-NET-A-PORTER Runway Archive Collections 1979 to 2003. Contains the modules Berg Fashion Library, Fashion Photography Archive, Fashion Video Archive.
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases, including Periodicals Archive Online, Humanities Index, American Periodicals 174-1940, digital National Security Archive, and others.
Gale Primary Sources
Primary source interface for selected archival collections.
Journals and magazines covering U.S. history. Provided by NOVELNY.
Digital Theatre Plus
If using Chrome, please download the latest version to ensure video playback. Streaming video collection of theatre, dance, musical theatre, opera, and film productions in many genres, as well as interviews and notes by practitioners about production, technique, lighting, design and more; includes content from provider such as the, BBC, Broadway HD, LA Theatre Works, and Royal Shakespeare Company.
Victorian Popular Culture
Archival Victorian popular culture collections including content from the Senate House Library, University of London; The Harry Price Library of Magical Literature; Harry Ransom Center, University of Texas at Austin; The British Library; the British Film Institute National Archive and more.
Bloomsbury Design Library
Books, reference, and museum object images for the scholarly study of design and crafts worldwide, from 1500 BCE to the present day. Includes the Encyclopedia of Design, Encyclopedia of East Asian Design, and exhibition archives from the Museum of Craft and Design, San Francisco.
Stage Design by
Publication Date: 1999-10-01
Stage Design: A Practical Guide is designed to meet the needs of students and amateurs as well as professionals. Written in non-technical language, and with an emphasis on scenery design, it provides a comprehensive guide to the artistic and technical aspects of the subject. Each chapter contains clear, concise information and instructive photos, concluding with practical exercises to stimulate inquiry and creativity. Among the topics covered are the foundations of stage art and design; theater types; the use of color; art and design materials; understanding stage dynamics; saving money through innovation and invention; planning and making small scale models of stage designs; scaling up and implementing a stage design in a theater; and analyzing the script for design pointers. Gary Thorne is a professional costume and set designer.
Stage Lighting by
Publication Date: 2018-12-07
Stage Lighting: Design Applications and More builds upon the information introduced in Stage Lighting: The Fundamentals to provide an in-depth reference to a number of specialty areas of lighting design, from traditional applications such as drama, dance, and designing for different venues, to more advanced applications such as concert, corporate, film and video, virtual, architectural/landscape, and other forms of entertainment lighting. Each chapter gives the essential background, design practices, and equipment details for each specialization, so readers can make informed decisions and ask informed questions when encountering each field. The book provides insight on the latest technology and includes profiles of prolific designers, such as James Moody, Jeff Ravitz, Alan Adelman, and Paul Gregory. Stage Lighting: Design Applications and More is intended to help lighting designers translate their theatrical skills to other areas of lighting design, and provides guidance on how to take those initial steps into new ventures in their lighting careers.
Baroque Theatre and Stage Design by
Publication Date: 1983-02-01
Music and Performing Arts Librarian