Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using this Research Guide
This guide is intended to point you to books, periodicals, subscription databases, and websites that will help you to define and complete your research projects in Drama. The guide is organizes into the following set of pages (which you can see listed in tabs above).
- How to Find... features information on locating plays, people, and reviews.
- Reference Works points you to print and electronic dictionaries, encyclopedias, and reviews of literature.
- Articles & Essays provides links and call numbers for journals, databases, and other resources for searching articles on drama topics.
- Other Drama Resources includes links to websites concerning drama, professional organizations, and other resources available online.
If you have any favorite resources that are not a part of this guide, feel free to contact me.
New Resources of Interest
Bloomsbury Drama Online
The national Theatre Collection 2 and TCG Books Play collection with streaming video and play scripts have been added to the Libraries’ current access to Bloomsbury Drama Online.
The Critical Studies and Performance Practice Collection now features nearly 500 academic books from the prestigious Methuen Drama and The Arden Shakespeare imprints. Together they offer invaluable critical, contextual and pedagogic content from leading voices in theatre, performance and Shakespeare studies.
This 2022 update has added 40 scholarly books across both imprints. Perpetual access customers who have purchased this update will have immediate access, as will subscribers.
Highlights of this update include:
- Irish Drama and Theatre Since 1950 provides a wide-ranging account of major developments combined with case studies of the premiere or revival of major plays, the establishment of new companies and the influence of international work and artists in that period.
- Shakespeare and Queer Theory is an indispensable guide on the ongoing critical debates about queer method both within and beyond Shakespeare and early modern studies.
- For over 50 years Peter Brook held audiences spellbound with his critically acclaimed productions. His autobiography Peter Brook: Threads Of Time charts all the stages of a career that has been widely reported but never previously talked about from his personal perspective.
- In There Are No Secrets: Thoughts on Acting and Theatre, Peter Brook returns to the concept of his first book, The Empty Space, and examines what that means for the life of a production.
- In Screening the Royal Shakespeare Company, broadcasting historian and the producer of RSC Live from Stratford-upon-Avon, John Wyver, explores the remarkable history of collaborations between stage and screen and considers key questions about adaptation that concern all those involved in theatre, film and television.
- Thinking Through Theatre and Performance presents a bold and innovative approach to the study of theatre and performance written by leading international scholars.
Shakespeare's Globe-to-Globe Festival
In the summer of 2012, as part of the London Olympic Games' Cultural Olympiad and the World Shakespeare Festival, Shakespeare's Globe hosted the hugely successful Globe to Globe Festival. This unprecedented six-week event saw companies from across the world perform at Shakespeare's Globe in over 30 different languages.
Music & Performing Arts Librarian