Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
E-Books - SU databases
Here's more information on how to download e-books
ProQuest eBook Central
Create a sign-in to get access to all feature
Books in the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.
Books covering a wide range of subjects, from many publishers
E-Reference sources - SU databases
Areas of interest for Geographers include: Sociology, Economics, Public Health, Environment and Resources, Anthropology, and Earth & Planetary Science
Oxford Reference Online
Reference books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Books, reference works, handbooks, in the social sciences, from Sage and CQ Press.
International Encyclopedia of Geography by
Publication Date: 2017-03-09
Representing the definitive reference work for this broad and dynamic field, The International Encyclopedia of Geography arises from an unprecedented collaboration between Wiley and the American Association of Geographers (AAG) to review and define the concepts, research, and techniques in geography and interrelated fields. Available as a robust online resource and as a 15-volume full-color print set, the Encyclopedia assembles a truly global group of scholars for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world. Contains more than 1,000 entries ranging from 1,000 to 10,000 words offering accessible introductions to basic concepts, sophisticated explanations of complex topics, and information on geographical societies around the world Assembles a truly global group of more than 900 scholars hailing from over 40 countries, for a comprehensive, authoritative overview of geography around the world Provides definitive coverage of the field, encompassing human geography, physical geography, geographic information science and systems, earth studies, and environmental science Brings together interdisciplinary perspectives on geographical topics and techniques of interest across the social sciences, humanities, science, and medicine Features full color throughout the print version and more than 1,000 illustrations and photographs Annual updates to online edition
E-books - Open Access
Syracuse University Libraries has a number of E-book packages that contain titles of interest to Geographers.
National Academies Press
Look at the Agriculture, Behavioral & Social Sciences, Earth Sciences, and the Environment & Environmental Studies categories for titles of particular interest for Geographers
HathiTrust Digital Library
Log in to enable all features.
Digitized print volumes, some of which are public domain. Includes almost half the print holdings at SU Libraries, with full-text searching across the entire repository, full-text PDF downloads for items in public domain or not otherwise under copyright, and full-text access to brittle out-of-print items in SU Libraries.
Print and eBooks
Use the Syracuse University Libraries website to search for books using the Classic Catalog or SUMMON.
Use WorldCat as a source to find books held in libraries around the world.
WorldCat (FirstSearch) This link opens in a new window
Search all the major University Library catalogs simultaneously.
Ibyuk pingo, Tuktoyaktuk Peninsula, NT
Photo by Bernhard Edmaier, National Geographic Society