Research Guides: Native Heritage Month: Featured Films & Databases

Films

Kanopy
To access titles, click on LOG IN TO SYR or WATCH THIS buttons at bottom of screen, and not LOG IN at upper right of screen. If you cannot find a title on Kanopy, please use the SU Libraries’ Request a title form
Academic streaming video collection containing educational titles as well as U.S. and international feature films. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning. The platform video player is WCAG-compliant.

Flat rocks by Courtney Montour
Publication Date: 2017
Kanehsatake 270 years of resistance by Alanis Obomsawin
Call Number: DVD E99.M8 K362 1994
ISBN: 9780772212122
Publication Date: 1993
Molokai: the story of 'Father Damien' by Paul Cox
Call Number: Video DVD 19832
ISBN: 9781563647147
Publication Date: 1999

Databases

This selection of databases is recommended by collection development librarians. For more resources, browse our databases menu.

Indigenous Newspapers in North America
Collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada from 1828-2016. From the collections at the Newberry Library, Chicago, and the Sequoyah National Research Centre at the University of Arkansas. Key topics covered include community news, public health and welfare, education, tribal laws and elections, sovereignty, and more.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
Independent Voices
Open access alternative press and underground newspapers, magazines and journals from the 1960s to 1980s, including feminist, LGBT, minority, campus, community, GI, right-wing, and small literary presses.
North American Indian Thought and Culture
Primary and secondary index to sources, including biographies, oral histories, photos, drawings and more from the 18th and 19th centuries related to North American Indians, Alaska Natives and Canadian First Peoples.
Indigenous Histories and Cultures in North America
Art, correspondence, diaries, business documents, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, photographs, printed books, treaties, and tribe records documenting early contacts between European settlers and American Indians, 1500-1998. Content digitized from the Edward E. Ayer Collection at the Newberry Library. Subjects covered include political, social, and cultural effects of early encounters; the turbulence of the Civil War; on-going repercussions of government legislation; and the civil rights movement.