Selected Topics in Architecture: DEIA

Background information on how collections are built:

1. Approval plans
2. “Hands” on selection
3. Requests—faculty and students
4. Gifts

Curriculum is the driving force- resources that address what is being taught in courses

Diversity

• Geographic representation
• Gender – women, gays, non-binary
• Race and culture
• Social awareness/justice

The “trick” is to balance all parts of the collection—traditional work as well as new and experimental built work and projects with the established budget.

Equity

• Short loans allow more students to have access to the materials.
• Print and e-books are balanced to provide materials to students working off site.
• Student requests are honored
• InterLibrary Loan expands SUL holdings by providing access to books not in the collection or already in circulation.

Inclusion

• Student requests are honored.
• Materials collected cover diverse points of view.
• Unique materials include prints of working drawings and materials.

Accessibility

• The collection includes books on accessibility topics like aging in place, universal design and the healing environment.
• E-versions allow for 24/7 access.
• On site reference by a subject librarian is available 5 days per week to assist students with use of the collection.
• The King+King Architecture Library provides convenient and ready access to core and heavily used titles.
• The King+King Architecture Library is open 7 days per week. 
• Bird Library houses most of the remaining  architecture history, theory and design collection with a semester loan for undergraduates; graduate students have a year long  loan.
• Bird Library has extensive  hours, also offering technology loans and group and individual study space.