Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Index to dissertations and theses from around the world rom 1743 to the present day and with full text for many primarily from 1997.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses @ Syracuse University This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and theses from Syracuse University, from 1870 to the present.
SURFACE, the Syracuse University Research Facility And Collaborative Environment database of mostly open access scholarly, professional, scientific, and creative output produced at Syracuse University.
Theses and Dissertations Catalog
Portions of the site may require registration.
Electronic theses and dissertations from the Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations.
Writing Your Thesis by
Written in an authoritative and accessible style, this is a must-read for anyone planning, researching and writing a doctoral thesis or dissertation. I will certainly be recommending this book to my research students.′ - Professor Goeffrey Elliott, University of Worcester ′Paul′s book was a lifeline during my doctorate: it is now the first book that I recommend for my research students! His book is easily accessible, full of practical advice, and provides useful study strategies to carefully guide you - this third edition is a valuable asset wherever you are on your doctoral journey.′ - Dr Scott Buckler, University of Worcester Based on his extensive experience as a successful thesis supervisor, Paul Oliver shows you how to turn your notes and data into a finished Masters or PhD thesis or dissertation. Fully up-to-date with current HEFCE/other EU requirements, the book sets out a template for you to follow, including planning and preparation, theoretical perspectives, publishing preliminary findings, and preparing for the viva. This edition contains: Examples of common mistakes and how you can avoid them Discussions of artefacts such as creative work Research-focused content A section on the relationship with your supervisor Information on online and digital work, so you are up to date with the latest developments in thesis writing. The Student Success series are essential guides for students of all levels. From how to think critically and write great essays to planning your dream career, the Student Success series helps you study smarter and get the best from your time at university. Visit the SAGE Study Skills hub for tips and resources for study success!
Publication Date: 2013-09-19
Syracuse University Writing Center
Graduate students may also make use of the Graduate Editing Center, which provides free editing and proofreading services. Our editors work with a range of texts, from dissertations and master's theses to articles, conference presentations and grant proposals.
For print books or journal articles not included Syracuse University Libraries' collection, you may request the item via Interlibrary Loan (ILL) at no cost.
Journal Ranking Sources
Journal Citation Reports
Only available to SU students, faculty, and staff.
Tool for identifying journals in the social sciences and sciences and showing impact measures.
Information about journals in accounting, business, computer science, education health administration, management, psychology and psychiatry.
If the journal you are seeking is not included in either of these databases, you could also check the journal or publisher website.
We are a nonpartisan, nonprofit “consumer advocate” for voters that aims to reduce the level of deception and confusion in U.S. politics. We monitor the factual accuracy of what is said by major U.S. political players in the form of TV ads, debates, speeches, interviews and news releases. Our goal is to apply the best practices of both journalism and scholarship, and to increase public knowledge and understanding.
FactCheck.org is a project of the Annenberg Public Policy Center of the University of Pennsylvania. The APPC was established by publisher and philanthropist Walter Annenberg to create a community of scholars within the University of Pennsylvania that would address public policy issues at the local, state and federal levels.
Fake News Sites & Hoaxes
Guide from the Otis College of Art and Design Millard Sheets Library
Fake News: Why People Believe, How it Spreads, and What You Can Do About It
iSchool professors share their research on the impact of misinformation and what we can do about it.
Real News/Fake News
Guide from the University of California Berkeley Library
Information Management Databases
ACM Digital Library
Conference proceedings, articles, books, reports, videos, and other publications from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Searches can be expanded to include non-ACM resources.
Business Source Elite
Business and economics journals and magazine articles, many with full text, including content from the Harvard Business Review.
SAGE Business Cases
Case studies related to business integrated with SAGE’s journal, book, video, and reference content. To access the teaching notes (available only to instructors), please request the instructor code from Brenna Helmstutler at firstname.lastname@example.org.
SAGE Research Methods Cases
Teaching cases in which a variety of research methods are used in a number of social sciences subject areas. Cases are incorporated into SAGE Research Methods Online.
Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Skillsoft This link opens in a new window
Users are required to authenticate with NetID and password. Not compatible with Internet Explorer browser as of April 4, 2022.
Books and videos covering business, engineering, information technology, well-being and more.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database covering numerous fields in arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes access to Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Biosis Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Essential Science Indicators, Index Chemicus / KCI Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Social Sciences Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Zoological Record.
Additional specialized resources in many subject areas are available on the SU Libraries' databases page. Resources are also listed on subject guides.
Information Science Databases
Applied Science and Technology Full Text
Trade, professional and technical society journals and magazines, covering applied sciences, computing, engineering and more from 1983 to present.
Journals on library and information studies, including data processing, metadata architectures, information infrastructure, and publishing. Provided by NOVELNY.
Library, Information Science and Technology Abstracts
Index and abstracts to journal articles, books, research reports, and proceedings covering libraries, information science, technology, information management, and more.
Library Literature and Information Science Full Text
Journal articles covering library and information science topics, such as literacy, cataloging and classification, and library-related legislation and more.
Journals covering library and information science, and management, as well as other subject areas.
Index and abstracts to publications in business, management, and news, as well as reports and working papers; includes some full text.
Insider Intelligence eMarketer
Marketing, advertising, and consumer reports covering a range of industries, such as financial services, ecommerce, technology, and more. Includes content from both eMarketer and Business Insider Intelligence.
Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies : FAITS.
Information technology reports covering subjects such as infrastructure, security, telecommunications, enterprise systems, vendors, and healthcare and government IT.
Market research reports covering services, demographics, the food and beverage industry, medical and health care industry, technology and media and more.
Research reports covering consumer behavior and analysis of United States markets.
Data from both public and private sources related to a wide range of subjects, including consumers, digital markets, and companies; also includes forecasts, analysis, reports, and more.
Librarian for the iSchool: Brenna
Additional SU Libraries Contacts