Research Guides: Information Systems: Finding Articles

Featured Databases

ACM Digital Library Conference proceedings, articles, books, reports, videos, and other publications from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Searches can be expanded to include non-ACM resources.
Business Source Elite Business and economics journals and magazine articles, many with full text, including content from the Harvard Business Review.
Engineering Village Allows users to search Inspec, Compendex, GEOBASE, and GeoRef, simultaneously or alone. Covers the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology and includes journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations from 1898 to present.
Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies : FAITS. Information technology reports covering subjects such as infrastructure, security, telecommunications, enterprise systems, vendors, and healthcare and government IT.
IEEE Xplore Journal articles, conference proceedings, books, from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the UK’s Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET); includes all Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) published and approved standards
SAGE Business Cases Case studies related to business integrated with SAGE’s journal, book, video, and reference content. To access the teaching notes (available only to instructors), please request the instructor code from Brenna Helmstutler at bhelmstu@syr.edu.
Scopus Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Security Management Practices Best practices related to organizational security management.
Skillsoft Users are required to authenticate with NetID and password. Not compatible with Internet Explorer browser as of April 4, 2022. Books and videos covering business, engineering, information technology, well-being and more.
Statista Data from both public and private sources related to a wide range of subjects, including consumers, digital markets, and companies; also includes forecasts, analysis, reports, and more.
Web of Science Abstract and citation database covering numerous fields in arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes access to Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Biosis Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Essential Science Indicators, Index Chemicus / KCI Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Social Sciences Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Zoological Record.

Full list of databases to explore

Google Scholar

Google Scholar will link to our full text online articles even off-campus if you set up your Syracuse University affiliation in Google Scholar Settings. Follow the steps below.

NOTE: Setting up Google Scholar to link to our library holdings must be done when you are off-campus.

Go to Google Scholar (scholar.google.com)
Click on in the upper left corner, then select Settings or
Click on Library Links in the left column.
Type Syracuse University in the Library Links search box.
Select Syracuse University, Syracuse University Libraries – Gale Full Text, and Open WorldCat.
Click Save.
Full text links will be found in the right column of a search results page. When no full-text link is given try clicking on the title and sometimes the full-text will be available.

iSchool Librarian: Brenna

Brenna Helmstutler

she/her/hers

Email Me

Contact:

Hi! As the liaison librarian for the School of Information Studies (iSchool), I assist students, faculty, and staff with library research queries. My general work hours are Monday-Friday, 8:00-3:30 Eastern.

For additional help outside of my work hours or for immediate assistance, go to https://library.syracuse.edu/get-help for multiple contact options including 24/7 live chat, text, and email.

Subjects: Information Technology, Library Science

Additional SU Libraries Contacts

Ask Us! Live Chat

Call Us: 315-443-4083

Text Us: 315-464-0744

Email us: libref@syr.edu