Research Guides: Research Methods in Advertising and Public Relations: Public Relations

Public Relations - Research Methods

The pages within this guide contain a cross section of book titles, articles, dissertations, databases and additional SU Libraries guides to consider when exploring research methodologies in public relations

SUMMON search tip: Use Summon's advanced search screen, to uncover additional sources like those highlighted below. Enter the phrase "public relations" as a "subject terms" search word - and combine that search query with an AND and an additional "subject term" search word or phrase, such as:

Methodology
Methods
Research
"Research Design"
"Research Methods"
"Statistical Methods"
Qualitative
Quantitative

Advancing Crisis Communication Effectiveness by Yan Jin (Editor); Bryan H. Reber (Editor); Glen J. Nowak (Editor)
Call Number: HD49 .A48 2021
ISBN: 9781000328400
Publication Date: 2020-12-28
Advancing Crisis Communication Effectiveness shows how crisis communication plans and efforts for complex and challenging issues benefit when academic perspectives are connected with practitioner experiences. This book brings crisis and public relations scholars together with practicing professionals to integrate academic theories and research with the knowledge and lessons learned on the frontlines of crisis communication and management. This book illustrates how having insights and observations from both leading crisis communication scholars and professionals strengthens crisis management and communication strategies, plans, and coordination. Chapters co-authored by leading scholars and professionals highlight how academic theories and research can inform crisis management and response - and how practitioners can utilize, inform, and strengthen academic theories and research. For each topic area covered, examples and applications are provided that show how integrating public relations scholarship with practice can advance crisis communication effectiveness. This book represents a unique and timely contribution to the field of crisis management and communication. It will be an important resource for public relations and crisis management and communication scholars, educators, professionals, consultants, and graduate students.
Advertising and Public Relations Research by Donald W. Jugenheimer; Larry D. Kelley; Jerry Hudson; Samuel Bradley
Call Number: HF5814 .A384 2015eb
ISBN: 0765636069
Publication Date: 2014-02-28
Designed to serve as a comprehensive, primary text for research methods courses in advertising and/or public relations programs, this book concentrates on the uses and applications of research in advertising and public relations situations. The authors' goal is to provide the information needed by future practitioners to commission and apply research to their work problems in advertising and public relations.
Communication Research Measures III by Elizabeth E. Graham (Editor); Joseph P. Mazer (Editor)
Call Number: P91.3 .C624 2020
ISBN: 1351397125
Publication Date: 2019-09-20
Building on the measures included in the original 1994 volume and subsequent 2009 volume, Communication Research Measures III: A Sourcebook extends its coverage of measurement issues and trends across the entire communication discipline. Volume III features entirely new content and offers an assessment of new measures in mass, interpersonal, instructional, group, organizational, family, health, and intercultural communication and highlights work in emergent subdisciplines in communication, including social media and new communication technologies, sports communication, and public relations. The "best of the best" from 2009 through today, the profiled research measures in Volume III serve as models for future scale development and constitute the main tools that researchers can use for self-administered measurement of people's attitudes, conceptions of themselves, and perceptions of others. This book is ideal for undergraduate and graduate courses that emphasize quantitative research methods, measurement, and/or survey design across communication studies disciplines.
Communication Research Statistics by John C. Reinard
Call Number: P93.7 .R45 2006
ISBN: 0761929878
Publication Date: 2006-04-20
Written in an accessible style using simple and direct language, Communication Research Statistics guides students through the statistics actually used in most empirical research in communication and the social sciences. This book is the only work in communication that includes details on statistical analysis of data with a full set of data analysis instructions based on SPSS 12 and Excel.
Creative Research Communication by Clare Wilkinson; Emma Weitkamp
Call Number: H62 .W555 2016eb
ISBN: 9780719096518
Publication Date: 2016-07-01
Aimed at scholars interested in engaging the public with their research and postgraduate students exploring the practical aspects of research communication, this book provides a theoretically grounded introduction to new and emerging approaches to public engagement and research communication. Split into three sections, the reader first explores the historical approaches and current drivers for public engagement with research. Part two explores practical approaches to research engagement, from face-to-face communication in novel settings, such as festivals, through to artistic approaches, before considering new and emerging digital tools and approaches. Each practical chapter is theoretically grounded, exploring issues such as audience, interactivity, and impact. The final section explores ethical considerations in relation to public engagement as well as discussing the way that research communication fits into wider discussions about the impact of research, before concluding with a discussion around disseminating the success (or otherwise) of novel approaches to public engagement to wider groups, including public engagement practitioners.
Crisis Communications by Kathleen Fearn-Banks
Call Number: HD59 .F37 2007
ISBN: 0805857729
Publication Date: 2007-02-08
Crisis Communications presents case studies of organizational and individual problems that may become crises, and the communication responses to these situations. Helping professionals prepare for crises and develop communications plans, the third edition of this essential reference explores critical issues concerning how organizations, companies, and individuals communicate with the news media, employees, and consumers in times of crisis. Author Kathleen Fearn-Banks addresses how to choose the best possible words to convey a message, the best method for delivering the message, and the precise and most appropriate audience, in addition to illustrating how to avoid potential mismanagement. nbsp; Cases added to this edition include Hurricane Katrina and New Orleans, AIDS in Africa, and the Columbine High School shooting tragedy. Additional features of the text are: a discussion of rapidly changing communications technology as it relates to battling crises and causing crises; a section on communicating with the masses, particularly via Web sites and blogs; a chapter addressing theories relevant to crisis communications updated versions of cases analyzed in previous editions. An accessible, practical, and extremely popular casebook, this text is a 'must read' for students in crisis communication and management, public relations and business/management. It is also an invaluable resource for professionals and business managers in handling crises.
Data-Driven Public Relations Research by Jim Eggensperger; Natalie Redcross
Call Number: HD59 .E34 2019eb
ISBN: 135176778X
Publication Date: 2018-09-03
The public relations industry is undergoing a revolution in using data to define promotional programs, to measure influence and to address the needs of clients with more precision than ever. Applying tools that range from online surveys to social-media listening to applying big data with sophisticated algorithms, today's PR professionals are data-driven in virtually everything they do. Data-Driven Public Relations Research is the first book for PR students and practitioners to offer an overview of these new practices as well as a glimpse into the future of these new applications, including "big data" and some of the applications from real-world PR campaigns and strategic planning. It includes contemporary cases involving brand name companies who are blazing new trails in the use of metrics in public relations. This book presents a practical, accessible approach that requires no prior training or experience, with easy to follow, step-by-step measurement examples from existing campaigns. Using Excel, the book enables readers to export lessons from the classroom to the office, where use of statistical packages is rare and can give PR practitioners the advantage over competitors. This pragmatic approach helps readers apply metrics to PR problems such as: Finding the best target audiences Understanding audience communication needs and preferences How best to present research outcomes How to manage major projects with specialized research firms. Accompanying electronic resources for the book include sample answers to the book's discussion questions, PowerPoint lecture slides for instructors and sample research exercises using Excel.
Handbook of Public Relations by Robert L. Heath (Editor)
Call Number: HD59 .H267 2001
ISBN: 076191286X
Publication Date: 2000-08-30
NEW IN PAPERBACK! `This handbook provides a comprehensive examination and review of the theory, academic research, and professional practices of the public relations discipline. Ninety leading scholars and practitioners from around the world provide insights into the historical and changing role of public relations in building relationships with "organizations, markets, audiences and publics".... The extensive bibliography includes more than 2000 references, some multidisciplinary, which serve to enhance understanding of public relations. The detailed index is user-friendly. A must for academic collections serving scholars, practitioners and students, upper-level undergraduate and graduate. The Handbook of Public Relations is a comprehensive and detailed examination of the field, it synthesizes current literature and is divided into five sections: Part One defines the field, explaining the role of public relations in society; Part Two examines the state of the practice by looking at cutting-edge issues in management, ethics, gender, evaluation, public relations, education and media; Part Three challenges academics and practitioners to identify best practices; Part Four looks at the challenges raised by new communication technologies; Part Five takes a global view, examining theories in international public relations and the trends in practice that will shape the field in the coming years.
An Integrated Approach to Communication Theory and Research by Don W. Stacks (Editor); Michael B. Salwen (Editor); Kristen C. Eichhorn (Editor)
Call Number: P91 .I57 2019
ISBN: 9781351358699
Publication Date: 2019-03-14
This new edition provides a comprehensive overview of current theory and research written by the top theorists and researchers in each area. It has been updated to address the growing influence of technology, changing relationships, and several growing integrated approaches to communication and includes seven new chapters on: Digital Media, Media Effects, Privacy, Dark Side, Applied Communication, Relational Communication, Instructional Communication, Communication and the Law. The book continues to be essential reading for students and faculty who want a thorough overview of contemporary communication theory and research.
Mass Communication Research Methods by Anders Hansen (Editor)
Call Number: P91.3 .M366 2009
ISBN: 9781412930048
Publication Date: 2009-02-03
Part One: Introduction Part Two: Asking the Right Questions Part Three: Researching Media Institutions, Organizations, Professionals and Production Part Four: Researching Media Content and Representation Part Five: Researching Media and Communication in Society: Consumption, Audiences, Politics, Problems and Pleasures Part Six: Doing Communication Research
Positioning Theory and Strategic Communication by Melanie James
Call Number: HD59 .J35 2014
ISBN: 9781134615254
Publication Date: 2014-06-13
In public relations, people talk about positioning an idea, a persona, a political ideal, an ideology - but what are they talking about? Why do some positions taken by organizations crystallize in the minds of audiences, while others fail?　 Whilst positioning is not something new in public relations, this book is the first to explicate what it involves, how it works and how to do it. This is the first in-depth exploration of the possibilities of Positioning Theory for the public relations field　and it adds a new perspective to the growing body of multidisciplinary work in this rich theoretical area, moving the discussion away from the traditional communication plans of previous decades, which fail to accommodate the changing media and opinion landscapes. The author pulls together various strands of socio-cultural theory into an analytical framework, providing readers with a tool to analyse the organizational implications of public relations decisions, guiding strategic decision making through realistic scenario planning. This thought-provoking book provides an alternative path to studying communication in increasingly complex environments and as such, will be vital reading for researchers and educators, advanced communication and public relations students, and for senior public relations practitioners.
A Practioner's Guide to Public Relations Research, Measurement and Evaluation by Don W. Stacks
Call Number: HM1221 .S726 2010
ISBN: 1606491024
Publication Date: 2010-07-06
This book will provide the business reader with the necessary understanding of the problems and promises of public relations research, measurement, and evaluation and the public relations practitioner as guide to effective use of methods, measures, and evaluation in providing grounded evidence of the success (or failure) of public relations campaigns.
Primer of Public Relations Research by Don W. Stacks
Call Number: HM263 .S69 2002
ISBN: 9781572307261
Publication Date: 2002-02-06
This authoritative guide provides comprehensive coverage of the various research methods available to public relations practitioners. Written in a practical and direct style, the book takes readers step by step through the various elements of designing, conducting, and reporting PR-related research in both corporate and nonprofit settings. Informal and formal research methodologies are discussed in depth, including clear guidelines for using secondary sources, case studies, observational approaches, content analysis, sampling, survey research, and more. Demystifying statistical concepts and methods, the book provides detailed instructions for using SPSS, the widely available statistical software package. Numerous concrete examples, sample research tools and reports, and computer screen shots enhance the utility of the book, as do helpful review questions and practice problems at the end of each chapter.
Primer of Public Relations Research, Second Edition by Don W. Stacks
Call Number: HM1221 .S78 2011
ISBN: 9781593855956
Publication Date: 2010-07-13
This practical, comprehensive work is widely regarded as the standard course text and practitioner reference on public relations research. Don W. Stacks explains the key role of research in all aspects of contemporary PR practice, from planning a program or campaign to making strategic changes and measuring outcomes. Step-by-step guidelines and tools are provided for using a wide range of qualitative and quantitative methods to accomplish essential research objectives. The book clearly explains technical aspects of data collection and analysis for readers new to measurement and statistics. Every chapter features review questions and a detailed practice problem. A test bank, suggested readings, case studies, and PowerPoint slides are available to instructors using the book in their courses; see the preface for details.
A Professional and Practitioner's Guide to Public Relations Research, Measurement, and Evaluation, Third Edition by David Michaelson; Don W. Stacks
Call Number: HM1221 .M536 2017
ISBN: 9781631577611
Publication Date: 2016-12-15
Contemporary public relations practice has developed over the last several decades from the weak third sister in marketing, advertising, and public relations mix to a full player. To help you keep up to speed with the exciting changes and developments of publications, this book has been updated to provide you with the necessary understanding of the problems and promises of public relations research, measurement, and evaluation. As a public relations professional, this book will guide you through the effective use of methods, measures, and evaluation in providing grounded evidence of the success (or failure) of public relations campaigns. This third edition takes a best practices approach-one that focuses on choosing the appropriate method and rigorously applying that method to collect the data that best answers the objectives of the research. It also presents an approach to public relations that emphasizes the profession's impact on the client's return on investment in the public relations function, the measurement of social media and the use of standardized measures.
Public Information Campaigns and Opinion Research by Hans-Dieter Klingemann (Editor); Andrea Roemmele (Editor)
Call Number: JF2112.A4 P83 2002
ISBN: 0761964312
Publication Date: 2002-02-05
This handbook draws on multidisciplinary insights and the experiences of academics and campaign practitioners to provide a comprehensive guide and introduction to planning, implementing and measuring public information and communication campaigns. It outlines the basic theoretical approaches and provides practical examples from a variety of both national and international information and communication campaigns within and across Europe. Public opinion information and campaign strategies in a recent American state election campaign are used to contrast the different perspectives and experiences in the United States. The handbook concludes by demonstrating how to measure effects, causality and public opinion change to determine what the campaign accomplished. A helpful summary and checklist for the student and practitioner using survey research is provided at the end.
Public Relations, Society and Culture by Lee Edwards (Editor); Caroline E. M. Hodges (Editor)
Call Number: HD59 .P8235 2011
ISBN: 9780203832134
Publication Date: 2011-02-25
Historically, public relations research has been dominated by organisational interests, treating the profession as a function to help organisations achieve their goals, and focusing on practice and processes first and foremost. Such research is valuable in addressing how public relations can be used more effectively by organisations and institutions, but has tended to neglect the consequences of the practice on the social world in which those organisations operate. This edited collection adds momentum to the emergent interest in the relationship between public relations, society and culture by bringing together a wide range of alternative theoretical and methodological approaches, including anthropology, storytelling, pragmatism and Latin American studies. The chapters draw on insights from a variety of disciplines including sociology, cultural studies, post-colonialism, political economy, ecological studies, feminism and critical race theory. Empirical contributions illustrate theoretical arguments with narratives and interview extracts from practitioners, resulting in an engaging text that will provide inspiration for scholars and students to explore public relations in new ways. Public Relations, Society and Culture makes an essential contribution to a range of scholarly fields and illustrates the relevance of public relations to matters beyond its organisational function. It will be highly useful to students and scholars of public relations as well as cultural studies, ethnicity/'race' communication, media studies, development communication, anthropology, and organisational communication. This insightful book will make a significant contribution to debates about the purpose and practice of public relations in the new century.
Public Relations and Social Theory by Øyvind Ihlen (Editor); Magnus Fredriksson (Editor)
Call Number: HM1221 .P775 2018eb
ISBN: 9781315271231
Publication Date: 2018-04-17
Public Relations and Social Theory: Key Figures, Concepts and Developments broadens the theoretical scope of public relations studies by applying the work of a group of prominent social theorists to make sense of the practice. The volume focuses on the work of key social theorists, including Max Weber, Karl Marx, John Dewey, Jürgen Habermas, Niklas Luhmann, Michel Foucault, Ulrich Beck, Pierre Bourdieu, Anthony Giddens, Robert Putnam, Erving Goffman, Peter L. Berger, Gayatri Chakravorty Spivak, Bruno Latour, Dorothy Smith, Zygmunt Bauman, Harrison White, John W. Meyer, Luc Boltanski and Chantal Mouffe. Each chapter is devoted to an individual theorist, providing an overview of that theorist's key concepts and contributions, and exploring how these can be applied to public relations as a practice. Each chapter also includes a box giving a short and concise presentation of the theorist, along with recommendation of key works and secondary literature.
Public Relations and the Public Interest by Jane Johnston
Call Number: HD59 .J64 2016
ISBN: 9781317568858
Publication Date: 2016-02-12
In this book, Johnston seeks to put the public interest onto the public relations 'radar', arguing the need for its clear articulation into mainstream public relations discourse. This book examines literature from a range of fields and disciplines to develop a clearer understanding of the concept, and then considers this within the theory and practice of public relations. The book's themes include the role of language and discourse in establishing successful public interest PR and in perpetuating power imbalances; intersections between CSR, governance, law and the public interest; and how activism and social media have invigorated community control of the public interest. Chapters explore the role of the public interest, including cross-cultural and multicultural challenges, community and internal consultation, communication choices and listening to minorities and subaltern publics.
Public Relations Metrics by Betteke van Ruler (Editor); Ana Tkalac Vercic (Editor); Dejan Vercic (Editor)
Call Number: HM1221 .P785 2008
ISBN: 9780805862720
Publication Date: 2008-05-28
Responding to the increasing need in academia and the public relations profession, this volume presents the current state of knowledge in public relations measurement and evaluation.nbsp; The book brings together ideas and methods that can be used throughout the world, and scholars and practitioners from the United States, Europe, Asia, and Africa are represented.
Qualitative Research Methods in Public Relations and Marketing Communications by Christine Daymon; Immy Holloway
Call Number: HD59 .D39 2011
ISBN: 0203846540
Publication Date: 2010-09-13
The second edition of this highly accessible, core textbook continues to offer students a practical guide to the process of planning, undertaking and writing about qualitative research in public relations and marketing communications. Through clear explanations and illustrations, the book encourages undergraduate and master level students to engage with the main approaches and techniques for conducting critical, reflective investigations. This new edition: Identifies the skills and strategies needed to conduct authentic, trustworthy research Highlights specific analytical techniques associated within the main research approaches Provides new sections on internet-based research, critical discourse analysis, historical research, action research and mixed methods research Qualitative Research Methods in Public Relations and Marketing Communications will be invaluable for those undertaking research methods courses on public relations and marketing communication degrees, as well as those working on a dissertation.
Quantitative Research Methods in Consumer Psychology by Paul Hackett (Editor)
Call Number: HF5415.32
ISBN: 9781317280422
Publication Date: 2018-12-07
Quantitative consumer research has long been the backbone of consumer psychology producing insights with peerless validity and reliability. This new book addresses a broad range of approaches to consumer psychology research along with developments in quantitative consumer research. Experts in their respective fields offer a perspective into this rapidly changing discipline of quantitative consumer research. The book focuses on new techniques as well as adaptations of traditional approaches and addresses ethics that relate to contemporary research approaches. The text is appropriate for use with university students at all academic levels. Each chapter provides both a theoretical grounding in its topic area and offers applied examples of the use of the approach in consumer settings. Exercises are provided at the end of each chapter to test student learning. Topics covered are quantitative research techniques, measurement theory and psychological scaling, mapping sentences for planning and managing research, using qualitative research to elucidate quantitative research findings, big data and its visualization, extracting insights from online data, modeling the consumer, social media and digital market analysis, connectionist modeling of consumer choice, market sensing and marketing research, preparing data for analysis;, and ethics. The book may be used on its own as a textbook and may also be used as a supplementary text in quantitative research courses.
Research Methods and Techniques in Public Relations and Advertising by Bayram Aydin (Editor); Emine Sahin (Editor)
Call Number: HD59 .R46 2017
ISBN: 3631718764
Publication Date: 2017-05-24
The authors in this volume present a new point of view related to research methods and techniques in public relations and advertising. The book seeks to provide a research guide that covers topics including selecting and writing a research subject, data collection, and analysis selection for beginner researchers. The articles focus on various methods such as netnographical analysis, experimental study, case analysis, discourse analysis, Delphi method, survey, etc.
The Routledge Handbook of Strategic Communication by Derina Holtzhausen (Editor); Ansgar Zerfass (Editor)
Call Number: HD30.3 .R684 2015
ISBN: 9780203094440
Publication Date: 2014-11-20
The Routledge Handbook of Strategic Communication provides a comprehensive review of research in the strategic communication domain and offers educators and graduate-level students a compilation of approaches to and studies of varying aspects of the field. The volume provides insights into ongoing discussions that build an emerging body of knowledge. Focusing on the metatheoretical, philosophical, and applied aspects of strategic communication, the parts of the volume cover: * Conceptual foundations, * Institutional and organizational dimensions, * Implementing strategic communication, and * Domains of practice An international set of authors contributes to this volume, illustrating the broad arena in which this work is taking place. A timely volume surveying the current state of scholarship, this Handbook is essential reading for scholars in strategic communication at all levels of experience.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods by Mike Allen (Editor)
Call Number: P91 .S24 2017
ISBN: 9781483381435
Publication Date: 2017-05-08
Communication research is evolving and changing in a world of online journals, open-access, and new ways of obtaining data and conducting experiments via the Internet. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods contains entries that cover every step of the research process, accompanied by engaging examples from the literature of communication studies. Key features include: 652 signed entries spanning four volumes, available in choice of electronic or print formats A Reader's Guide groups entries thematically to help students interested in a specific aspect of communication research to more easily locate directly related entries Back matter includes a Chronology of the development of the field of communication research; a Resource Guide to classic books, journals, and associations; a Glossary introducing the terminology of the field; and a detailed Index Entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross-References to related entries to guide students further in their research journeys The Index, Reader's Guide themes, and Cross-References combine to provide robust search-and-browse in the electronic version
The SAGE handbook of qualitative business and management research methods : history and traditions by edited by Catherine Cassell, Ann L. Cunliffe and Gina Grandy
Call Number: HD30.4 .S24 2018
ISBN: 9781526430182
Publication Date: 2018
This title provides an overview of qualitative research methods in the business and management field. Contents of this volume are arranged into four key themes: Influential Traditions; Research Designs; The Researcher; and Challenges.
Social Media and Crisis Communication by Yan Jin (Editor); Lucinda L. Austin (Editor)
Call Number: HD49.3 .S63 2018eb
ISBN: 9781317607977
Publication Date: 2017-06-27
Social Media and Crisis Communication provides a unique and timely contribution to the field of crisis communication by addressing how social media are influencing the practice of crisis communication. The book, with a collection of chapters contributed by leading communication researchers, covers the current and emerging interplay of social media and crisis communication, recent theories and frameworks, overviews of dominant research streams, applications in specific crisis areas, and future directions. Both the theoretical and the practical are discussed, providing a volume that appeals to both academic-minded readers as well as professionals at the managerial, decision-making level. The audience includes public relations and corporate communication scholars, graduate students studying social media and crisis communication, researchers, crisis managers working in communication departments, and business leaders who make strategic business communication planning. No other volume has provided the overarching synthesis of information regarding the field of crisis communication and social media that this book contains. Incorporated in this volume is the recent Social-mediated Crisis Communication Model developed by the editors and their co-authors, which serves as a framework for crisis and issues management in a rapidly evolving media landscape.
Using Research in Public Relations by Glen M. Broom; David Dozier
Call Number: HD59 .B758 1990
ISBN: 0139391665
Publication Date: 1990
A reader-friendly guide to research methods used in public relations.
Visual Public Relations by Simon Collister (Editor); Sarah Roberts-Bowman (Editor)
Call Number: HM1221 .C65 2018
ISBN: 9781351662055
Publication Date: 2018-03-28
This book brings together a broad and diverse range of new and radical approaches to public relations focussing on the increasingly vital role that visual, sensory and physical elements factors play in shaping communication. Engaging with recent developments in critical and cultural theories, it outlines how non-textual and non-representational forces play a central role in the efficacy and reception of public relations. Challenging the dominant accounts of public relations which center on the purely representational uses of text and imagery, the book critiques the suitability of accepted definitions of the field and highlights future directions for conceptualizing strategic communication within a multi-sensory environment. Drawing on the work of global researchers in public relations, visual culture and communication, design and cultural theory, it brings a welcome inter-disciplinary approach which pushes the boundaries of public relations scholarship in a global cultural context. This exciting analysis will be of great interest to public relations scholars, advanced students of strategic communication, as well as communication researchers from cultural, media and critical studies exploring PR as a socio-cultural phenomenon.

A brief sampling of scholarly articles and doctoral dissertations covering research methodologies in public relations. Use the Scopus database to retrieve references for subsequently published articles or book chapters that cite these references. If a reference below resides in Scopus, click on "SULinks" or "view at publisher" to arrive at full text for that source. If neither brings up the full source, manually verify whether SU has access to the journal title containing the article using the journals A to Z list, or if a book chapter, an advanced 'title' search for the title of the book using Summon.

Abdullah, Z. (2012). Improving educational and professional standards of public relations professionalism: Towards a mixed methods research approach. International Journal of Multiple Research Approaches, 6(2), 109-124.
Fussell Sisco, H. K. (2008). Crisis communication and nonprofit public relations: A mixed-methods investigation (Order No. 3332243). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. (304458377).
Golitsynskiy, S. (2013). Computational methods applied to mass communication research: The case of press release content in news media (Order No. 3600003). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. (1465060062).
Johnson, T. L. (2014). A Mixed Methods Approach of Communication Campaign Development and Assessment: Identifying the Needs of an Audience and Determining the Value in Evaluation (Order No. 1562641). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. (1566477823).
Meadows, C. & Meadows III, C.W. (2014). The history of academic research in public relations: Tracking research trends over nearly four decades. Public Relations Review, 40 (5), pp. 871-873.
Page, T.G., Capizzo, L.W. (2021). From “an open field” to established “waves”: Public relations scholarship through the lens of Public Relations Review. Public Relations Review, 47 (5), art. No. 102115.
Pasadeos, Y., Lamme, M. O., Gower, K., & Tian, S. (2011). A methodological evaluation of public relations research. Public Relations Review, 37(2), 163-165.
Reber, B.H., Cameron, G.T. (2003). Measuring contingencies: Using scales to measure public relations practitioner limits to accommodation. Journalism and Mass Communication Quarterly, 80 (2), pp. 431-446.
Rotarius, T., Wan, T. T. H., & Liberman, A. (2007). A typology of health marketing research methods-combining public relations methods with organizational concern. Health Marketing Quarterly, 24(3-4), 201-211
Satterfield, J. R. (2013). Public Relations Methods and Corporate Image Outcomes (Order No. 3549025). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. (1283088268).
Thompson, J.R., Burke, J.G. (2020). Increasing community participation in public health research: Applications for concept mapping methodology.) Progress in Community Health Partnerships: Research, Education, and Action, 14 (2), pp. 243-250.
Toledano, M. (2017). Emergent methods: Using netnography in public relations research. Public Relations Review, 43(3), 597-604.

Here are links to additional SU Libraries research guides potentially useful to researchers in public relations

A sampling of licensed Syracuse University Libraries databases often helpful for researchers in public relations

SAGE Research Methods Online
Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO) provides access to information about research methods compiled from a variety of Sage publications, including books/handbooks, articles, and the “Little Green Book” series, Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences. SRMO is searchable and browsable by author, and it includes a methods map, as well as video tutorials. Results can be refined to focus on disciplines such as 'political science,' 'geography,' 'economics' or 'history.'

SAGE Research Methods Cases
Teaching cases in which a variety of research methods are used in a number of social sciences subject areas. Cases are incorporated into SAGE Research Methods Online.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Index and abstracts to publications in business, management, and news, as well as reports and working papers; includes some full text.
Business Source Elite
Business and economics journals and magazine articles, many with full text, including content from the Harvard Business Review.
Emerald Insight
Journals covering library and information science, and management, as well as other subject areas.
SAGE Journals Online
Journals published by Sage in numerous disciplines, including health, management, sociology, psychology and communications. Includes the archive of the Institute of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE).
Taylor & Francis Online Journals
Journals covering humanities, behavioral sciences, business, economics, education, engineering, the environment, language, literature, physical sciences, politics/international relations, social sciences, and more.
Communication Source
Abstracts of publications covering advertising, discourse, linguistics, media studies, speech-language pathology, and other communication fields.

Statista
Data from both public and private sources related to a wide range of subjects, including consumers, digital markets, and companies; also includes forecasts, analysis, reports, and more.

SimplyAnalytics
Four simultaneous users. Users must also create their own personal profile.

Application for mapping, analytics, and data visualization of variables such as demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, technology, and public health. Includes data from Nielsen Claritas, Dun and Bradstreet, Simmons, GFK MRI, Easy Analytic Software (EASI), and Applied Geographic Solutions.

Mergent Intellect
Provides access to information about U.S. and international public and private companies, company news, and key business ratios. Searchable by company, person, or industry, this resource includes and greatly expands content in D & B Million Dollar Database and offers FirstResearch industry profiles, Indeed job search, Nielsen demographics, and a residential directory.

SRDS Media Solutions
Directories for television and radio broadcasting, digital media, print newspapers and magazines, place-based and outdoor media. Also includes local market audience, programmatic media planning, and digital network information.
Foundation Directory Online
Information about foundations, funding sources, grants, and corporate funders.
Data Axle Reference Solutions
Includes profiles on United States and Canadian companies (including smaller private companies), a U.S. New Businesses search (with new businesses added weekly), a U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles database (where consumers can be identified with criteria such as income level and area of interest/hobbies), and directories of U.S. and Canadian residents.

Business Insights: Essentials
Database for researching all business and management topics. Includes directory listings for over 300,000 companies as well as company profiles, industry ratings, product brands, company performance ratings, investment reports and ratings, industry statistics, financial overviews, financial ratios, etc. Formerly known as "Business & Company Resource Center."

ProQuest News and Newspapers
Search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases including Alt-PressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Text visualization options for selected newspapers are available on the TDM Studio platform; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
Access World News
Current and past worldwide news sources, including international, local and regional newspapers, media transcripts, wire service content, college newspaper articles, magazines, blogs, video and audio.
Nexis Uni
News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.

PRweek (U.S. ed.)

03/10/2003 to 03/31/2018 in ABI/INFORM Collection

03/01/2003 to 03/31/2003 in ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry

03/10/2003 to 03/31/2018 in ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry

11/16/1998 to 06/16/2014 in Factiva

Note: To search by publication title, choose Search builder, then Source; for "select source category" and use dropdown for Publications: A-Z; enter publication title in box next to Find a Source, then key "enter." Click on title in Source Results to search on that title. Enter terms in free text box, then select run search.

2010 to Present in Print Holdings some issues missing

03/01/2003 to 03/31/2003 in ProQuest Central

03/10/2003 to 03/31/2018 in ProQuest Central

05/09/2013 to 08/16/2021 in Newsbank Access World News Research Collection 2021 Edition

Public relations tactics

07/01/1994 to 12/31/2017 in Business Source Elite

03/01/1998 to 01/31/2008 in Research Library, ProQuest Central

Journal of public relations research

01/01/1992 to 15 months ago in Business Source Elite, Communication Source

1993 to 2008 in Print Holdings

01/01/1992 to 08/31/2007 in Nexis Uni

01/01/1997 to Present in Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library