Research Guides: Research Methods in Advertising and Public Relations: Advertising

Advertising - Research Methods

The pages within this guide contain a cross section of book titles, articles, dissertations, databases and additional SU Libraries guides to consider when exploring research methodologies in advertising

SUMMON search tip: Use Summon's advanced search screen, to uncover additional sources like those highlighted below. Enter "advertising" as a "subject terms" search word - and combine that search query with an AND and an additional "subject term" search word or phrase, such as:

Methodology
Methods
Research
"Research Design"
"Research Methods"
"Statistical Methods"
Qualitative
Quantitative

Advertising and Promotion by Chris Hackley
Call Number: HF5823 .H185 2005
ISBN: 9780761941538
Publication Date: 2005-02-16
See Chapter 9: Advertising Research. This detailed and insightful text explains how advertising comes to cast its shadow over contemporary consumer culture. Case examples are used to illustrate the power of advertising to portray brand 'personalities' in terms that resonate with consumers across many cultures.
Advertising and Public Relations Research by Donald W. Jugenheimer; Samuel D. Bradley; Larry D. Kelley; Fogarty KleinMonroe; Jerry Hudson
Call Number: HF5814 .A32 2010
ISBN: 9780765624185
Publication Date: 2010-03-15
This comprehensive volume concentrates on the uses and applications of research in advertising and public relations situations. Although the authors cover the design and conduct of research in ample detail, their goal is to provide the information needed by practitioners to commission and apply research to their work problems in advertising and PR.
Advertising Basics! by J. V. Vilanilam; A. K. Varghese
Call Number: HF5823 .V49 2004
ISBN: 9780761998105
Publication Date: 2004-03-15
Advertising Basics! is a one-stop resource for anyone who wishes to understand and unravel the exciting world of advertising. Beginning from the basics, the book uses a simple commonsense approach to explain everything one wants to know about advertising and how the industry works on a daily basis.The book begins with a brief history which gives the reader an understanding of how advertising has evolved from the way it was practiced earlier in the teeming bazaars to its sophisticated and technologically advanced avatar today. The authors then discuss each aspect of the advertising industry in detail, giving pointers, suggestions and in-depth analysis of how things work in each department. Some of the highlights of this text are:- A holistic introduction which gives the reader a pan-industry perspective of advertising.- The nitty-gritties of copywriting for the main media-newspapers, magazines, radio, film, television and the Internet. - Detailed chapters on advertising agencies, client servicing and the creative aspects of advertising. - Pointers on how to conduct an advertising campaign. - Numerous advertisements which illustrate the theory and examples used in the book. - Tips on how to select an advertising agency and in what circumstances the agency should be changed. - A simple, approachable and anecdotal style of writing which the reader will enjoy.
Broadening Cultural Horizons in Social Marketing by Rachel Hay (Editor); Lynne Eagle (Editor); Abhishek Bhati (Editor)
Call Number: HF5387-5387.5
ISBN: 9789811585166
Publication Date: 2020-11-10
This book presents a series of empirically based case studies conducted by social change scholars from Asia-Pacific, showcasing the latest social marketing approaches geared at improving societal well-being in the region. Cutting across cultural perspectives, the contents gather ideas on social marketing campaigns and strategies from around the region and use these case studies as a platform to address concomitant challenges in employing marketing tools to positively change social behaviour. The selection of case studies covers and compares aspects of public health and well-being, and public environmental consciousness in terms of driving attitudes towards implementing improved sustainability in developing and developed countries. Drawing on related policies and legislation, and examining social behaviour at the individual, community, and organisational levels, the authors propose innovative new methods in social marketing and social change research. The book is of interest to researchers and practitioners in social marketing, business ethics, behavioural science, public health, and development studies.
Cross-National Consumer Psychographics by Erdener Kaynak; Lynn R. Kahle
Call Number: HF5415.34 .C76 2000
ISBN: 1315865297
Publication Date: 2018-10-24
What makes consumers behave as they do? Just as demographics examine the "who" of consumer behavior, psychographics examine the "why". Psychographics show the motivations that people have in regard to purchasing products and choosing a lifestyle. The measurement approaches of psychographics utilize a combination of the personality, social value, and demographic variables. Cross-National Consumer Psychographics demonstrates that as communication and interactions between different parts of the world increase, marketing practitioners and educators will benefit by continuing to employ psychographic segmentation as a fundamental teaching and marketing tool. Examining consumer behavior with Cross-National Consumer Psychographics will bring you an improved understanding of the political and economic ties between communities and citizens, and will facilitate improved market understanding, segmentation, and communication. Cross-National Consumer Psychographics explores important marketing topics like: the role of psychographics and values in international marketing cross-cultural consumer information processing styles the relationship between independent and interdependent self-concepts and reasons for purchase the internationally recognized List of Values (LOV) and specific case studies including: the values of American and Japanese mothers (using the LOV) means-end analyses of fish consumption in Denmark and France effects of the change of sovereignty on consumer preferences in Hong Kong Cross-National Consumer Psychographics provides data from several applications of the List of Values (LOV) coming from various parts of the globe, showing the implications of particular cultures upon consumerism. Through this unique book, you will discover how countries and consumer groups can be segmented and approached based on their social values to help you develop more effective marketing strategies for your products.
Developing Advertising with Qualitative Market Research by Judith Wardle
Call Number: HF5823 .W416 2002eb
ISBN: 9781412903950
Publication Date: 2002
Qualitative Market Research is a landmark publishing event. The seven volumes provide, for the first time, complete coverage of qualitative market research practice, written by experienced practitioners, for both a commercial and academic audience. The set fills two important market gaps: it offers commercial practitioners authoritative source texts for training and professional development; and provides students and researchers with an account of qualitative research theory and practice in use today. Each book cross-references others in the series, but can also be used as a stand-alone resource on a key topic. The seven books have been carefully structured so as to be completely accessible in terms of language, use of jargon and assumed knowledge. Experienced market researchers will find the tools to help them critically evaluate their own work. Those new to market research will be provided with a complete map of qualitative market research theory and practice (including brands and advertising theory) and the stimulation to discuss and learn more with tutors and practitioners. Qualitative Market Research will be an invaluable resource for academic and professional libraries, commercial market researchers, as well as essential reading for students in market research, marketing and business studies.
Developing brands with qualitative market research / Jon Chandler and Mike Owen by Jon Chandler
Call Number: HD69.B7 C43 2002eb
ISBN: 9781412903967
Publication Date: 2002
Handbook of Market Segmentation by Art Weinstein
Call Number: HF5415.127 .W45 2004eb
ISBN: 0203862481
Publication Date: 2013-10-31
Develop a successful strategy for segmenting high-tech and industrial markets! Whether it's due to a lack of focus, lack of time, or just bad planning, most companies fall short of the mark in their target marketing. The Handbook of Market Segmentation, 3rd Edition: Strategic Target Marketing for Business and Technology Firms is a practical, how-to guide to what marketers need to know about defining, segmenting, and targeting business markets: assessing customer needs; gauging the competition; designing winning strategies; and maximizing corporate resources.
Handbook of Research on International Advertising by Shintaro Okazaki (Editor)
Call Number: HF5823 .H36 2012
ISBN: 9781848448582
Publication Date: 2012-02-29
The Handbook of Research on International Advertising presents the latest thinking, experiences and results in a wide variety of areas in international advertising. It incorporates those visions and insights into areas that have seldom been touched in prior international advertising research, such as research in digital media, retrospective research, cultural psychology, and innovative methodologies. Forming a major reference tool, the Handbookprovides comprehensive coverage of the area, including entries on: theoretical advances in international advertising research, culture and its impact on advertising effectiveness, online media strategy in global advertising, methodological issues in international advertising, effectiveness of specific creative techniques, global advertising agencies, international perspectives of corporate reputation, transnational trust, global consumer cultural positioning, and performance of integrated marketing communications, among others. Researchers, students and practitioners in the fields of marketing, advertising, communication, and media management will find this important and stimulating resource invaluable.
Handbook of Visual Communication by Kenneth L. Smith (Editor); Sandra Moriarty (Editor); Gretchen Barbatsis (Editor); Keith Kenney (Editor)
Call Number: P93.5 .H363 2005
ISBN: 9781410611581
Publication Date: 2004-12-13
This Handbook of Visual Communicationexplores the key theoretical areas in visual communication, and presents the research methods utilized in exploring how people see and how visual communication occurs. With chapters contributed by many of the best-known and respected scholars in visual communication, this volume brings together significant and influential work in the visual communication discipline. The theory chapters included here define the twelve major theories in visual communication scholarship: aesthetics, perception, representation, visual rhetoric, cognition, semiotics, reception theory, narrative, media aesthetics, ethics, visual literacy, and cultural studies. Each of these theory chapters is followed by exemplar studies in the area, demonstrating the various methods used in visual communication research as well as the research approaches applicable for specific media types. The Handbookserves as an invaluable reference for visual communication theory as well as a useful resource book of research methods in the discipline. It defines the current state of theory and research in visual communication, and serves as a foundation for future scholarship and study. As such, it is required reading for scholars, researchers, and advanced students in visual communication, and it will be influential in other disciplines in which the visual component is key, including advertising, persuasion, and media studies. The volume will also be useful to practitioners seeking to understand the visual aspects of their media and the visual processes used by their audiences.
How Advertising Works by John Philip Jones (Editor)
Call Number: HF5823 .H58 1998
ISBN: 9780761912408
Publication Date: 1998-06-17
John Philip Jones, bestselling author of What's in a Name? and When Ads Work, has edited an authoritative handbook of research procedures that determine effective advertising. All participants in the advertising process - clients, media and agencies - are fully represented in this volume. Chapter authors reflect a global mix of academic and professional backgrounds and include: Leo Bogart, Andrew Ehrenberg, Simon Broadbent, Herbert Krugman, and the Editor John Philip Jones. Most chapters have been specifically written for this volume and are complemented by a few adaptations of classic articles.
An Integrated Approach to Communication Theory and Research by Don W. Stacks (Editor); Michael B. Salwen (Editor); Kristen C. Eichhorn (Editor)
Call Number: P91 .I57 2019
ISBN: 9781351358699
Publication Date: 2019-03-14
This new edition provides a comprehensive overview of current theory and research written by the top theorists and researchers in each area. It has been updated to address the growing influence of technology, changing relationships, and several growing integrated approaches to communication and includes seven new chapters on: Digital Media, Media Effects, Privacy, Dark Side, Applied Communication, Relational Communication, Instructional Communication, and Communication and the Law. The book continues to be essential reading for students and faculty who want a thorough overview of contemporary communication theory and research.
An Introduction to Visual Research Methods in Tourism by Donna Chambers (Editor); Tijana Rakić (Editor)
Call Number: G155.A1 I589 2012
ISBN: 9780415570046
Publication Date: 2011-09-22
An Introduction to Visual Research Methods in Tourism is the first book to present, discuss and promote the use of a range of visual methods in tourism studies. It introduces methods ranging from the collection of secondary visual materials for the purposes of analysis (such as postcards, tourism brochures, and websites) and the creation of visuals in the context of primary research (such as photography, video and drawings), to the production of data through photo-elicitation techniques. The book promotes thoroughly underpinned interdisciplinary visual tourism research and includes an exploration of many key philosophical, methodological and inter-disciplinary approaches. Comprised of five parts: introduction; paradigms, academic disciplines and theory; methods; analysis and representation; and conclusion. This volume informs and inspires its readers through a reliance on theory, examples from tourism studies conducted in various geographical locations and through key pedagogical features such as annotated further readings, practical tips boxes and concise chapter summaries. This book will be of interest to experienced visual tourism researchers, scholars wishing to incorporate visual methods in their studies of tourism for the very first time, as well as students on undergraduate, postgraduate or doctoral programmes who are contemplating the incorporation of visual methods in their studies of tourism.
Marketing Wisdom by Kartikeya Kompella (Editor)
Call Number: HF5415.1265
ISBN: 9789811077234
Publication Date: 2018-09-11
This book represents the work of some of the contemporary world leaders in marketing. The contributors are authors of a set of path-breaking books on marketing. To ensure sufficient depth of coverage, the contributors have taken the essence of their earlier books and combined it with their latest understanding and cases. This has served to enhance the content and put it in the readers' current context. It is common knowledge that keeping pace with the growing application of marketing requires a novel approach. With new ideas and nuances being discovered every day, it has become a real challenge for marketers and students of marketing to keep up to date on important contemporary marketing concepts. Given its unique approach and thoughtful curation, this book presents readers with diversity of perspectives along with a unique depth of thinking.
Mass Communication Research Methods by Anders Hansen (Editor)
Call Number: P91.3 .M366 2009
ISBN: 9781412930048
Publication Date: 2009-02-03
Part One: Introduction Part Two: Asking the Right Questions Part Three: Researching Media Institutions, Organizations, Professionals and Production Part Four: Researching Media Content and Representation Part Five: Researching Media and Communication in Society: Consumption, Audiences, Politics, Problems and Pleasures Part Six: Doing Communication Research
Media and Public Relations Research in Post-Socialist Societies by Maureen C. Minielli (Editor, Contribution by); Marta N. Lukacovic (Editor, Contribution by); Sergei A. Samoilenko (Editor, Contribution by); Michael R. Finch (Editor, Contribution by); Deborrah Uecker (As told to); Bagila Akhatova (Contribution by); Tomasz Anusiewicz (Contribution by); Domagoj Bebić (Contribution by); Igor Danis (Contribution by); Denis Dunas (Contribution by); Monika Ďurechová (Contribution by); Elina Erzikova (Contribution by); Olga Filatova (Contribution by); Olena Goroshko (Contribution by); Marijana Grbesa (Contribution by); Gergő Hajzer (Contribution by); Oleg Kashirskikh (Contribution by); Elena Lebedeva (Contribution by); Katja Lehtisaari (Contribution by); Yuri Misnikov (Contribution by); Liudmyla Salionovych (Contribution by); Debbie Sellnow-Richmond (Contribution by); Andrej Skolkay (Contribution by); Dmitry Strovsky (Contribution by); Gabriella Szabó (Contribution by); Elira Turdubaeva (Contribution by); Elena Vartanova (Contribution by); Veronika Vass-Vigh (Contribution by)
Call Number: P91.5.F6 M43 2021
ISBN: 1793607362
Publication Date: 2021-03-17
Media and Public Relations Research in Post-Socialist Societies tracks the birth, development, and contemporary expansion of communication research, with a focus on public relations and media research in post-socialist societies. This collection illuminates the current state of media and communication studies in Eastern Europe, Central Europe, and Central Asia. Contributors discuss and demonstrate various issues of disciplinary roots and tensions, institutional constraints, study development, and contemporary status. This book also illustrates diverse types of traditional and contemporary communication studies from humanities and social science perspectives, ranging from linguistics to health communication. This collection focuses on both traditional and modern scholarship that has arisen due to international scholarly efforts, the advent of technology, and national research interests. Readers will have the opportunity to intellectually discuss the conceptual, theoretical, and practical issues that have occurred within the past twenty years regarding public relations, mass communication, and media studies in post-socialist societies. The analyses in this book lead readers to consider potential resolutions to some of the current dialectical tensions that are affecting post-socialist communication studies and contemplate how reflecting on these tensions informs the broader field of communication worldwide.
Media Interview Techniques by Robert Taylor
Call Number: P96.I54 T39 2016
ISBN: 9780749474720
Publication Date: 2015-11-24
Never has media training been more relevant, or in-demand. Confidently deliver a key message, even in crisis conditions, and represent yourself or your organization using this unique collection of models and techniques. Featuring insightful anecdotes of interviews from the likes of George W. Bush, HRH Prince Philip, and more, this is a must-read for any PR executive, press officer or communications professional. Any individual preparing for an interview with the media, however practised or well-rehearsed they are, worries about failing to convey the essential points, or encountering that awkward question in the glare of public scrutiny. As media channels multiply by the day, offering ever more opportunities for exposure, so they also present a growing probability of finding oneself in front of the camera, webcam, or microphone in a make-or-break encounter where every word, gesture or expression counts. Media Interview Techniques is the authoritative guide to giving successful media interviews, combining the author's own unique models and techniques with a survey of published research and influential opinion, to help the reader prepare for any occasion when called upon to represent an organization publicly. Supported throughout with insightful anecdotes and transcripts of good and bad interviews given by George W. Bush, HRH Prince Philip, David Cameron and numerous public figures, this book presents a methodology which has been proven across the spectrum of industry sectors both nationally and internationally. Written for those who speak on behalf of commercial companies, public services, charities, NGOs, or as a subject expert (or for those briefing clients prior to interviews), no communications professional can afford to be without a copy. The book is also supported by online resources, including web links to relevant media interviews for each chapter and high-profile news stories.
The new anatomy of advertising: applying scientific method to the solution of advertising problems by Mark Wiseman
Call Number: HF5823 .W58
Publication Date: 1959
Practice of Advertising by Adrian Mackay
Call Number: HF5823 .P69 2005eb
ISBN: 1136372466
Publication Date: 2007-03-30
The Practice of Advertising addresses key issues in the industry, presenting a comprehensive overview of its components. Clarity in both style and content has been ensured so that the information is easily accessible and terminology is suitable for the reader. Based on the successful and highly regarded text previously edited by Norman Hart, this fifth edition contains up-to-date examples to illustrate key points and support underlying principles. Topics addressed range from introducing the roles of advertiser and the advertising agency, through to more specialised areas of advertising such as recruitment and directory advertising. The specialist knowledge gained from the contributors provides a valuable insight for practitioners and students wishing to gain a solid grounding in the subject. By looking at the current situation as well as considering developments likely to occur in the future, the text demonstrates how best to implement existing methods as well as considering how improvements can be made.
Public Information Campaigns and Opinion Research by Hans-Dieter Klingemann (Editor); Andrea Roemmele (Editor)
Call Number: JF2112.A4 P83 2002
ISBN: 0761964312
Publication Date: 2002-02-05
This handbook draws on multidisciplinary insights and the experiences of academics and campaign practitioners to provide a comprehensive guide and introduction to planning, implementing and measuring public information and communication campaigns. It outlines the basic theoretical approaches and provides practical examples from a variety of both national and international information and communication campaigns within and across Europe. Public opinion information and campaign strategies in a recent American state election campaign are used to contrast the different perspectives and experiences in the United States. The handbook concludes by demonstrating how to measure effects, causality and public opinion change to determine what the campaign accomplished. A helpful summary and checklist for the student and practitioner using survey research is provided at the end.
Qualitative Marketing Research by Johanna Moisander; Anu Valtonen
Call Number: HF5415.2 .M623 2006eb
ISBN: 9781412903813
Publication Date: 2006-05-24
Aimed at both graduate and undergraduate students majoring in business administration and in other fields of social sciences, Qualitative Marketing Research unpacks the emerging cultural approach in the field of marketing and consumer research and provides an interesting and informed study for anyone interested in cultural approaches to economic and social theory. The book also provides insights for MBA students and other business professionals who work in the field of marketing, advertising, media planning and qualitative market research, offering methodological resources for keeping professional skills up to date and help with designing and conducting relevant and skillful market research which is sensitive to the cultural dynamics of the marketplace behavior.
Qualitative Methods for Marketplace Research by Shay Sayre
Call Number: HF5415.2 .S29 2001eb
ISBN: 9780761922704
Publication Date: 2001-03-16
Qualitative Methods for Marketplace Research is the only text of its kind on the market today. Designed especially for students and practitioners, this book provides marketers, communicators and researchers with the effective data collection and analysis techniques. It explains how to use visual and verbal text as tools for understanding consumers and audiences in their natural environment as well as in controlled situations. Borrowing techniques from anthropology, sociology, psychology and communication, the book presents specific examples to illustrate how these techniques are adapted for marketplace research. Studies conducted by renowned scholars and practitioners guide readers through all the nuances of qualitative methods needed to develop, execute and analyze state-of-the-art marketplace studies. Essential for understanding text-based consumption behavior, this book is a must for anyone who will conduct marketplace research in the 21st century.
Qualitative Research Methods in Public Relations and Marketing Communications by Christine Daymon; Immy Holloway
Call Number: HD59 .D39 2011
ISBN: 0203846540
Publication Date: 2011
The second edition of this highly accessible, core textbook continues to offer students a practical guide to the process of planning, undertaking and writing about qualitative research in public relations and marketing communications. Through clear explanations and illustrations, the book encourages undergraduate and master level students to engage with the main approaches and techniques for conducting critical, reflective investigations. This new edition: Identifies the skills and strategies needed to conduct authentic, trustworthy research Highlights specific analytical techniques associated within the main research approaches Provides new sections on internet-based research, critical discourse analysis, historical research, action research and mixed methods research. Qualitative Research Methods in Public Relations and Marketing Communications will be invaluable for those undertaking research methods courses on public relations and marketing communication degrees, as well as those working on a dissertation.
Research Methods and Techniques in Public Relations and Advertising by Bayram Aydin (Editor); Emine Sahin (Editor)
Call Number: HD59 .R46 2017
ISBN: 3631718764
Publication Date: 2017-05-24
The authors in this volume present a new point of view related to research methods and techniques in public relations and advertising. The book seeks to provide a research guide that covers topics including selecting and writing a research subject, data collection, and analysis selection for beginner researchers. The articles focus on various methods such as netnographical analysis, experimental study, case analysis, discourse analysis, Delphi method, survey, etc.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods by Mike Allen (Editor)
Call Number: P91 .S24 2017
ISBN: 9781483381435
Publication Date: 2017-05-08
Communication research is evolving and changing in a world of online journals, open-access, and new ways of obtaining data and conducting experiments via the Internet. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods contains entries that cover every step of the research process, accompanied by engaging examples from the literature of communication studies. Key features include: 652 signed entries spanning four volumes, available in choice of electronic or print formats A Reader's Guide groups entries thematically to help students interested in a specific aspect of communication research to more easily locate directly related entries Back matter includes a Chronology of the development of the field of communication research; a Resource Guide to classic books, journals, and associations; a Glossary introducing the terminology of the field; and a detailed Index Entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross-References to related entries to guide students further in their research journeys The Index, Reader's Guide themes, and Cross-References combine to provide robust search-and-browse in the electronic version
The SAGE Handbook of Advertising by Gerard J. Tellis (Editor); Tim Ambler (Editor)
Call Number: HF5823 .S17 2007
ISBN: 1412918863
Publication Date: 2007-11-08
Advertising is a field that has attracted a great deal of academic attention, but to date there has been no summarizing of the state of the art of research. This far reaching and scholarly Handbook is edited by two highly respected and trusted thinkers in the field and includes contributions from leading academics based in both the UK and the USA. Tim Ambler and Gerald J. Tellis achieve their aim of setting advertising and the theory that underpins it in its historical and societal context, show-casing the most significant advertising research questions of our time and pointing readers in the direction of future avenues for fruitful investigation.
Successful Advertising Research Methods by Jack B. Haskins; Alice Gagnard-Kendrick
Call Number: HF5814 .H38 1993
ISBN: 0844231894
Publication Date: 1994-11-01
Using Qualitative Research in Advertising by Margaret Ann Morrison (Editor); Eric Haley (Editor); Kim Bartel Sheehan (Editor); Ronald E. Taylor (Editor)
Call Number: HF5814 .U78 2002
ISBN: 0761923837
Publication Date: 2002-03-19
This engaging book uses a step by step approach to describe what qualitative research techniques are designed to do and how they aid in uncovering insights useful for advertising strategy development, creative development, and concurrent and post-campaign evaluation. Covering an extensive and informative range of topics this textbook guides marketing and management students through methodology, interviewing and project techniques. Advertising students are shown how to create the most effective advertising briefs. It explores how the use of pictures, video, audio, and computer-related technologies can help the advertising team analyse consumer needs using the latest technology. It also focusses on online research and how the Internet can be used to conduct interviews and online focus groups. It discusses the ethical considerations in doing online qualitative research, including assessments of participant risk, the appropriateness of topics and obtaining informed consent. This book will be very useful for advanced undergraduate and graduate courses in advertising, account planning, management, consumer behavior and marketing communication.
Values, Lifestyles, and Psychographics by Lynn R. Kahle (Editor); Larry Chiagouris (Editor)
Call Number: HF5821 .V334 1997
ISBN: 9781317780823
Publication Date: 2014-03-05
This book showcases papers presented at the annual Advertising and Consumer Psychology Conference. The contributors -- active scholars with both practitioner and academic backgrounds -- share an interest in the general area of psychographics, values, and lifestyle in advertising. The interdisciplinary and international mix of authors bring a diverse perspective to this volume, which is divided into four nonorthogonal sections. The first section deals with theoretical and conceptual issues in advertising research, while the second section presents chapters devoted to improving methodology. The final two sections illustrate how value, lifestyle, and psychographic research have been used to understand differences among people. The first of these final two sections emphasizes differences among people at different times (commonly called trend research), and the second emphasizes differences among people across national boundaries. Collectively, these chapters illustrate how practical state-of-the-art research in values, lifestyles, and psychographics can be. Thoughtful consideration of values, lifestyles, and psychographics as they are manifested in quality research can improve advertising and marketing practice, and can help the business community deliver products and services that are more in line with consumers' needs.

A brief sampling of scholarly articles and doctoral dissertations covering research methodologies in advertising. Use the Scopus database to retrieve references for subsequently published articles or book chapters that cite these references. If a reference below resides in Scopus, click on "SULinks" or "view at publisher" to arrive at full text for that source. If neither brings up the full source, manually verify whether SU has access to the journal title containing the article using the journals A to Z list, or if a book chapter, an advanced 'title' search for the title of the book using Summon.

Applequist, J. (2015). A mixed-methods approach toward primetime television direct-to-consumer advertising: Pharmaceutical fetishism and critical analyses of the commercial discourse of health care (Order No. 3715473). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. (1710718805).
Feng, Y. & Xie, Q. (2018). Measuring the content characteristics of videos featuring augmented reality advertising campaigns Journal of Research in Interactive Marketing, 12 (4), 489-508.
Hinson, R., Boateng, H., Renner, A., & Kosiba, J.P.B. (2019). Antecedents and consequences of customer engagement on Facebook: An attachment theory perspective. Journal of Research in Interactive Marketing, 13 (2), 204-226.
Kaur, N. (2015). A Combinatorial Tweet Clustering Methodology Utilizing Inter and Intra Cosine Similarity (Order No. 28140999). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. (2481591292).
King, W. I. (1932). Statistical Methods in Advertising Research. Journal of the American Statistical Association, 27(179), 319–321.
Lajante, M. M. P., Droulers, O., & Amarantini, D. (2017). How reliable are “state-of-the-art” facial EMG processing methods?: Guidelines for improving the assessment of emotional valence in advertising research. Journal of Advertising Research, 57(1), 28-37.
Madsen, M. J. (2018). A Q-Method Study of Visual Metaphors in Advertising (Order No. 28107597). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Business. (2442256301).
Malhotra, N. K., Schaller, T. K., & Patil, A. (2017). Common method variance in advertising research: When to be concerned and how to control for it. Journal of Advertising, 46(1), 193-212.
McNamara, J. J. (1941). A New Method for Testing Advertising Effectiveness Through Eye-Movement Photography (Order No. 27696763). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. (2311959685).
Sarstedt, M., Bengart, P., Shaltoni, A. M., & Lehmann, S. (2018). The use of sampling methods in advertising research: A gap between theory and practice. International Journal of Advertising, 37(4), 650-663.
Smith, J. A. (2008). Towards a more efficient method of data integration: An evaluation of the Data -Overlay approach to media planning (Order No. 3324220). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. (304456723).
Starch, D. (1923). Research Methods in Advertising. The ANNALS of the American Academy of Political and Social Science, 110(1), 139–143.

Here are links to additional SU Libraries research guides potentially useful to researchers in advertising

A sampling of licensed Syracuse University Libraries databases often helpful for researchers in advertising

SAGE Research Methods Online
Information about research methods and design; includes Sage Datasets and Sage Cases, and the qualitative and quantitative methods series, "Little Green Books" and “Little Blue Books.”
SAGE Research Methods Cases
Teaching cases in which a variety of research methods are used in a number of social sciences subject areas. Cases are incorporated into SAGE Research Methods Online.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Index and abstracts to publications in business, management, and news, as well as reports and working papers; includes some full text.
Adforum
Audiovisual library of U.S. and international advertising sourced from numerous ad agencies, including award winning ads (Cannes Lion, Clio, Effie, One Show, etc.)
Advertising Age
Login required. Content from Advertising Age, including articles, videos, and podcasts.
Business Source Elite
Business and economics journals and magazine articles, many with full text, including content from the Harvard Business Review.
Communication Source
Abstracts of publications covering advertising, discourse, linguistics, media studies, speech-language pathology, and other communication fields.
WARC
Case studies of advertising, marketing communications and branding. Includes video of advertising campaigns.
MRI Simmons
See the SU Libraries Advertising Research Guide for further user guidance on the use of Simmons Insights (including its ecommerce related surveys called "Simmons Connect" and its brand and product category data visualizations called "Brand Catalyst.").
||| 50 simultaneous users. Consumer survey data for U.S. individuals and households, yielding cross-tabulated brand and product category preferences, demographic and psychographic data, and trends for use of digital and traditional media. Includes access to Brand Catalyst, a visualization platform for creating consumer personas that compare and predict these preferences.

Mintel Reports
Research reports covering consumer behavior and analysis of United States markets.
Business Insights: Essentials
Articles about business, company histories and profiles, financial and industry reports, SWOT analyses, and more.

Insider Intelligence eMarketer
Marketing, advertising, and consumer reports covering a range of industries, such as financial services, ecommerce, technology, and more. Includes content from both eMarketer and Business Insider Intelligence.

IBISWorld
Industry and company reports, industry outlook and risk rating reports, market share, and business environment profiles, and more, searchable by keyword or NAICS code.
Mergent Intellect
Information about U.S. and international public and private companies, company news, and key business ratios. Searchable by company, person, or industry. Includes content in D & B Million Dollar Database and offers FirstResearch industry profiles, Indeed job search, Nielsen demographics, and a residential directory.

SRDS Media Solutions
Directories for television and radio broadcasting, digital media, print newspapers and magazines, place-based and outdoor media. Also includes local market audience, programmatic media planning, and digital network information.

Statista
Data from both public and private sources related to a wide range of subjects, including consumers, digital markets, and companies; also includes forecasts, analysis, reports, and more.

SimplyAnalytics
Four simultaneous users. Users must also create their own personal profile.

Application for mapping, analytics, and data visualization of variables such as demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, technology, and public health. Includes data from Nielsen Claritas, Dun and Bradstreet, Simmons, GFK MRI, Easy Analytic Software (EASI), and Applied Geographic Solutions.
ProQuest News and Newspapers
Search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases including Alt-PressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Text visualization options for selected newspapers are available on the TDM Studio platform; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
Nexis Uni
News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.
Access World News
Current and past worldwide news sources, including international, local and regional newspapers, media transcripts, wire service content, college newspaper articles, magazines, blogs, video and audio.

Adweek (USA)

05/02/2019 to Present in Newsbank Access World News Research Collection 2022 Edition

Adweek (USA)

02/03/2003 to Present in ABI/INFORM Collection, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry

01/05/2004 to Present in Business Source Elite

02/03/2003 to Present in Research Library

1973 to 1975 in Print Holdings

2003 to Present in Print Holdings

02/03/2003 to Present in ProQuest Central

Journal of advertising

01/01/1972 to 01/31/1985 in ABI/INFORM Collection

01/01/1991 to 12/31/2013 in ABI/INFORM Collection

01/01/1972 to 01/31/1985 in ABI/INFORM Global

01/01/1991 to 12/31/2013 in ABI/INFORM Global

03/01/1985 to Present in Business Source Elite

03/01/1972 to Present in Communication Source

01/01/1972 to 8 years ago in JSTOR Arts & Sciences VI

01/01/1991 to 12/31/2013 in Research Library

03/01/1997 to Present in Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library

01/01/1972 to 01/31/1985 in ProQuest Central

01/01/1991 to 12/31/2013 in ProQuest Central

Journal of advertising research

01/01/1996 to 12/31/2005 in Cambridge Journals

01/01/2000 to Present in Publisher site

1960 to Present in Print Holdings

International journal of advertising

05/01/2000 to 18 months ago in Communication Source

1983 to Present in Print Holdings

01/01/1997 to Present in Taylor & Francis Social Science and Humanities Library

Journal of advertising education

04/01/2012 to 11/30/2018 in ABI/INFORM Collection, ABI/INFORM Global

05/01/1999 to Present in SAGE Journals PREMJI23 2023

04/01/2012 to 11/30/2018 in ProQuest Central

Journal of consumer marketing

10/01/1987 to 1 year ago in ABI/INFORM Collection, ABI/INFORM Global

1984 to 1993 in Emerald eJournals Backfiles

1994 to Present in Emerald Management 120

10/01/1987 to 1 year ago in Research Library

Print Holdings

10/01/1987 to 1 year ago in ProQuest Central

1994 to Present in Emerald ejournals Premier

Adweek (Eastern ed.)

10/13/1997 to 02/10/2003 in ABI/INFORM Collection, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry

07/01/1996 to 12/22/2003 in Business Source Elite

10/13/1997 to 02/10/2003 in Research Library

1989 to 2014 in Microform Holdings

1985 to 1989 in Print Holdings

01/01/1970 to Present in Nexis Uni

10/13/1997 to 02/10/2003 in ProQuest Central

Adweek (Midwest ed.)

10/06/1997 to 01/27/2003 in ABI/INFORM Collection, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry

07/12/1999 to 01/27/2003 in Business Source Elite

10/06/1997 to 01/27/2003 in Research Library, ProQuest Central

Adweek (New England ed.)

10/06/1997 to 01/27/2003 in ABI/INFORM Collection, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry

07/05/1999 to 01/27/2003 in Business Source Elite

10/06/1997 to 01/27/2003 in Research Library, ProQuest Central

Adweek (Southeast edition)

10/20/1997 to 01/27/2003 in ABI/INFORM Collection, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry

07/12/1999 to 01/27/2003 in Business Source Elite

10/20/1997 to 01/27/2003 in Research Library, ProQuest Central

Adweek (Southwest ed.)

10/06/1997 to 01/27/2003 in ABI/INFORM Collection, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, Research Library, ProQuest Central

Adweek (Western ed.)

10/13/1997 to 01/27/2003 in ABI/INFORM Collection, ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade & Industry, Research Library, ProQuest Central

Advertising

Advertising and Promotion by Chris Hackley
Call Number: HF5823 .H185 2005
ISBN: 9780761941538
Publication Date: 2005-02-16
See Chapter 9: Advertising Research. This detailed and insightful text explains how advertising comes to cast its shadow over contemporary consumer culture. Case examples are used to illustrate the power of advertising to portray brand 'personalities' in terms that resonate with consumers across many cultures.
Advertising and Public Relations Research by Donald W. Jugenheimer; Samuel D. Bradley; Larry D. Kelley; Fogarty KleinMonroe; Jerry Hudson
Call Number: HF5814 .A32 2010
ISBN: 9780765624185
Publication Date: 2010-03-15
This comprehensive volume concentrates on the uses and applications of research in advertising and public relations situations. Although the authors cover the design and conduct of research in ample detail, their goal is to provide the information needed by practitioners to commission and apply research to their work problems in advertising and PR.
Advertising Basics! by J. V. Vilanilam; A. K. Varghese
Call Number: HF5823 .V49 2004
ISBN: 9780761998105
Publication Date: 2004-03-15
Advertising Basics! is a one-stop resource for anyone who wishes to understand and unravel the exciting world of advertising. Beginning from the basics, the book uses a simple commonsense approach to explain everything one wants to know about advertising and how the industry works on a daily basis.The book begins with a brief history which gives the reader an understanding of how advertising has evolved from the way it was practiced earlier in the teeming bazaars to its sophisticated and technologically advanced avatar today. The authors then discuss each aspect of the advertising industry in detail, giving pointers, suggestions and in-depth analysis of how things work in each department. Some of the highlights of this text are:- A holistic introduction which gives the reader a pan-industry perspective of advertising.- The nitty-gritties of copywriting for the main media-newspapers, magazines, radio, film, television and the Internet. - Detailed chapters on advertising agencies, client servicing and the creative aspects of advertising. - Pointers on how to conduct an advertising campaign. - Numerous advertisements which illustrate the theory and examples used in the book. - Tips on how to select an advertising agency and in what circumstances the agency should be changed. - A simple, approachable and anecdotal style of writing which the reader will enjoy.
Broadening Cultural Horizons in Social Marketing by Rachel Hay (Editor); Lynne Eagle (Editor); Abhishek Bhati (Editor)
Call Number: HF5387-5387.5
ISBN: 9789811585166
Publication Date: 2020-11-10
This book presents a series of empirically based case studies conducted by social change scholars from Asia-Pacific, showcasing the latest social marketing approaches geared at improving societal well-being in the region. Cutting across cultural perspectives, the contents gather ideas on social marketing campaigns and strategies from around the region and use these case studies as a platform to address concomitant challenges in employing marketing tools to positively change social behaviour. The selection of case studies covers and compares aspects of public health and well-being, and public environmental consciousness in terms of driving attitudes towards implementing improved sustainability in developing and developed countries. Drawing on related policies and legislation, and examining social behaviour at the individual, community, and organisational levels, the authors propose innovative new methods in social marketing and social change research. The book is of interest to researchers and practitioners in social marketing, business ethics, behavioural science, public health, and development studies.
Cross-National Consumer Psychographics by Erdener Kaynak; Lynn R. Kahle
Call Number: HF5415.34 .C76 2000
ISBN: 1315865297
Publication Date: 2018-10-24
What makes consumers behave as they do? Just as demographics examine the "who" of consumer behavior, psychographics examine the "why". Psychographics show the motivations that people have in regard to purchasing products and choosing a lifestyle. The measurement approaches of psychographics utilize a combination of the personality, social value, and demographic variables. Cross-National Consumer Psychographics demonstrates that as communication and interactions between different parts of the world increase, marketing practitioners and educators will benefit by continuing to employ psychographic segmentation as a fundamental teaching and marketing tool. Examining consumer behavior with Cross-National Consumer Psychographics will bring you an improved understanding of the political and economic ties between communities and citizens, and will facilitate improved market understanding, segmentation, and communication. Cross-National Consumer Psychographics explores important marketing topics like: the role of psychographics and values in international marketing cross-cultural consumer information processing styles the relationship between independent and interdependent self-concepts and reasons for purchase the internationally recognized List of Values (LOV) and specific case studies including: the values of American and Japanese mothers (using the LOV) means-end analyses of fish consumption in Denmark and France effects of the change of sovereignty on consumer preferences in Hong Kong Cross-National Consumer Psychographics provides data from several applications of the List of Values (LOV) coming from various parts of the globe, showing the implications of particular cultures upon consumerism. Through this unique book, you will discover how countries and consumer groups can be segmented and approached based on their social values to help you develop more effective marketing strategies for your products.
Developing Advertising with Qualitative Market Research by Judith Wardle
Call Number: HF5823 .W416 2002eb
ISBN: 9781412903950
Publication Date: 2002
Qualitative Market Research is a landmark publishing event. The seven volumes provide, for the first time, complete coverage of qualitative market research practice, written by experienced practitioners, for both a commercial and academic audience. The set fills two important market gaps: it offers commercial practitioners authoritative source texts for training and professional development; and provides students and researchers with an account of qualitative research theory and practice in use today. Each book cross-references others in the series, but can also be used as a stand-alone resource on a key topic. The seven books have been carefully structured so as to be completely accessible in terms of language, use of jargon and assumed knowledge. Experienced market researchers will find the tools to help them critically evaluate their own work. Those new to market research will be provided with a complete map of qualitative market research theory and practice (including brands and advertising theory) and the stimulation to discuss and learn more with tutors and practitioners. Qualitative Market Research will be an invaluable resource for academic and professional libraries, commercial market researchers, as well as essential reading for students in market research, marketing and business studies.
Developing brands with qualitative market research / Jon Chandler and Mike Owen by Jon Chandler
Call Number: HD69.B7 C43 2002eb
ISBN: 9781412903967
Publication Date: 2002
Handbook of Market Segmentation by Art Weinstein
Call Number: HF5415.127 .W45 2004eb
ISBN: 0203862481
Publication Date: 2013-10-31
Develop a successful strategy for segmenting high-tech and industrial markets! Whether it's due to a lack of focus, lack of time, or just bad planning, most companies fall short of the mark in their target marketing. The Handbook of Market Segmentation, 3rd Edition: Strategic Target Marketing for Business and Technology Firms is a practical, how-to guide to what marketers need to know about defining, segmenting, and targeting business markets: assessing customer needs; gauging the competition; designing winning strategies; and maximizing corporate resources.
Handbook of Research on International Advertising by Shintaro Okazaki (Editor)
Call Number: HF5823 .H36 2012
ISBN: 9781848448582
Publication Date: 2012-02-29
The Handbook of Research on International Advertising presents the latest thinking, experiences and results in a wide variety of areas in international advertising. It incorporates those visions and insights into areas that have seldom been touched in prior international advertising research, such as research in digital media, retrospective research, cultural psychology, and innovative methodologies. Forming a major reference tool, the Handbookprovides comprehensive coverage of the area, including entries on: theoretical advances in international advertising research, culture and its impact on advertising effectiveness, online media strategy in global advertising, methodological issues in international advertising, effectiveness of specific creative techniques, global advertising agencies, international perspectives of corporate reputation, transnational trust, global consumer cultural positioning, and performance of integrated marketing communications, among others. Researchers, students and practitioners in the fields of marketing, advertising, communication, and media management will find this important and stimulating resource invaluable.
Handbook of Visual Communication by Kenneth L. Smith (Editor); Sandra Moriarty (Editor); Gretchen Barbatsis (Editor); Keith Kenney (Editor)
Call Number: P93.5 .H363 2005
ISBN: 9781410611581
Publication Date: 2004-12-13
This Handbook of Visual Communicationexplores the key theoretical areas in visual communication, and presents the research methods utilized in exploring how people see and how visual communication occurs. With chapters contributed by many of the best-known and respected scholars in visual communication, this volume brings together significant and influential work in the visual communication discipline. The theory chapters included here define the twelve major theories in visual communication scholarship: aesthetics, perception, representation, visual rhetoric, cognition, semiotics, reception theory, narrative, media aesthetics, ethics, visual literacy, and cultural studies. Each of these theory chapters is followed by exemplar studies in the area, demonstrating the various methods used in visual communication research as well as the research approaches applicable for specific media types. The Handbookserves as an invaluable reference for visual communication theory as well as a useful resource book of research methods in the discipline. It defines the current state of theory and research in visual communication, and serves as a foundation for future scholarship and study. As such, it is required reading for scholars, researchers, and advanced students in visual communication, and it will be influential in other disciplines in which the visual component is key, including advertising, persuasion, and media studies. The volume will also be useful to practitioners seeking to understand the visual aspects of their media and the visual processes used by their audiences.
How Advertising Works by John Philip Jones (Editor)
Call Number: HF5823 .H58 1998
ISBN: 9780761912408
Publication Date: 1998-06-17
John Philip Jones, bestselling author of What's in a Name? and When Ads Work, has edited an authoritative handbook of research procedures that determine effective advertising. All participants in the advertising process - clients, media and agencies - are fully represented in this volume. Chapter authors reflect a global mix of academic and professional backgrounds and include: Leo Bogart, Andrew Ehrenberg, Simon Broadbent, Herbert Krugman, and the Editor John Philip Jones. Most chapters have been specifically written for this volume and are complemented by a few adaptations of classic articles.
An Integrated Approach to Communication Theory and Research by Don W. Stacks (Editor); Michael B. Salwen (Editor); Kristen C. Eichhorn (Editor)
Call Number: P91 .I57 2019
ISBN: 9781351358699
Publication Date: 2019-03-14
This new edition provides a comprehensive overview of current theory and research written by the top theorists and researchers in each area. It has been updated to address the growing influence of technology, changing relationships, and several growing integrated approaches to communication and includes seven new chapters on: Digital Media, Media Effects, Privacy, Dark Side, Applied Communication, Relational Communication, Instructional Communication, and Communication and the Law. The book continues to be essential reading for students and faculty who want a thorough overview of contemporary communication theory and research.
An Introduction to Visual Research Methods in Tourism by Donna Chambers (Editor); Tijana Rakić (Editor)
Call Number: G155.A1 I589 2012
ISBN: 9780415570046
Publication Date: 2011-09-22
An Introduction to Visual Research Methods in Tourism is the first book to present, discuss and promote the use of a range of visual methods in tourism studies. It introduces methods ranging from the collection of secondary visual materials for the purposes of analysis (such as postcards, tourism brochures, and websites) and the creation of visuals in the context of primary research (such as photography, video and drawings), to the production of data through photo-elicitation techniques. The book promotes thoroughly underpinned interdisciplinary visual tourism research and includes an exploration of many key philosophical, methodological and inter-disciplinary approaches. Comprised of five parts: introduction; paradigms, academic disciplines and theory; methods; analysis and representation; and conclusion. This volume informs and inspires its readers through a reliance on theory, examples from tourism studies conducted in various geographical locations and through key pedagogical features such as annotated further readings, practical tips boxes and concise chapter summaries. This book will be of interest to experienced visual tourism researchers, scholars wishing to incorporate visual methods in their studies of tourism for the very first time, as well as students on undergraduate, postgraduate or doctoral programmes who are contemplating the incorporation of visual methods in their studies of tourism.
Marketing Wisdom by Kartikeya Kompella (Editor)
Call Number: HF5415.1265
ISBN: 9789811077234
Publication Date: 2018-09-11
This book represents the work of some of the contemporary world leaders in marketing. The contributors are authors of a set of path-breaking books on marketing. To ensure sufficient depth of coverage, the contributors have taken the essence of their earlier books and combined it with their latest understanding and cases. This has served to enhance the content and put it in the readers' current context. It is common knowledge that keeping pace with the growing application of marketing requires a novel approach. With new ideas and nuances being discovered every day, it has become a real challenge for marketers and students of marketing to keep up to date on important contemporary marketing concepts. Given its unique approach and thoughtful curation, this book presents readers with diversity of perspectives along with a unique depth of thinking.
Mass Communication Research Methods by Anders Hansen (Editor)
Call Number: P91.3 .M366 2009
ISBN: 9781412930048
Publication Date: 2009-02-03
Part One: Introduction Part Two: Asking the Right Questions Part Three: Researching Media Institutions, Organizations, Professionals and Production Part Four: Researching Media Content and Representation Part Five: Researching Media and Communication in Society: Consumption, Audiences, Politics, Problems and Pleasures Part Six: Doing Communication Research
Media and Public Relations Research in Post-Socialist Societies by Maureen C. Minielli (Editor, Contribution by); Marta N. Lukacovic (Editor, Contribution by); Sergei A. Samoilenko (Editor, Contribution by); Michael R. Finch (Editor, Contribution by); Deborrah Uecker (As told to); Bagila Akhatova (Contribution by); Tomasz Anusiewicz (Contribution by); Domagoj Bebić (Contribution by); Igor Danis (Contribution by); Denis Dunas (Contribution by); Monika Ďurechová (Contribution by); Elina Erzikova (Contribution by); Olga Filatova (Contribution by); Olena Goroshko (Contribution by); Marijana Grbesa (Contribution by); Gergő Hajzer (Contribution by); Oleg Kashirskikh (Contribution by); Elena Lebedeva (Contribution by); Katja Lehtisaari (Contribution by); Yuri Misnikov (Contribution by); Liudmyla Salionovych (Contribution by); Debbie Sellnow-Richmond (Contribution by); Andrej Skolkay (Contribution by); Dmitry Strovsky (Contribution by); Gabriella Szabó (Contribution by); Elira Turdubaeva (Contribution by); Elena Vartanova (Contribution by); Veronika Vass-Vigh (Contribution by)
Call Number: P91.5.F6 M43 2021
ISBN: 1793607362
Publication Date: 2021-03-17
Media and Public Relations Research in Post-Socialist Societies tracks the birth, development, and contemporary expansion of communication research, with a focus on public relations and media research in post-socialist societies. This collection illuminates the current state of media and communication studies in Eastern Europe, Central Europe, and Central Asia. Contributors discuss and demonstrate various issues of disciplinary roots and tensions, institutional constraints, study development, and contemporary status. This book also illustrates diverse types of traditional and contemporary communication studies from humanities and social science perspectives, ranging from linguistics to health communication. This collection focuses on both traditional and modern scholarship that has arisen due to international scholarly efforts, the advent of technology, and national research interests. Readers will have the opportunity to intellectually discuss the conceptual, theoretical, and practical issues that have occurred within the past twenty years regarding public relations, mass communication, and media studies in post-socialist societies. The analyses in this book lead readers to consider potential resolutions to some of the current dialectical tensions that are affecting post-socialist communication studies and contemplate how reflecting on these tensions informs the broader field of communication worldwide.
Media Interview Techniques by Robert Taylor
Call Number: P96.I54 T39 2016
ISBN: 9780749474720
Publication Date: 2015-11-24
Never has media training been more relevant, or in-demand. Confidently deliver a key message, even in crisis conditions, and represent yourself or your organization using this unique collection of models and techniques. Featuring insightful anecdotes of interviews from the likes of George W. Bush, HRH Prince Philip, and more, this is a must-read for any PR executive, press officer or communications professional. Any individual preparing for an interview with the media, however practised or well-rehearsed they are, worries about failing to convey the essential points, or encountering that awkward question in the glare of public scrutiny. As media channels multiply by the day, offering ever more opportunities for exposure, so they also present a growing probability of finding oneself in front of the camera, webcam, or microphone in a make-or-break encounter where every word, gesture or expression counts. Media Interview Techniques is the authoritative guide to giving successful media interviews, combining the author's own unique models and techniques with a survey of published research and influential opinion, to help the reader prepare for any occasion when called upon to represent an organization publicly. Supported throughout with insightful anecdotes and transcripts of good and bad interviews given by George W. Bush, HRH Prince Philip, David Cameron and numerous public figures, this book presents a methodology which has been proven across the spectrum of industry sectors both nationally and internationally. Written for those who speak on behalf of commercial companies, public services, charities, NGOs, or as a subject expert (or for those briefing clients prior to interviews), no communications professional can afford to be without a copy. The book is also supported by online resources, including web links to relevant media interviews for each chapter and high-profile news stories.
The new anatomy of advertising: applying scientific method to the solution of advertising problems by Mark Wiseman
Call Number: HF5823 .W58
Publication Date: 1959
Practice of Advertising by Adrian Mackay
Call Number: HF5823 .P69 2005eb
ISBN: 1136372466
Publication Date: 2007-03-30
The Practice of Advertising addresses key issues in the industry, presenting a comprehensive overview of its components. Clarity in both style and content has been ensured so that the information is easily accessible and terminology is suitable for the reader. Based on the successful and highly regarded text previously edited by Norman Hart, this fifth edition contains up-to-date examples to illustrate key points and support underlying principles. Topics addressed range from introducing the roles of advertiser and the advertising agency, through to more specialised areas of advertising such as recruitment and directory advertising. The specialist knowledge gained from the contributors provides a valuable insight for practitioners and students wishing to gain a solid grounding in the subject. By looking at the current situation as well as considering developments likely to occur in the future, the text demonstrates how best to implement existing methods as well as considering how improvements can be made.
Public Information Campaigns and Opinion Research by Hans-Dieter Klingemann (Editor); Andrea Roemmele (Editor)
Call Number: JF2112.A4 P83 2002
ISBN: 0761964312
Publication Date: 2002-02-05
This handbook draws on multidisciplinary insights and the experiences of academics and campaign practitioners to provide a comprehensive guide and introduction to planning, implementing and measuring public information and communication campaigns. It outlines the basic theoretical approaches and provides practical examples from a variety of both national and international information and communication campaigns within and across Europe. Public opinion information and campaign strategies in a recent American state election campaign are used to contrast the different perspectives and experiences in the United States. The handbook concludes by demonstrating how to measure effects, causality and public opinion change to determine what the campaign accomplished. A helpful summary and checklist for the student and practitioner using survey research is provided at the end.
Qualitative Marketing Research by Johanna Moisander; Anu Valtonen
Call Number: HF5415.2 .M623 2006eb
ISBN: 9781412903813
Publication Date: 2006-05-24
Aimed at both graduate and undergraduate students majoring in business administration and in other fields of social sciences, Qualitative Marketing Research unpacks the emerging cultural approach in the field of marketing and consumer research and provides an interesting and informed study for anyone interested in cultural approaches to economic and social theory. The book also provides insights for MBA students and other business professionals who work in the field of marketing, advertising, media planning and qualitative market research, offering methodological resources for keeping professional skills up to date and help with designing and conducting relevant and skillful market research which is sensitive to the cultural dynamics of the marketplace behavior.
Qualitative Methods for Marketplace Research by Shay Sayre
Call Number: HF5415.2 .S29 2001eb
ISBN: 9780761922704
Publication Date: 2001-03-16
Qualitative Methods for Marketplace Research is the only text of its kind on the market today. Designed especially for students and practitioners, this book provides marketers, communicators and researchers with the effective data collection and analysis techniques. It explains how to use visual and verbal text as tools for understanding consumers and audiences in their natural environment as well as in controlled situations. Borrowing techniques from anthropology, sociology, psychology and communication, the book presents specific examples to illustrate how these techniques are adapted for marketplace research. Studies conducted by renowned scholars and practitioners guide readers through all the nuances of qualitative methods needed to develop, execute and analyze state-of-the-art marketplace studies. Essential for understanding text-based consumption behavior, this book is a must for anyone who will conduct marketplace research in the 21st century.
Qualitative Research Methods in Public Relations and Marketing Communications by Christine Daymon; Immy Holloway
Call Number: HD59 .D39 2011
ISBN: 0203846540
Publication Date: 2010-09-13
The second edition of this highly accessible, core textbook continues to offer students a practical guide to the process of planning, undertaking and writing about qualitative research in public relations and marketing communications. Through clear explanations and illustrations, the book encourages undergraduate and master level students to engage with the main approaches and techniques for conducting critical, reflective investigations. This new edition: Identifies the skills and strategies needed to conduct authentic, trustworthy research Highlights specific analytical techniques associated within the main research approaches Provides new sections on internet-based research, critical discourse analysis, historical research, action research and mixed methods research. Qualitative Research Methods in Public Relations and Marketing Communications will be invaluable for those undertaking research methods courses on public relations and marketing communication degrees, as well as those working on a dissertation.
Research Methods and Techniques in Public Relations and Advertising by Bayram Aydin (Editor); Emine Sahin (Editor)
Call Number: HD59 .R46 2017
ISBN: 3631718764
Publication Date: 2017-05-24
The authors in this volume present a new point of view related to research methods and techniques in public relations and advertising. The book seeks to provide a research guide that covers topics including selecting and writing a research subject, data collection, and analysis selection for beginner researchers. The articles focus on various methods such as netnographical analysis, experimental study, case analysis, discourse analysis, Delphi method, survey, etc.
The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods by Mike Allen (Editor)
Call Number: P91 .S24 2017
ISBN: 9781483381435
Publication Date: 2017-05-08
Communication research is evolving and changing in a world of online journals, open-access, and new ways of obtaining data and conducting experiments via the Internet. The SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods contains entries that cover every step of the research process, accompanied by engaging examples from the literature of communication studies. Key features include: 652 signed entries spanning four volumes, available in choice of electronic or print formats A Reader's Guide groups entries thematically to help students interested in a specific aspect of communication research to more easily locate directly related entries Back matter includes a Chronology of the development of the field of communication research; a Resource Guide to classic books, journals, and associations; a Glossary introducing the terminology of the field; and a detailed Index Entries conclude with References/Further Readings and Cross-References to related entries to guide students further in their research journeys The Index, Reader's Guide themes, and Cross-References combine to provide robust search-and-browse in the electronic version
The SAGE Handbook of Advertising by Gerard J. Tellis (Editor); Tim Ambler (Editor)
Call Number: HF5823 .S17 2007
ISBN: 1412918863
Publication Date: 2007-11-08
Advertising is a field that has attracted a great deal of academic attention, but to date there has been no summarizing of the state of the art of research. This far reaching and scholarly Handbook is edited by two highly respected and trusted thinkers in the field and includes contributions from leading academics based in both the UK and the USA. Tim Ambler and Gerald J. Tellis achieve their aim of setting advertising and the theory that underpins it in its historical and societal context, show-casing the most significant advertising research questions of our time and pointing readers in the direction of future avenues for fruitful investigation.
Successful Advertising Research Methods by Jack B. Haskins; Alice Gagnard-Kendrick
Call Number: HF5814 .H38 1993
ISBN: 0844231894
Publication Date: 1994-11-01
Using Qualitative Research in Advertising by Margaret Ann Morrison (Editor); Eric Haley (Editor); Kim Bartel Sheehan (Editor); Ronald E. Taylor (Editor)
Call Number: HF5814 .U78 2002
ISBN: 0761923837
Publication Date: 2002-03-19
This engaging book uses a step by step approach to describe what qualitative research techniques are designed to do and how they aid in uncovering insights useful for advertising strategy development, creative development, and concurrent and post-campaign evaluation. Covering an extensive and informative range of topics this textbook guides marketing and management students through methodology, interviewing and project techniques. Advertising students are shown how to create the most effective advertising briefs. It explores how the use of pictures, video, audio, and computer-related technologies can help the advertising team analyse consumer needs using the latest technology. It also focusses on online research and how the Internet can be used to conduct interviews and online focus groups. It discusses the ethical considerations in doing online qualitative research, including assessments of participant risk, the appropriateness of topics and obtaining informed consent. This book will be very useful for advanced undergraduate and graduate courses in advertising, account planning, management, consumer behavior and marketing communication.
Values, Lifestyles, and Psychographics by Lynn R. Kahle (Editor); Larry Chiagouris (Editor)
Call Number: HF5821 .V334 1997
ISBN: 9781317780823
Publication Date: 2014-03-05
This book showcases papers presented at the annual Advertising and Consumer Psychology Conference. The contributors -- active scholars with both practitioner and academic backgrounds -- share an interest in the general area of psychographics, values, and lifestyle in advertising. The interdisciplinary and international mix of authors bring a diverse perspective to this volume, which is divided into four nonorthogonal sections. The first section deals with theoretical and conceptual issues in advertising research, while the second section presents chapters devoted to improving methodology. The final two sections illustrate how value, lifestyle, and psychographic research have been used to understand differences among people. The first of these final two sections emphasizes differences among people at different times (commonly called trend research), and the second emphasizes differences among people across national boundaries. Collectively, these chapters illustrate how practical state-of-the-art research in values, lifestyles, and psychographics can be. Thoughtful consideration of values, lifestyles, and psychographics as they are manifested in quality research can improve advertising and marketing practice, and can help the business community deliver products and services that are more in line with consumers' needs.

Applequist, J. (2015). A mixed-methods approach toward primetime television direct-to-consumer advertising: Pharmaceutical fetishism and critical analyses of the commercial discourse of health care (Order No. 3715473). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. (1710718805).
Feng, Y. & Xie, Q. (2018). Measuring the content characteristics of videos featuring augmented reality advertising campaigns Journal of Research in Interactive Marketing, 12 (4), 489-508.
Hinson, R., Boateng, H., Renner, A., & Kosiba, J.P.B. (2019). Antecedents and consequences of customer engagement on Facebook: An attachment theory perspective. Journal of Research in Interactive Marketing, 13 (2), 204-226.
Kaur, N. (2015). A Combinatorial Tweet Clustering Methodology Utilizing Inter and Intra Cosine Similarity (Order No. 28140999). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. (2481591292).
King, W. I. (1932). Statistical Methods in Advertising Research. Journal of the American Statistical Association, 27(179), 319–321.
Lajante, M. M. P., Droulers, O., & Amarantini, D. (2017). How reliable are “state-of-the-art” facial EMG processing methods?: Guidelines for improving the assessment of emotional valence in advertising research. Journal of Advertising Research, 57(1), 28-37.
Madsen, M. J. (2018). A Q-Method Study of Visual Metaphors in Advertising (Order No. 28107597). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global: Business. (2442256301).
Malhotra, N. K., Schaller, T. K., & Patil, A. (2017). Common method variance in advertising research: When to be concerned and how to control for it. Journal of Advertising, 46(1), 193-212.
McNamara, J. J. (1941). A New Method for Testing Advertising Effectiveness Through Eye-Movement Photography (Order No. 27696763). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. (2311959685).
Sarstedt, M., Bengart, P., Shaltoni, A. M., & Lehmann, S. (2018). The use of sampling methods in advertising research: A gap between theory and practice. International Journal of Advertising, 37(4), 650-663.
Smith, J. A. (2008). Towards a more efficient method of data integration: An evaluation of the Data -Overlay approach to media planning (Order No. 3324220). Available from ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global. (304456723).
Starch, D. (1923). Research Methods in Advertising. The ANNALS of the American Academy of Political and Social Science, 110(1), 139–143.

Here are links to additional SU Libraries research guides potentially useful to researchers in advertising

A sampling of licensed Syracuse University Libraries databases often helpful for researchers in advertising

SAGE Research Methods Online
Information about research methods and design; includes Sage Datasets and Sage Cases, and the qualitative and quantitative methods series, "Little Green Books" and “Little Blue Books.”
SAGE Research Methods Cases
Teaching cases in which a variety of research methods are used in a number of social sciences subject areas. Cases are incorporated into SAGE Research Methods Online.
ABI/INFORM Collection
Index and abstracts to publications in business, management, and news, as well as reports and working papers; includes some full text.
Adforum
Audiovisual library of U.S. and international advertising sourced from numerous ad agencies, including award winning ads (Cannes Lion, Clio, Effie, One Show, etc.)
Advertising Age
Login required. Content from Advertising Age, including articles, videos, and podcasts.
Business Source Elite
Business and economics journals and magazine articles, many with full text, including content from the Harvard Business Review.
Communication Source
Abstracts of publications covering advertising, discourse, linguistics, media studies, speech-language pathology, and other communication fields.
WARC
Case studies of advertising, marketing communications and branding. Includes video of advertising campaigns.
MRI Simmons
50 simultaneous users. Consumer survey data for U.S. individuals and households, yielding cross-tabulated brand and product category preferences, demographic and psychographic data, and trends for use of digital and traditional media. Includes access to Brand Catalyst, a visualization platform for creating consumer personas that compare and predict these preferences.

Mintel Reports
Research reports covering consumer behavior and analysis of United States markets.
Business Insights: Essentials
Articles about business, company histories and profiles, financial and industry reports, SWOT analyses, and more.

Insider Intelligence eMarketer
Marketing, advertising, and consumer reports covering a range of industries, such as financial services, ecommerce, technology, and more. Includes content from both eMarketer and Business Insider Intelligence.

IBISWorld
Industry and company reports, industry outlook and risk rating reports, market share, and business environment profiles, and more, searchable by keyword or NAICS code.
Mergent Intellect
Information about U.S. and international public and private companies, company news, and key business ratios. Searchable by company, person, or industry. Includes content in D & B Million Dollar Database and offers FirstResearch industry profiles, Indeed job search, Nielsen demographics, and a residential directory.

SRDS Media Solutions
Directories for television and radio broadcasting, digital media, print newspapers and magazines, place-based and outdoor media. Also includes local market audience, programmatic media planning, and digital network information.

Statista
Data from both public and private sources related to a wide range of subjects, including consumers, digital markets, and companies; also includes forecasts, analysis, reports, and more.

SimplyAnalytics
Four simultaneous users. Users must also create their own personal profile.

Application for mapping, analytics, and data visualization of variables such as demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, technology, and public health. Includes data from Nielsen Claritas, Dun and Bradstreet, Simmons, GFK MRI, Easy Analytic Software (EASI), and Applied Geographic Solutions.
ProQuest News and Newspapers
Search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases including Alt-PressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Text visualization options for selected newspapers are available on the TDM Studio platform; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
Nexis Uni
News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.
Access World News
Current and past worldwide news sources, including international, local and regional newspapers, media transcripts, wire service content, college newspaper articles, magazines, blogs, video and audio.