Research Guides: Healthcare Administration: Home

Library Resources for BPS Healthcare Administration Students

Syracuse University Libraries are here to help support you and your academic success. This guide does not strive to be comprehensive, but instead provides quick access to some of the most helpful and widely used services and resources for students in the BPS Healthcare Administration program, including the following topics:

If you have any questions about how SU Libraries can support you and your work, we invite you to contact us using any of the methods listed in the "Need Help? Ask Us!" box on the left side of this guide. This guide is one of hundreds of research and course guides that SU Libraries staff have created to support you and your learning.

Featured Healthcare Administration ebooks (available online)

The Law of Healthcare Administration, Ninth Edition by Stuart Showalter
Publication Date: 2020

The Law of Healthcare Administration helps readers think through the issues, applying current legal principles and relevant judicial decisions. Author J. Stuart Showalter surveys the pressing issues that have resulted from two centuries of US policy, court decisions, and regulation. The Law of Healthcare Administration prepares future leaders for the many legal challenges their institutions will likely face.
Healthcare Management Engineering in Action by Alexander Kolker
Publication Date: 2024

The updated 2nd edition of Healthcare Management Engineering In Action provides a comprehensive exploration of healthcare management operations. Through a systematic comparison of predictive and analytic decision-making methodologies with traditional management approaches, the book employs case studies derived from real-world hospital and clinic scenarios. It addresses a spectrum of problem encompassing patient flow, capacity management, resource allocation, staffing and scheduling, statistical data analytics, and cost distribution among cooperating providers.
The Digital Transformation of the Healthcare System by Katarzyna Kolasa
Publication Date: 2023

This book examines how the digital revolution has reorganized the model of healthcare during the COVID-19 pandemic and argues for a continued paradigm shift to digital healthcare. Katarzyna Kolasa sets the vision of healthcare 5.0 that relieves the burden on limited healthcare resources and creates better health outcomes by switching the focus from treatment to prediction and prevention. She advocates for a patient-centric ecosystem that empowers patients to take control of their health via new knowledge-based technologies such as next-generation sequencing (NGS), nanotechnology, artificial intelligence and digital therapeutics.
Operations Management for Healthcare by Jan Vissers; Sylvia Elkhuizen; Nathan Proudlove
Publication Date: 2022

This fully updated edition of the bestselling textbook on Health Service Operations Management provides an invaluable reference for students and researchers in the fields of healthcare management, operations management and patient flow logistics. Featuring theoretical frameworks and a comprehensive set of practical case studies, this book also covers subjects such as hospital planning and supply chain management in healthcare, quality assurance and performance management. Healthcare managers work together with healthcare professionals in a multitude of challenging scenarios.
Systems Thinking and Sustainable Healthcare Delivery by Ben Y. F. Fong
Publication Date: 2022

This book discusses how to strengthen our healthcare systems and ensure sustainable community healthcare delivery by using systems thinking, an approach to understanding complex interactions of individual system elements in nature. This book will be of interest to those who are researching sustainable healthcare systems, as well as policymakers and healthcare professionals.
Shaping High Quality, Affordable and Equitable Healthcare by Nicola Burgess (Editor); Graeme Currie (Editor)
Publication Date: 2023

Healthcare systems around the world are struggling under intense pressure. Ageing populations, declining workforce, funding restraints and spending cuts have combined to produce a challenging environment to deliver a service that is fundamental to the lives of many. This book defines sustainable healthcare as an integrated system, where stakeholders work together to deliver high quality, safe patient care at the lowest possible cost and with a focus on outcomes that patients value.
The Business of Building and Managing a Healthcare Practice by Neil Baum; Jeffery Daigrepont; Marc J. Kahn
Publication Date: 2023

Building on the foundation of the previous edition, this book takes readers to the next level of management of medical practices for the 21st century. The road to becoming a physician is not an easy one to travel, nor does it become easier once a doctor completes his\her training. The Business of Building and Managing a Healthcare Practice simplifies the process of business management and provides the practicing physician with knowledge to be able to enjoy the business component of his\her medical practice.
Secure health : a guide to cybersecurity for healthcare managers by Hammad, Mohamed, et al. (Editors)
Publication Date: 2025

In today’s interconnected world, healthcare systems are increasingly turning to digital technologies to enhance patient care and optimize operations. However, this digital transformation presents significant challenges in guaranteeing the security and privacy of sensitive healthcare data. Secure Health: A Guide to Cybersecurity for Healthcare Managers confronts these challenges head-on, offering a comprehensive exploration of the latest advancements and best practices in securing digital health systems.

Top 10 (or So) Most Helpful Resources at SU Libraries

Libraries Search
A search tool for most of the Syracuse University Libraries’ collections and other resources beyond Syracuse University Libraries. Includes articles, books, journals, maps, sound recordings, archival materials, government documents, and more. Use for searching for articles. Narrow or expand results using multiple search refinements.

Journals and Other Periodicals
Search our browse our print and electronic journals, magazines, and newspapers available through the Syracuse University Libraries.

Databases A-Z
A list of databases available through the Syracuse University Libraries. Includes databases containing articles, images, data, and videos. Search for a database by title, subject area, or content type.

Research Guides
Discover research tools, explore the research process, and locate helpful resources for a wide variety of academic topics and specific courses. Click on the "By Type" tab to see additional options. Created by your friendly librarians at Syracuse University.

Subject Librarians
Looking for specialized resources for your class or major? Reach out to one of SU Libraries' many subject librarians to support your research and learning.

Course Reserves
These are books that your professor reserves for your class. Currently they are provided electronically if available.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)
Looking for a book, article, or other resource that is not be available at SU Libraries? Need a chapter scan from one of the print books we have in our collection? These services and others are available through interlibrary loan.

Research Strategies and Approaches
Wondering how to approach the research process or evaluate sources? Curious how to craft a thesis statement? Need help with citation styles such as APA and MLA? Then these videos and tutorials will help you develop strategies and approaches throughout the research process. Off-campus viewers will be prompted for NetID and password.

Working from Off Campus?
Check out our services and resources that help support your remote learning.

Glossary of Library Terminology
Confused by library terms? Consult this guide for help.

Off-Campus Access

Faculty, students, and staff who are currently affiliated with Syracuse University can access the vast majority of SU Libraries' online resources from off campus. You need only enter you NetID and password to gain access. When you're off-campus and you click on a link to an online resource from the SU Libraries website or catalog, a form will appear if authentication is required. Once you enter your NetID and password, you’ll be directed to the resource.

If you're unable to log in using your NetID and password, please confirm both your NetId and password on the SU Information Technology Services website. If login issues persist, please contact SU Libraries at (315) 443-4083 or libref@syr.edu, or visit our Working from Off Campus support page.

Interlibrary Loan

While SU Libraries provides access to a wide variety of books, articles, chapters, journals, and other resources, you'll sometimes find that you might need access to resources that aren't directly available at SU Libraries. At no cost to you, the Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery Service will help current SU faculty, students, and staff track down materials that are not available in Syracuse University Libraries.

Interlibrary loan requests can be submitted via the ILLiad portal, and first-time users must create an account by clicking on the "First Time Users" link. If you have any questions about interlibrary loan, please contact the ILL department at (315) 443-3725 or ill@syr.edu.