Civil & Environmental Engineering Resources

The latest addition to the Oxford Paperback Reference series, this A to Z is the most up-to-date dictionary of building, surveying, and civil engineering terms and definitions available.Written by an experienced team of experts in the respective fields, it covers in over 9,800 entries the key areas of construction technology and practice, civil and construction engineering, construction management techniques and processes, and legal aspects such as contracts and procurement. Illustrations complement entries where necessary and other extra features include a bibliography, appendices providing a list of commonly used conventions, formulae, and symbols, as well as entry-level web links, which are listed and regularly updated on a companion website.Its wide coverage makes it the ideal reference for students of construction and related areas, as well as for professionals in the field.

More than ever before, a compelling need exists for an encyclopedic resource about soil -- the rich mix of mineral particles, organic matter, gases, and soluble compounds that foster both plant and animal growth. Civilization depends more on the soil as human populations continue to grow and increasing demands are placed upon available resources. The Encyclopedia of Soils in the Environment is a comprehensive and integrated consideration of a topic of vital importance to human societies in the past, present, and future. This important work encompasses the present knowledge of the world's variegated soils, their origins, properties, classification, and roles in the biosphere. A team of outstanding, international contributors has written over 250 entries that cover a broad range of issues facing today's soil scientists, ecologists, and environmental scientists. This four-volume set features thorough articles that survey specific aspects of soil biology, ecology, chemistry and physics. Rounding out the encyclopedia's excellent coverage, contributions cover cross-disciplinary subjects, such as the history of soil utilization for agricultural and engineering purposes and soils in relation to the remediation of pollution and the mitigation of global climate change. This comprehensive, yet accessible source is a valuable addition to the library of scientists, researchers, students, and policy makers involved in soil science, ecology, and environmental science. Also available online via ScienceDirect - featuring extensive browsing, searching, and internal cross-referencing between articles in the work, plus dynamic linking to journal articles and abstract databases, making navigation flexible and easy. For more information, pricing options and availability visit www.info.sciencedirect.com.

Publisher's Note: Products purchased from Third Party sellers are not guaranteed by the publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. Take Advantage of the Latest Calculation Methods for Solving Problems in Every Major Area of Environmental Engineering The only hands-on reference of its kind, the Handbook of Environmental Engineering Calculations equips you with step-by-step calculation procedures covering virtually every aspect of environmental engineering. Designed to give you quick access to essential information, the updated Second Edition of this unique guide now presents the latest methods for solving a wide range of specific problems, together with worked-out examples that include numerical results for the calculations. Written by a team of environmental experts from both the private and public sectors, this easy-to-use reference provides you with complete calculations for water quality assessment and control...solid waste materials ... and air pollution control. Filled with 200 helpful illustrations, the Second Edition features: Hundreds of detailed examples and calculations with fully illustrated steps Calculations covering every aspect of environmental engineering Both SI and U.S. customary units presented throughout New to this edition: new sections on fuel cells and air toxic risk assessment Inside This State-of-the-Art Environmental Engineering Toolkit * Calculations of Water Quality Assessment and Control * Solid Waste Calculations * Air Pollution Control Calculations * Air Toxic Risk Assessment * Fuel Cell Technologies

Don't let the real test be your first test! This effective study guide is filled with hundreds of realistic practice questions to use in preparation for the latest edition of the Principles and Practice of Civil Engineering (PE-CIVIL) exam, given by the National Council of Examiners for Engineering and Surveying (NCEES). Detailed solutions, including equations and diagrams, are provided for every question. Civil Engineering PE Practice Exams: Breadth and Depth, Second Edition offers intensive test preparation and is the perfect companion to Civil Engineering PE All-in-One Exam Guide. COVERS ALL EXAM TOPICS, INCLUDING: Structural: materials, member design, design criteria Geotechnical: soil mechanics, foundations, excavation, seismic issues Water resources and environmental: hydraulics, hydrology, water supply and quality, wastewater treatment Transportation: capacity analysis, planning, freeways, multilane highways Construction: scheduling, estimating, quality control, safety