Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

Sociology: Books and Reference Sources

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO)

Sage The Natural Home for Authors, Editors & Societies

Sage Research Methods Online (SRMO). SRMO provides access to information about research methods compiled from a variety of Sage publications, including books/handbooks, articles, and the “Little Green Book” series, Quantitative Applications in the Social Sciences.  SRMO is searchable and browsable by author, and it includes a methods map, as well as video tutorials.  Results can be refined to focus on specific academic disciplines of interest.

Great resource for learning more about what comprises a specific research method, with a view into how that method was applied within actual published scholarly literature.

  • analysis of variance (ANOVA)
  • ethnography
  • focus groups
  • interviews
  • mixed methods
  • narrative analysis
  • qualitative research
  • quantitative data analysis
  • regression
  • sampling
  • social network analysis
  • structural equation modeling
  • surveys
  • time-series analysis
  • visual representations
  • ...and more

 

More Online Resources for Background Information

CQ Researcher
An encyclopedia addressing public policy issues.

Encyclopedia of Urban America [electronic resource] : the cities and suburbs
Details selected major cities, suburbs, people, places, concepts, contemporary issues, history, and development of urban America.

Oxford Reference Online
Full-text reference books in the arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Scholarly Encyclopedia

Print Sources for Background Information in Sociology

General

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences H41 .I58 2001 v. 1-26

Routledge International Encyclopedia of Women HQ 1115 .R69 2000 v. 1-4 REF
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History E 185 E54 2006 v. 1- 6 REF
Oxford Encyclopedia of Latinos and Latinas in the United States E 184 S75 O97 2005 v. 1-4


Specific to Cities

Encyclopedia of New York City   F128.3 .E75 1995 REF

Encyclopedia of New York State F119 .E53 2005 REF

Encyclopedia of Urban Cultures  HT108.5 .E53 2002 v. 1-4

 

Course reserves

Reserve books for Sociology are located on the first floor of the Bird Library. Online reserve materials can be accessed through the course Blackboard page.

Reference books

Don't forget that all campus libraries have reference collections with scholarly encyclopedias, atlases, and other publications that may provide useful background information for your research.

New books in Sociology