A primary source is a document, speech, or other type of evidence written, created or otherwise produced during the time under study. Examples include autobiographies, diaries, e-mail, interviews, letters, audio and film recordings, photographs, and websites and other online content.
A secondary source provides interpretation and analysis of primary sources. Secondary sources are one step removed from the original event. Examples may include books, journal articles, dissertations and theses, documentaries, and textbooks.
The majority of the items in SCRC are considered primary sources, although secondary sources--usually research using SCRC's primary source materials--may be found at SCRC as well.
Artifact: A physical object that is made or modified by human culture. (Example)
Blueprint: A blueprint is a reproduction of an architectural drawing and is largely used to refer to any architectural drawing regardless of process. We have many blueprints in different architectural collections including the Marcel Breuer collection which is digitized and can be found in our digital collections. (Example)
Bound Periodical: Bound periodicals are issues of journals or magazines arranged together between two hardcovers.
Broadside: A single sheet with information printed on one side that is intended to be posted, publicly distributed, or sold. (Example)
Clipping: If you see an archival archival material described as a 'clipping', it largely refers to an article or photograph cut from a newspaper or magazine. They can also be described as a newspaper clipping in our finding aids. (Example)
Ephemera: Materials, usually printed documents, created for a specific, limited purpose, and generally designed to be discarded after use. (Example)
Facsimile: A reproduction that simulates the appearance of the original as closely as possible. Facsimile can commonly be found in our rare books and printed materials.
(Fan)zine: A fanzine, commonly shortened to zine, refers to a limited-run and usually inexpensively produced serial or standalone publication produced by a single individual or a small cooperative.
Ledger: A document containing a record of debits, credits, and other financial transactions, typically organized into separate accounts. Ledgers can also be described as account books. (Example)
Manuscript: The dictionary definition of a manuscript is a handwritten document. "Manuscripts" can also refer to unpublished documents, prepublication drafts of published works, and collections of personal papers or corporate records. Within this broader definition, typescripts and inscriptions can also be considered manuscripts. Some manuscripts also include illustrations. The manuscript collections housed at SCRC include musical scores, maps, clay tablets, handwritten letters, telegrams, authors' drafts for books and articles, and more. (Example)
Memorabilia: Memorabilia refers to any non-manuscript item that has historical/emotional value which can be placed in an archival collection (such as coins, ticket stubs, jewelry, pottery, etc.). (Example)
Microfilm: Microfilm is high-resolution film used to hold highly reduced photographic images of documents and printed materials, especially when stored on reels. The SCRC uses microfilm to hold images of fragile materials such as newspapers and periodicals that are at risk of further deterioration such as The Daily Orange and the Black Voice Collection materials.
Oral History: Oral histories can be collected, recorded, and preserved in an number of ways and largely encompass interviews that records an individual's personal recollections of the past and historical events. At the SCRC, we have many examples of oral histories in formats such as written transcripts, audio or video recordings, and more. (Example)
Rare Books: There are many reasons a book may be rare. A rare book may be a book, or an edition of a book, of which very few copies still exist. A book can also be called rare when it is part of an important edition or has special physical characteristics, such as binding, provenance, inscription, or association with important previous owners. (Example)
Scrapbook: A scrapbook is a book in which various items (such as newspaper clippings or pictures) are collected. (Example)
Serial: A serial is a publication that is issued in parts indefinitely over time. Serials include periodicals, almanacs, annual reports, etc. (Example)
Tintype: A direct-positive photograph made on a thin sheet of metal. (Example)
Transcript: A transcript is a written, printed, or typed copy of dictated or recorded material (Example)
Typescript: A document produced using a typewriter.
Many of the definitions here are taken or adapted from the Society of American Archivists' Dictionary of Archives Terminology. Refer to this dictionary for additional terminology that you encounter at SCRC that you're unfamiliar with. For rare print materials, John Carter's ABC for Book Collectors, available online (8th edition) or in print in SCRC's Reading Room, is a useful source.
