Research Guides: Special Collections Research Strategies: More Resources For Research Help

Resources for General Research Help

Need more help researching the collections? Below are some resources from the SU Libraries that can be used for additional assistance.

Citation Guides
Creating a Works Cited list or Bibliography? Use this guide to make citations easy.
Faculty Resources
Library contact information, library services, research support, and teaching and classroom support can be found here.
SCRC Reference Assistance
Already familiar with our collections? Still confused on how to search at SCRC? Ask the reference librarians here.
Student Resources
Research assistance, information on borrowing library materials, library study space information, and technology assistance can all be found here.
SU Libraries Databases
Library databases available to all SU students.
SU Libraries Help/How-To Guides
Links to tutorials and guides to assist library users.
SU Libraries Subject Guides
View all the SU Library Subject Guides here. You can browse by subject or by author.

Use the links below to find more information relating to archival and special collections repositories!

ArchiveGrid
A searchable index of archive and special collections descriptions from thousands of archives, museums, and libraries.
New York State Newspaper Project
A compiled list of New York State newspapers in print and on microfilm and where to find them.
NUCMC
The Library of Congress National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections.
WATCH
A database of copyright information for writers, artists, and other creators of copyrighted materials compiled by the Harry Ransom Center at the University of Texas at Austin.

Find out what makes books "rare" or determine if you have a rare book with these web resources.

AbeBooks
Search thousands of booksellers and rare books at AbeBooks.
Antiquarian Booksellers' Association of America
An organization for dealers in rare and antiquarian books. On their website you can buy and sell rare books, find more information and history on rare and antiquarian books, and events through the organization.
WorldCat
WorldCat is the largest network of library content and services. Use WorldCat to search the collections of libraries in your area and around the world.
Your Old Books
Learn about what makes books rare in "Your Old Books," a publication of the Rare Books and Manuscripts Section of the American Library Association.