Skip to main content
Syracuse University Libraries

Mendeley: Create a Bibliography

Adding Citation Styles to Mendeley

How to add more citation styles to Mendeley

  1. In Mendeley Desktop use the View pull down menu from the Mendeley toolbar.
  2. Select Citation Styles and then click on more styles.
  3. In the pop-up window you will see your installed styles
  4. Click on the Get More Styles tab
  5. Search for the style you want in the search box.
  6. Select the style and click on download.
  7. Go back to the Installed tab.  Select the new style and click on Use this style to add it to your installed styles.

How to Create a Bibliography

Creating a bibliography can be done either in Mendeley Desktop or in Microsoft Word using the Mendeley Citation plug-

Mendeley Desktop

  • First select your citation style: 
    • From the Mendeley Desktop Toolbar, select View >> Citation Style.  Select your style or click on More Styles. 
  • Creating a bibliography: 
    • Method 2:  Highlight the references you want to include in Mendeley Desktop, then Drag and drop them from Mendeley Desktop your document. 
    • Method 1:  Select the references in Mendeley Desktop and right click. Select Copy, then select Formatted Citation.  Paste the citations into Word. 

Microsoft Word

  • This method takes the references you have previously inserted into your Word document, your in-text citations, and pulls those citations into a formatted bibliography. 
  • First select your citation style: 
    • From the Mendeley References toolbar in Word, select the desired citation style from the dropdown menu. If the style you need doesn't appear, go back to Mendeley Desktop and select the style you want to use.  
  • Insert the bibliography
    • Place your cursor in your Word document where you want the bibliography to appear, then in the Mendeley "References" toolbar, click "Insert Bibliography"

How to add more citation styles to your installed styles

  1. In Mendeley Desktop use the View pull down menu from the Mendeley toolbar.
  2. Select Citation Styles and then click on more styles.
  3. In the pop-up window you will see your installed styles
  4. Click on the Get More Styles tab
  5. Search for the style you want in the search box.
  6. Select the style and click on download.
  7. Go back to the Installed tab.  Select the new style and click on Use this style to add it to your installed styles.

Librarian

Emily Hart's picture
Emily Hart