Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Research Starting Points
Research Process Guide
For more information about the research process, review this guide. It includes:
1. Topics & Terms
2. Choosing Sources
3. Finding Information
4. Evaluating Sources
5. Citing Sources
How to Find Journal Articles
ACM Digital Library Conference proceedings, articles, books, reports, videos, and other publications from the Association for Computing Machinery (ACM). Searches can be expanded to include non-ACM resources.
Business Source Elite Business and economics journals and magazine articles, many with full text, including content from the Harvard Business Review.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts Index and abstracts to journal articles, books, research reports, and proceedings covering libraries, information science, technology, information management, and more.
MarketLine Company, country, industry and product -related reports, analysis, news and case studies .
Security Management Practices Best practices related to organizational security management.
ABI/INFORM Collection Index and abstracts to publications in business, management, and news, as well as reports and working papers; includes some full text.
eMarketer Marketing, advertising, and consumer reports related to media and ecommerce.
Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies : FAITS. Information technology reports covering subjects such as infrastructure, security, telecommunications, enterprise systems, vendors, and healthcare and government IT.
MarketResearch.com Academic Market research reports covering services, demographics, the food and beverage industry, medical and health care industry, technology & media and more.
Mintel Reports Research reports covering consumer behavior and analysis of United States markets.
Statista Data from both public and private sources related to a wide range of subjects, including consumers, digital markets, and companies; also includes forecasts, analysis, reports, and more.
Software-Defined Cloud Centers: Operational and Management Technologies and Tools by This practical text/reference provides an exhaustive guide to setting up and sustaining software-defined data centers (SDDCs). Each of the core elements and underlying technologies are explained in detail, often supported by real-world examples. The text illustrates how cloud integration, brokerage, and orchestration can ensure optimal performance and usage of data resources, and what steps are required to secure each component in a SDDC. The coverage also includes material on hybrid cloud concepts, cloud-based data analytics, cloud configuration, enterprise DevOps and code deployment tools, and cloud software engineering. Topics and features: highlights how technologies relating to cloud computing, IoT, blockchain, and AI are revolutionizing business transactions, operations, and analytics; introduces the concept of Cloud 2.0, in which software-defined computing, storage, and networking are applied to produce next-generation cloud centers; examines software-defined storage for storage virtualization, covering issues of cloud storage, storage tiering, and deduplication; discusses software-defined networking for network virtualization, focusing on techniques for network optimization in data centers; reviews the qualities and benefits of hybrid clouds, that bridge private and public cloud environments; investigates the security management of a software-defined data center, and proposes a framework for managing hybrid IT infrastructure components; describes the management of multi-cloud environments through automated tools, and cloud brokers that aim to simplify cloud access, use and composition; covers cloud orchestration for automating application integration, testing, infrastructure provisioning, software deployment, configuration, and delivery.This comprehensive work is an essential reference for all practitioners involved with software-defined data center technologies, hybrid clouds, cloud service management, cloud-based analytics, and cloud-based software engineering.
Publication Date: 2018-05-18
Truth from the Valley: A practical primer on IT management for the next decade by Management challenges faced by IT leaders in Silicon Valley will eventually be encountered by IT leaders everywhere. Successful Silicon Valley firms operate in radically different ways when compared with their conventional Fortune 500 counterparts. Valley firms rely almost exclusively on cloud-based business applications and cloud-computing resources to conduct daily business. In addition, they are increasingly relying on artificial intelligence and machine-learning tools to extract business information from vast quantities of data. Valley firms are operating on the leading edge of the changes taking place within the IT industry. In some cases, they are literally defining the leading edge of such changes! Truth from the Valley provides insight into ways in which people, process, and technology management challenges have been addressed by IT leaders in Silicon Valley. This book provides a comprehensive portrayal of the trends that will shape IT management practices in the next decade, and it challenges its readers to find ways of converting these challenges into opportunities that will enable their organizations to become more efficient, more impactful, and more business relevant in the future.
Publication Date: 2020-01-24
To search for additional titles, use the Summon search or the Classic Catalog.
iSchool Librarian: Brenna
Additional Contact Options