Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

Venture Capital Firms and Investors

Identify venture capital firms and investors using Libraries' resources

Search Strategies for Directory of Venture Capital Firms

The Directory of Venture Capital & Private Equity Firms, Domestic & International consists of listings of United States and international venture capital firms.

On the Quick Search page, you can search by keyword for firms or companies (which may appear in the firm’s profile under Portfolio Companies), and you can search by State, Country, or other listed fields. If you want to create lists of relevant firms, it is recommended that you use the Expert Search.

Sample Search

Below is a sample suggested search strategy to use when creating lists of firms with Expert Search. Because there is no controlled vocabulary when using Expert Search, use this search as a starting point and adapt (add or remove keywords) based on the keywords you discover in firm profiles and the relevancy of your results. Pay careful attention to how you construct your search, including placement of parentheses; Field selected; use of Boolean operators OR, AND, etc.

Expert Search:

  1. Switch Limit to First to No Limit
  2. Select open parenthesis
  3. Under Field, select Investment Criteria
  4. Use the Operations (All Words or Phrases) and Value field, as well as AND OR options to create a search such as the following: ( Investment Criteria ALL early OR Investment Criteria PHRASE early-stage OR Investment Criteria PHRASE pre-seed OR Investment Criteria ALL seed OR Investment Criteria PHRASE seed-stage OR Investment Criteria ALL startup OR Investment Criteria PHRASE start-up OR Investment Criteria ALL all )
  5. Select close parenthesis
  6. Select AND
  7. Select open parenthesis
  8. Under Field, select Geographic Preferences
  9. Use the Operations (All Words or Phrases) and Value field, as well as AND OR options to create a search such as the following: ( Geographic Preferences ALL north OR Geographic Preferences ALL northeast OR Geographic Preferences PHRASE east coast OR Geographic Preferences PHRASE united states OR Geographic Preferences ALL US OR Geographic Preferences ALL USA OR Geographic Preferences ALL all )
  10. Select close parenthesis
  11. Select AND
  12. Under Field, select Industry Group Preferences
  13. Use the Operations (All Words or Phrases) and Value field, as well as AND OR options to create a search such as the following: ( Industry Group Preferences ALL tech OR Industry Group Preferences ALL technology OR Industry Group Preferences ALL software OR Industry Group Preferences ALL saas OR Industry Group Preferences ALL cloud OR Industry Group Preferences ALL media OR Industry Group Preferences ALL network OR Industry Group Preferences ALL internet OR Industry Group Preferences ALL app OR Industry Group Preferences ALL applications OR Industry Group Preferences ALL mobile OR Industry Group Preferences ALL digital OR Industry Group Preferences ALL web OR Industry Group Preferences ALL website OR Industry Group Preferences ALL computing )

NOTE: If you want to limit by Industry Group Preferences, you will need to try a few searches in the database and note the industry terms listed in firm profiles first. You could also try running a basic keyword search for a company in your industry to see whether it returns any investment firm results and could then note the industry group keywords. You can also browse the Industry Preference Index in an older print book version of the database to get ideas of industry terms to use.

Saving and Exporting

Saving Searches

You can save your search parameters within the database by going to Save Search and naming your search. Find your saved searches by going to View Saved Searches. Keep in mind that all saved searches are visible to all Syracuse University users of the database.

Saving Lists

You can save your list within the database by going to Save Results and naming your list. To find your saved lists, go to My Searches. Keep in mind that all saved searches are visible to all Syracuse University users of the database.

Exporting Firm Profiles

When you are viewing a firm profile, you can export an MS Word version of the profile by going to Export Now for download options. Under Download Results, select Active Record and MS Word.

Exporting Lists of Firms

Once you have created a list of firms, browse the firm profiles in your list of results to determine whether the list is likely to be relevant to you. If you would like to export the list, go to Export Now for download options. Under Download Results, select All Results List and your preferred format (TXT, CSV, or MS Word). This will provide you with a list of the firm names, but no other information. Download Contact Sheet or Address is not an option that is available via our institutional level subscription.