Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Links on this resource guide page provide free, open and public access to the most useful Federal documents and publications from the US Government's Federal Depository Library Program (FDLP) available through our library.
The "Basic Collection"
Publications included in this "Basic Collection" are vital sources of information that support the public's right to know about the workings and essential activities of their Federal Government and are made accessible to everyone at any time 24-7.
A successor to CFDA.gov, provides detailed, public descriptions of Federal assistance listings available to State and local governments (including the District of Columbia); Federally recognized Indian tribal governments, Territories (and possessions) of the United States; domestic public, quasi- public, and private profit and nonprofit organizations and institutions; specialized groups, and individuals.
Ben's Guide to U.S. Government for Kids
Ben's Guide is a service of the Government Publishing Office (GPO), designed to inform students, parents, and educators about the Federal Government
Budget of the United States Government
Contains the budget message of the President, information about the President's budget proposals for a given fiscal year, and other budgetary publications issued throughout the fiscal year.
Catalog of U.S. Government Publications
The CGP is the finding tool for federal publications that includes descriptive records for historical and current publications and provides direct links to those that are available online.
To search for eBooks in the CGP use the keyword phrase "gov ebook" in the search box and then click on the purl link in the far right hand column.
Code of Federal Regulations
This is the annual edition of the general and permanent rules published in the Federal Register by departments and agencies of the Federal Government.
Compilation of Presidential Documents
The official publications of materials released by the White House Press Secretary.
Links to all aspects of Congress at your fingertips. The official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public from the Library of Congress.
Congressional Record (daily)
The Congressional Record is the daily official record of the proceedings and debates of the United States Congress.
Constitution of the United States of America: Analysis and Interpretation
Also known as the Constitution Annotated, it is the legal analysis and interpretation of the United States Constitution based primarily on Supreme Court cases.
Published monthly by the Council of Economic Advisors for the Joint Economic Committee, Economic Indicators provide economic information on GDP, income, employment, production, business activity, prices, money, credit, security markets, and more.
Economic Report of the President
An annual report which gives an overview of the nation’s economic progress using text and extensive data appendices.
Explore Census Data
This is the source for the current U.S. Census data for population, economic, housing, and geographic information and data about the United States, Puerto Rico, and the Island areas. This NEW website replaces American Fact Finder.
The daily publication of the rules, proposed rules, and notices of the Federal agencies and organizations along with executive orders.
An online database that gives free access to official publications from all three branches of the United States Government
Occupational Outlook Handbook
The Occupational Outlook Handbook is a resource for occupational and career information, providing profiles on a majority of jobs in the United States.
Offical Congressional Directory
Provides short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district, their committee memberships, room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress. Also lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other Federal departments and agencies.
Public Papers of the Presidents of the United States
The official publication of the President’s addresses, writings, and remarks.
Social Security Handbook
The resource for all Social Security questions.
United States Code
The permanent and general laws of the United States are divided by broad subjects into fifty-one titles.
Uniter States Government Manual
This is the official handbook provided by the federal government on the agencies of the three branches of government.
United States Reports
Contains the Supreme Court’s opinions.
United States Statutes at Large
Containing the permanent laws – public and private – that were enacted during each session of Congress. 1951 - 2011
A site created to organize timely, needed government information and services and make them accessible anytime, anywhere.
SU OPEN databases for Federal Government Information
Other Basic Government Titles