Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

Maps & Cartographic resources: Home

Come to the Map Room and travel the world. The collection has cartographic and reference materials in a variety of formats that cover the entire Earth.

The Map Collection

Panoramic view of the Map Room

The Map Room is now open regular hours starting June 15th.

The Collections

The Library's Map Room is the location for cartographic materials in a variety of formats. With a collection of over 200,000 sheet maps, 5000 atlases, 80,000 aerial photos, and 50,000 maps in microform, the map collection also has an expanding collection of maps in a digital format. The Map Room also has a collection of Sanborn fire insurance atlases, along with a teaching collection of globes and wall maps and has an extensive reference collection of gazetteers, place-name guides, geographical dictionaries, encyclopedias, bibliographies, directories, and guide-books.

The Map Room has three large worktables for patrons to use. Scans of maps in print or from microform can be made from the two computers located in the workstation area next to the 3rd floor service desk.

Also use the Virtual Map Room Tour to discover the what kinds of cartographic collections can be found in the Map Room.

Searching for a Map or Atlas in the collection

The maps, atlases and other cartographic materials are cataloged in the Classic Catalog or in SUMMON. A member of the staff will be glad to assist you with any questions you may have regarding the collections or finding the materials you need.

To search only the map collection start by using the Classic Catalog and then use the Advanced Search tab. Scroll down to Location and select E.S. Bird Library – MAPS from the drop down menu. Now enter your search subject terms and place names, etc. into the search boxes at the top to find maps and atlases.

Circulation

Most maps can be circulated or checked out at the Maps/Documents Service Desk on the 3rd floor. A valid SU or SUNY-ESF ID is required. Atlases, Reference titles, and aerial photographs do not circulate. Please look for the map of the floor plan of the Map Room when you enter the collection where the various collections are located and a complete list of items that circulate.

Map Room Hours - Fall Semester

Fall : Aug 26 - Dec 13

The map room is open the same hours as the third floor.

  • Monday - Thursday : 8 am - Midnight
  • Friday : 8 am - 10 pm
  • Saturday : 10 am - 10 pm
  • Sunday : 10 am - 2 am

Other LibGuides of interest

What's in the Map Collection

Atlases

  •  A wide range of atlases of the world and foreign national atlases, current and historical atlases of the US and New York State in paper and microform are available.
  •  Extensive Sanborn Atlas collection: Nation-wide digital coverage online (1867-1970). Additional years (1960-1990) on microfilm for MA, VT, CT, RI, PA, NJ, DC, and NY and NYC as well as paper for NYC (1916-1980).

Topographic Maps

  •  Topographic series providing coverage for most areas of the world at a scale of at least 1:250,000
  •  Comprehensive coverage of the United States, including all published U.S.G.S. topo maps at 1:250,000, 1:100,000, 1:62,500 and 1:24,000
  •  Coverage for Canada and European countries at 1:50,000
  •  Current editions of NOAA and NOS charts

Thematic Maps

  •  Coverage of all parts of the world, especially North America, the United States and major cities. Subjects include: road maps, physical and biological sciences, human, cultural and political geography, economics, forestry, agriculture, manufacturing, technology, communications, trade, the military, and historical geography.
  •  Extensive coverage for New York state and the city of Syracuse.

Contact

Profile Photo
John Olson
Contact:
358 Bird Library

Individual appointments for in-depth reference inquiries are also welcome through MS Teams or Zoom.
315.443.4818
Social Media: Twitter Page