Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Florence Resources: LIT

For basic background information, advertisement collections, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

• Berg Fashion Library
  Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. Offers fully cross-searchable access to an expanding range of Berg content collections, including the Berg encyclopedia of world dress and fashion online, e-books, reference works, images, and more.
   
• Food Cultures of the World Encyclopedia
  Introduces food culture from numerous countries and cultures around the world, including some from remote and unexpected peoples and places.
   
• Brill's New Pauly
  Aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history.
   
• Loeb Classical Library
  Classic texts in Greek and Latin with English translations on facing pages.
   
• The Oxford Companion to World Mythology
  Includes essays on the world's major mythological traditions, along with retellings of better-known myths, and entries on mythological types, motifs, and figures.
   
• The Routledge Handbook of Greek Mythology
  Reference book on ancient Greek mythology, which includes documentation of the ancient sources, maps, and genealogical tables.
   
• Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender
  Addresses issues of sex and gender at the personal and the social level; examines issues of identity, status, class, ethnicity, race, and nation; of sexuality and the body; of social institutions and the structures of representation.
   
• Encyclopedia of Sex and Gender: Men and Women in the World's Cultures
  The central aim of this encyclopedia is to give the reader a comparative perspective on issues involving conceptions of gender, gender differences, gender roles, relationships between the genders, and sexuality.
   
• A Dictionary of Film Studies
  Covers all aspects of film studies, including terms, concepts, debates, and movements in film theory and criticism, national, international and transnational cinemas, film history, film movements and genres, film industry organizations and practices, and key technical terms and concepts in 500 detailed entries.
   
• Filmakers Library Online
  Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum, race and gender studies, human rights, globalization and global studies, multiculturalism, international relations, criminal justice, the environment, bioethics, health, political science and current events, psychology, arts, literature, and more.
   
• Queer Cinema in Europe (eBook)
  Contributors to this volume resituate discussions of queer representation and desire within a uniquely diverse and divergent European context.
   
• Queer Cinema in the World (eBook)
  Explores how queer filmmaking intersects with international sexual cultures, geopolitics, and aesthetics to disrupt dominant modes of world making.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

• JSTOR
  Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
   
• ProQuest
  A collection of databases covering a broad range of subject areas such as: business and economics; medical and health; news and world affairs; science; education; technology; humanities; social sciences; psychology; literature; law; and, women's studies.
   
• FIAF: International Index to Film Periodicals Plus
  Bibliographical resource offering coverage of hundreds of the world's foremost academic and popular film journals right up to the present day.
   
• Film & Television Literature Index
  Indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
   
• Film Literature Index
  Annually indexes 150 film and television periodicals from 30 countries cover-to-cover and 200 other periodicals selectively for articles on film and television.
   
• Performing Arts Periodicals Database
  Covers a broad spectrum of the arts and entertainment industry-including dance, film, television, drama, theater, stagecraft, musical theater, broadcast arts, circus performance, comedy, storytelling, opera, pantomime, puppetry, magic and more.
   
• Play Index
  Covers the works of contemporary playwrights, including new editions or translations.
   
• GenderWatch
  Full-text publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas.
   
• LGBT+ Source
  Premier resource to the world's literature regarding gay, lesbian, bisexual and transgender issues. Designed for academic, professional and public communities.
   
• Contemporary Women's Issues
  Full-text articles on a broad range of women's issues, bringing together such disciplines as sociology, psychology, health, education, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, aging, gerontology and human rights.
   
• WWD.com
  Women's Wear Daily Online is the fashion industry's daily news source. It covers the entire gamut of fashion: business issues, fashion trends, retailing developments, international ready-to-wear, couture presentations, and market overviews.

You can also contact the SU Libraries while you are abroad, including via:

Text: 315-464-0744

Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.

Phone: 315-443-4083

E-mail: libref@syr.edu