Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
CLA: Finding Background Information
For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:
- Brill's New Pauly
Aid for the study of Greek and Roman culture and its multifaceted presence in all periods of European and, since the Early Modern period, world history.
- Loeb Classical Library
Classic texts in Greek and Latin with English translations on facing pages.
- The Oxford Companion to World Mythology
Includes essays on the world's major mythological traditions, along with retellings of better-known myths, and entries on mythological types, motifs, and figures.
- The Routledge Handbook of Greek Mythology
Reference book on ancient Greek mythology, which includes documentation of the ancient sources, maps, and genealogical tables.
CLA: Finding Articles
For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:
Full-text archive of scholarly publications in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
- Annee Philologique
Specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations.
- ATLA Religion Database
An essential resource for theology students and researchers seeking information pertaining to social sciences, history and humanities.
- Art Index Retrospective
Covering content for more than 55 years of art journalism, this retrospective resource includes articles, interviews, reviews and much more from over 600 publications.
- International Bibliography of Art
Provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship within the following broad parameters: European art from late antiquity to the present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945 ; Visual arts in all media, plus decorative and applied arts, museum studies and conservation, archaeology and classical studies, antiques and architectural history, and related fields.