PSY - Syracuse Abroad - Syracuse Florence Resources - Research Guides at Syracuse University Libraries

PSY: Finding Background Information

For basic background information, overviews, and links to other related resources, check out these reference sources:

Oxford Dictionary of Psychology
Covers all branches of psychology, including psychoanalysis, psychiatry, criminology, neuroscience, and statistics.
Cultural Psychology of Human Values (eBook)
Provides conceptual and theoretical elaborations on human values from a cultural psychological approach.
Cross-Cultural Psychology (eBook)
Spans all areas of cross-cultural psychology, with particular emphasis on developmental psychology, personality, and social psychology.

For articles from journals, newspapers, and other periodicals, check out these article and abstract databases:

PsycINFO
International literature in psychology and related behavioral and social sciences, including psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, gerontology, and linguistics.
PsycARTICLES
Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology in areas including animal behavior, cognition, memory, neuroscience, perception, physiological psychology, psycholinguistics, psychometrics, social and personality psychology.
MIT CogNet
Growing, searchable collection of full-text books, journals, reference works, OpenCourseWare links and conference materials in the area of cognitive science.
ScienceDirect
Full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters in scientific, technical and medical fields.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Full-text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic and minority press in America.
Race Relations Abstracts
Includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to race relations, including ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline.