Research Guides: School Media Resources: Education Resources

Contents of this Databases Page

Please scroll or use these links to jump to the content below.

Best Databases for Education Research

Education Source
Index and abstracts to articles, books, and papers in many areas of education; includes some full text and retrospective indexing back to the 1930s.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) index and abstracts to educational literature since 1966, including links to full text of RIE (Resources in Education) documents.
ERIC (ProQuest)
Click on the Thesaurus to find the best subject terms for your topic. Times out after 30 minutes of inactivity
Mindscape Commons
Interactive virtual reality and 2D video collection for skills training in social work, counseling, psychology, and mental health.
PsycInfo
Index to literature in psychology, and related fields, such as psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, gerontology, and linguistics; published by the American Psychological Association.
Taylor & Francis Online Journals
Journals covering humanities, behavioral sciences, business, economics, education, engineering, the environment, language, literature, physical sciences, politics/international relations, social sciences, and more.

Additional Databases covering Education

EBSCO ebooks
Books covering a wide range of subjects, from many publishers
Health and Psychosocial Instruments
IGI Global InfoSci-Educational Science and Technology
IGI Global books on information science and educational technologies.
JSTOR
Oxford Bibliographies Online
Select Education or search on all subjects. Includes bibliographies related to disability studies and psychology, as well as all aspects of education.
POLITICO Pro
POLITICO Pro is a policy news reporting service that provides in-depth, real-time, and archived policy news. POLITICO Pro provides coverage of 15 policy areas spanning the entire policy landscape, including Education.
Primary Research Group
Research reports, surveys, and benchmarking studies on aspects of higher education, law firms, and libraries.
ProQuest Social Sciences
Includes: Social Services Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, ProQuest Sociology, PAIS International, ERIC, and more.
PsycArticles
All of the PsycARTICLES content is available through PsycINFO.
PsycInfo
PsycTESTS
PubMed
SAGE Knowledge
Books, reference works, handbooks, in the social sciences, from Sage and CQ Press.
SAGE Research Methods Online
Scopus
Multidisciplinary. Covers teaching in the STEM fields.
Skillsoft
Users are required to authenticate with NetID and password. Not compatible with Internet Explorer browser as of April 4, 2022.

Books and videos covering business, engineering, information technology, well-being and more.
Web of Science
Multidisciplinary. Includes cited references and journal analytics.
WorldCat (FirstSearch)
Use WorldCat primarily for finding books in all subjects.

Streaming Videos Databases

Psychotherapy.net
Streaming video related to social work, psychotherapy, and counseling. Content created by Psychotherapy.net. Videos include counseling sessions and demonstrations, interviews, and other content for training mental health professionals. Browsable by therapeutic approach, issue, expert, and population.

Academic Video Online
Counseling and Therapy in Video
https://library.syracuse.edu/blog/collection-spotlight-counseling-and-therapy-in-video/
Disability in the Modern World: History of a Social Movement
https://library.syracuse.edu/blog/collection-spotlight-disability-in-the-modern-world/
Education in Video
Kanopy
Visual History Archive (Shoah Foundation and ProQuest)

Video, DVD, Film, and Music Collections in the Library

Databases with an International Focus

Africa-Wide Information
American Bibliography of Slavic East European, and Eurasian Studies: ABSEEES
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Chicano Database
China Academic Journals by CNKI
You can select only the education portion of this database from the left column.
DBpia 디비피아 (Full-text database of Korean journals)
Korean scholarly journals covering humanities, social sciences, sciences, and interdisciplinary areas.
Index Islamicus
Index of periodicals, books, and other collections in European languages covering Islam, the Middle East, and the entire Muslim world, and arts and humanities, history, and social sciences topics, from 1906 to present.
KRPIA
Middle Eastern and Central Asian Studies
Index to research related to the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa, from 1900 to present.
PAIS Index

Citation Databases

Learn about your scholarly impact on the Scholarly Impact Guide.

Google Scholar
Be sure to set up your scholar preferences for finding SU owned content.
Scopus
The world's largest interdisciplinary literature database. Records from 1996 forward include links to both cited and citing publications.
Web of Science
Search for citations to articles in top-ranked, peer-reviewed journals.

Dissertations and Theses

How to Access American Educational Research Association (AERA) Papers

AERA Online Paper Repository is an open access clearinghouse, with abstracts, of all scientific presentations given at AERA annual meetings since 2010.

How to Access to the Repository

If you are not an AERA member or have not previously registered, click here to register for free access. Click on Activate or Create My Account. Once you register, you will receive an email with login information that will allow you to use the repository through the Repository User Login.

You do NOT have to be a member to access the full text articles.

Research Repositories

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
The comprehensive database of open access scientific and scholarly journals.
American Educational Research Association (AERA) Online Paper Repository
AERA Online Paper Repository is an open access clearinghouse, with abstracts, of all scientific presentations given at AERA annual meetings since 2010. More than half include full-text papers voluntarily contributed to the repository by annual meeting presenters.
You do NOT have to be a member to access the full text articles; however, you do need to register.
Open Knowledge Repository - World Bank
The World Bank Open Knowledge Repository (OKR) is The World Bank’s official open access repository for its research outputs and knowledge products.
Eldis
Eldis is an online information service providing free access to relevant, up-to-date and diverse research on international development issues. The database includes over 40,000 summaries and provides free links to full-text research and policy documents.
Directory of Open Access Journals
Free, full text, quality controlled scientific and scholarly journals. Aims to cover all subjects and languages.
ROAD: Directory of Open Access Scholarly Resources
Useful for finding open access journals and their content.
How to use: Add title or subject words to search box. The results may be narrowed down using the features in the left column. Select a title. In the the new window, click on the URL in the top box in the right column to view articles from this journal.
re3data.org
Explore a global registry of data repositories by subject, content type, or country.
SHARE
SHARE is an interdisciplinary science and social sciences initiative. Its aim is to make research widely “accessible, discoverable, and reusable” by sharing research activity across its life cycle and to encourage collaboration and discovery. Creative works include, but are not limited to data sets, software, as well as more traditional works, such as preprints, published articles, dissertation and theses, all freely available.
Using the Advanced Search will allow you to search and filter your results by type of output.