Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

Latin American Studies: Books & Primary Source Materials

Helpful Key Words and Subject Terms

There are a number of different collections on the SU Campus that may be useful for your research in Latin American Studies.  To search for books and other sources within the SU Libraries' catalog, try a subject headings search using some of the terms listed below, for example.   Also search the Libraries' catalog subject headings for individual countries such as Brazil, or ethnic groups such as Garifuna.

  • Latin America
  • Hispanic Americans
  • West Indies
  • specific Latin American countries
  • social sciences topics
  • humanities topics
  • maps
  • government documents

SU Libraries Databases for Primary Sources

Hathi Trust Digital Library
HathiTrust Digital Library is the product of the HathiTrust, a partnership of major research institutions and libraries working together to preserve our cultural record of print materials.

Reference Book - Latin American Studies

Mexico: A Global Studies Handbook cover

New Book in Latin American Studies

Selected Printed Works in Latin American Studies - Syracuse University Libraries' Special Collections Research Center

Reference books

Don't forget that all campus libraries have reference collections with scholarly encyclopedias, atlases, and other publications that may provide useful background information for your research.

Manuscripts on Latin American topics - Syracuse University Libraries' Special Collections Research Center

 Carlos Davila, Chilean diplomat, journalist, author. https://library.syr.edu/digital/guides/d/davila_c.htm

 Larry Allen, American journalist specializing in Latin America, https://library.syr.edu/digital/guides/a/allen_l.htm 

 Clifford Wight collection re: Diego Rivera  https://library.syr.edu/digital/guides/w/wight_rivera.htm

Grove Press Records Collection  https://library.syr.edu/digital/guides/g/grove_press.htm

SU's literacy collections (e.g. Laubach, LVA) have material relating to literacy, and teaching of same, in Mexico and other Latin American countries.