Research Guides: Latin American Studies: Databases

Core and Related Databases for Latin American Studies

Use the Database tab in the red box on the SU Libraries' web site and click on the "browse databases" link. This will lead you to a page where the databases are arranged into broad subject areas.

On that page, scroll down to the Social Sciences and click on the "Latin American Studies" link. That will lead you to a list of the databases on Latin American Studies:

Chicano Database
Index to materials on Mexican-American topics 1960 to the present, produced by the Ethnic Studies Library at the University of California, Berkeley. Includes coverage of Latinx experience, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants,
Dialnet - Universidad de la Rioja
Spanish-language journals covering the arts, humanities, social sciences, sciences, technology, and law. Access provided by the Universidad de La Rioja in Spain.
Digitalia Hispanica
Books and journals in Spanish, French, Portuguese, and Catalan covering arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
HAPI Online
Index to articles, book reviews, documents, literary works, covering Latin America, the Caribbean, Hispanics and Latinos in the United States; a project of the Latin American Institute, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA).
Latino Literature
Plays, prose, and poetry by Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican and other Latin writers.

HLAS Online: Handbook of Latin American Studies
Handbook of Latin American Studies provides an index to social science and humanities publications in the field of Latin American studies.

News Databases

Latin American

Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
Latinnews
Latin American news sources and reports covering events, the economy, security, and more.

General Newspaper Databases

Access World News
Current and past worldwide news sources, including international, local and regional newspapers, media transcripts, wire service content, college newspaper articles, magazines, blogs, video and audio.
Nexis Uni
News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.
PressReader
Current local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.

Other Related Databases

Economist Intelligence Unit
Reports, analysis, and data from the Economist Intelligence Unit related to the industries, and the economy in numerous countries.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Modern Language Association bibliography of publications related to language, literature, folklore, and linguistics.
Project Muse
Journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics, published by Johns Hopkins University Press.
Scopus
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities, includes Scopus AI.

Watch for the SULinks icon

If you see this next to the record for an article in an SU Libraries database, click on it to see if the full-text is available online.

Argentina

PLACA Photo Gallery page

Open Access Sources

SURFACE, the Syracuse University Research Facility And Collaborative Environment, is a full-text, multi-media online database that provides open access to the extensive and diverse array of scholarly, professional, scientific, and creative output produced at Syracuse University.

Latin American Open Archives Portal

The Latin American Open Archives Portal is a project of the Latin Americanist Research Resources Project - LARRP, in collaboration with the Latin American Network Information Center - LANIC, to improve access to social sciences grey literature produced in Latin America.

Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ)
The aim of DOAJ is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.