Research Guides: Sociology: Journals, Databases, and Dissertations

Core literature databases for Sociology

AgeLine
Index to articles, book chapters, reports, dissertations, and video related to aging, from health sciences, social, economic, and policy perspectives.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
GenderWatch
Articles, news stories, books and reports and archival content focusing on gender.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
ProQuest Social Sciences
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in political science, education, sociology, psychology, public affairs, linguistics, economics, and criminal justice.
Scopus
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
Social Services Abstracts
Index and abstracts to research on social work, policy, services, and related areas.
Sociological Abstracts
Index and abstracts to books and journal articles about sociology, social work, aging, gerontology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy and other social sciences.
Sociology Database
Journals covering sociology and social work.
Web of Science
Abstract and citation database covering numerous fields in arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences.

Other important databases

PsycInfo
Index to literature in psychology, and related fields, such as psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, gerontology, and linguistics; published by the American Psychological Association.
ERIC (EBSCO)
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) index and abstracts to educational literature since 1966, including links to full text of RIE (Resources in Education) documents.
Race Relations Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles covering race relations, ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and more.

Dissertation Databases

ProQuest Dissertations and Theses @ Syracuse University
Dissertations and theses from Syracuse University, from 1870 to the present.
ProQuest Dissertations and Theses Global
Index to dissertations and theses from around the world rom 1743 to the present day and with full text for many primarily from 1997.

Sociology Department Dissertations

Many Syracuse University Sociology dissertations are accessible through SURFACE ("Syracuse University Research Facility and Collaborative Environment") or through the Libraries' database
Dissertations and Theses @ Syracuse University.

Find E-Journals

You can use the SU Libraries' E-Journal Locator to search our directory of over 28,000 titles.

American Sociological Review

SU Libraries' journals in print

Open Access Journals

The aim of the Directory of Open Access Journals is to increase the visibility and ease of use of open access scientific and scholarly journals thereby promoting their increased usage and impact.

Sociologica
Sociologica is an on-line international journal of sociology, published by the Department of Arts of the University of Bologna, in partnership with «Associazione culturale Sociologica».
The Socjourn
Founded January 28th, 2010, the Socjournal is a new media journal intended to offer sociologists a window into the world of new media communications.

SURFACE

Syracuse University's major initiative in open access and preservation of scholarly and creative output emanating from the University is the SU Libraries' hosted database SURFACE ("Syracuse University Research Facility and Collaborative Environment")