Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Find Articles Using Databases
Databases are great resources that collect and let you search for articles and scholarly research on a wide range of subjects, time periods, and publication types. The Syracuse Libraries hosts hundreds of these databases, providing you access to thousands of resources electronically.
For some general research resources, there are some multidisciplinary databases that can help get you started:
- ProQuest: A recommended starting point, covering over 160 subject areas and publications ranging from popular magazines to scholarly journals.
- JSTOR: A good resource for locating more historical scholarly articles on subjects such as the arts and humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
- Nexis Uni: A full-text database, providing access to hundreds of national and regional newspapers, as well as business information and legal cases.
- Access World News: An international newspaper database, offering selected articles from around the world and options to browse by country or region.
For more subject-specific resources, you can also search our databases by subject area or type. These list our databases that are more focused on a specific subject area, and are great if you are looking for more in-depth information on a topic.
Can't Find the Article You Want?
If you are in a database and find an article that is not in full-text (in other words, the whole article is not there), follow these simple steps to find it!
- Click on the icon, which will search all of our resources to see if the article is available online from a different database, or in print in the physical Libraries themselves.
- If after checking SULinks you discover that we do not have access to this article, you can request it through ILLiad, our interlibrary loan system. Interlibrary loan is a service in which we borrow items for you from other libraries for free! If you don't have an account, go to ILLiad, follow the link for "First Time Users" and fill in the form to create a new account. You can then start using ILLiad to request the article you need. For more information, please contact our Interlibrary Loan department at email@example.com or 315-443-3725.
You can also contact the SU Libraries in a variety of ways, including in person at our service desks or via:
Chat: Select the "Chat" link on our website.
Off-Campus Access (EZProxy)
To access our databases off-campus, you will need to log in using your NetID and password.
For those who are affiliated with SU but do not have a NetID, enter your 10-digit SUID number as the NetID and enter your last name (all lowercase) as the password.
If you are having difficulties accessing our resources off-campus, please also see our EZproxy troubleshooting guide.