The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Globalization by Below is a brief list of some of the electronically available reference books in the field of political science. For more, search the CREDOreference or Oxford Reference Online databases.
American Presidential Campaigns and Elections by
Presidential campaigns and elections provide the drama and substance of America's democratic process. As democracy in action, they punctuate our nation's history in precise intervals, capturing the issues, the ideas, and the mood of the nation every four years. Every/campaign follows a similar format: candidates jockey for selection, nominations are made, candidates and party leaders hit the trail, and voters render their decision on Election Day. Yet despite this familiar process, every campaign is unique, featuring colorful personalities and unexpected events. This fully illustrated reference is packed with facts and information on every campaign from the election of 1788-89 through the hotly contested election of 2000. Each entry traces in detail the background and results of the election, provides biographical information on every presidential and vice-presidential candidate, and offers state-by-state tallies of every election. The set also features hundreds of rarely seen documents associated with the campaigns.
The Cambridge History of Eighteenth-Century Political Thought by
This major work of academic reference provides a comprehensive overview of the development of western political thought during the European Enlightenment. Written by a distinguished team of international contributors, this Cambridge History is the latest in a sequence of volumes that is now firmly established as the principal reference source for the history of political thought. Every major theme in eighteenth-century political thought is covered in a series of essays at once scholarly and accessible, and the essays are complemented by extensive guides for further reading, and brief biographical notes of the major characters in the text, including Rousseau, Montesquieu and David Hume. Of interest and relevance to students and scholars of politics and history at all levels from beginning undergraduate upwards, this volume chronicles one of the most exciting and rewarding of all periods in the development of western thinking about politics, man (and increasingly woman), and society.
The Cambridge History of Twentieth-Century Political Thought by
This major work of academic reference provides a comprehensive overview of the development of political thought from the late nineteenth to the end of the twentieth century. Written by a distinguished team of international contributors, this Cambridge History, first published in 2003, covers the rise of the welfare state and subsequent reactions to it, the fascist and communist critiques of and attempted alternatives to liberal democracy, the novel forms of political organisation occasioned by the rise of a mass electorate and new social movements, the various intellectual traditions from positivism to post-modernism that have shaped the study of politics, the interaction between western and non-western traditions of political thought, and the challenge posed to the state by globalisation. Every major theme in twentieth-century political thought is covered in a series of chapters at once scholarly and accessible, of interest and relevance to students and scholars of politics at all levels from beginning undergraduate upwards.
Campaign and Election Reform by
This handbook provides a sweeping overview of U.S. campaign and election reform efforts, past and present, from the introduction of the secret ballot to touch-screen voting. Emphasizing the major electoral reforms since 2000, this second edition of Campaign and Election Reform investigates the development of the American electoral system from colonial times to the present. It chronicles efforts to expand suffrage, reform campaign financing, and prevent vote fraud, and traces the development of election technology from the paper ballot to the lever voting machine, from the punch-card ballot to the optical-scan and touch-screen systems. The book also explores alternative voting systems, such as preference voting and proportional representation, and compares the U.S. electoral process with the voting systems of selected European democracies. Campaign and Election Reform, Second Edition is essential reading for any citizen who wants to understand the U.S. electoral system, what's wrong with it, and how it might be fixed. Includes extensive quotations from reform advocates, along with excerpts from legislation and court cases related to changing campaign and election procedures Summaries of recent research on voter turnout provide a means of evaluating legislation intended to increase voter registration and turnout rates
The Citizen Action Encyclopedia by
The Citizen Action Encyclopedia provides basic information on the activities and significance of the people, organizations, and events that comprise the history of American citizen activism in the 20th century. Containing almost 300 cross-referenced entries and 50 illustrations, the encyclopedia includes individuals, groups, and movements that achieved both national standing and significant success in altering the political, legal, social, or economic structure of the United States. The encyclopedia is the first single-volume reference work to cover the entire spectrum of American activism in the last century, describing groups and activists of both the Left and the Right. The book also offers broad general entries that put the debates on such issues as the environment and abortion policy into balanced perspective.
Comparative European Party Systems by
This book provides a comprehensive analysis of the party systems of the whole continent of Europe. This work also includes case studies of the Baltic States and Balkan democracies and goes as far east as Russia, Ukraine, Georgia, and Turkey.
The Concise Encyclopedia of Ethics in Politics and the Media by
This concise encyclopaedic reference is the second of two derivative volumes of the Academic Press' bestselling Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics. An authoritative collection of articles discussing ethical issues within and about the news and entertainment industries as well as politics, this volume includes three new articles especially commissioned and 30 articles previously published in the Encyclopedia of Applied Ethics. Over half of the previously published articles include updated facts and bibliographic citations. New articles include Media Ethics, Overview, War Reporting and Privacy vs Public Right to Know.
Congress A to Z by
First published in 1988, this classic CQ Press volume is thoroughly updated with the dramatic events of recent years. No other volume so clearly and concisely explains the inner workings of the national legislature. Each of the more than 250 entries, arranged in encyclopedic A-to-Z format, helps explain in understandable language how Congress really works. Readers will learn in Congress A to Z, Fourth Edition, of the narrow power division between Republicans and Democrats, the methods members use to advance their agendas, the influence of lobby groups, the key role of committees and strong-willed leaders, and much more. In this new edition, editors highlight the close Republican-Democratic split in Congress, dramatically shown by the unexpected decision of Sen. James Jeffords of Vermont to leave the Republican party that gave Democrats control of the Senate early in President George W. Bush's term. Important additions and revisions in the fourth edition include: The anthrax attacks that closed Senate offices for weeks; A heightened focus on Capitol security in the wake of terrorists attacks; New campaign financing laws that may restrict the impact of money in politics; A continuing
Declarations of Independence by
American Independent cinema has been an important creative and cultural media entity for the past fifteen years. This title questions the supposed autonomy of this cinema and asks if independent film can possibly survive in the face of the mass-production and profit of Hollywood.
Desk Reference on the Federal Budget by
For the first time, federal taxing and spending is made clear for the general reader. Direct and jargon-free answers to more than 500 questions about the federal budget clarify this daunting subject matter for the novice -- and make it an ideal reference for quickly finding specific budget information for the expert. Facts and figures, definitions of terms, and procedural matters are handled in a straightforward, uncomplicated question-and-answer format.
Doing Dissertations in Politics by
This guide has been designed to help undergraduates develop an understanding of practical research methods, and their application in the undergraduate dissertation. Written in an accessible and engaging style, it offers advice on all aspects of undergraduate research, from choosing a dissertation subject through to presenting the finished article. Features of this book: concise chapters which provide an introduction to various aspects of research methods, including: why it is important; quantitative and qualitative methods; and practical application advice, hints and tips on planning, presenting, researching and writing undergraduate dissertations a wide range of examples of research to clearly illustrate different issues and methods which students may encounter guides to further reading and thinking at the end of each chapter.
Elections a to Z by
Combining the rich content of the print edition with the advanced online functionality demanded by today's researchers, Elections A to Z: Online Edition is the ultimate 21st century research tool for finding current, accurate information on U.S. elections. Advanced Web-enabled features allow users to conduct searches from A to Z on election. Like all CQ Press online editions, Elections A to Z: Online Edition comes loaded with powerful user-friendly functions such as CiteNow!, which lets researchers download full citations in MLA, APA, Bluebook, and other formats. Elections A to Z explains how campaigns and elections, the hallmark of any democracy, are conducted in the United States. The new third edition has been redesigned and updated with new entries covering the vital current elections topics that readers want to know about. Entries range from short definitions of terms like front-runner to in-depth essays exploring vital aspects of campaigns and elections, such as the right to vote, turnout trends, and the history, evolution, and current state of House, Senate, presidential, and some state-level elections. Readers will find essential information on: Stages in the campaign process and the general election The roles of political consultants, the media, and political parties Debates and issues such as term limits, majority-minority districts, and campaign finance Amendments, legislation, and court cases that have shaped electoral, campaign, and voting matters Voter turnout and voting rights in the United States Important terms and concepts like absolute majority and dark horse Highlights of presidential elections throughout U.S. history
Encyclopedia of African American Politics by
An A-to-Z volume examining the role of African Americans in the political process from the days of the American revolution to the present. Focusing on political ideas, laws, ideologies, institutions and political processes, the book covers all facets of African Americans in American government.
Encyclopedia of American Religion and Politics by
An A-to-Z reference on all facets of American religion and politics, from the early days of the republic to the rise of the political power of the Christian Right. Over 600 entries cover key religious and political leaders, historical events, court cases, concepts and religious denominations.
Encyclopedia of Media and Politics by
The relationship between media and politics receives constant attention and creates heated debate. The Encyclopedia of Media and Politics offers an authoritative, unbiased exploration of the intersection between media and politics, from larger themes such as the role of media in civil, democratic society, to more specific topics such as media ownership and regulation. The topics covered include: Business and institutional aspects of the media; Evolution and impact of different media including newspapers; broadcast and cable television; and new technologies; Coverage of and relations with the White House, Congress, political parties, and other political institutions; Legislation and court cases affecting the media; Important debates, such as those over media bias and election coverage; Profiles of organizations and agencies, such as the Federal Communications Commission; Profiles of influential media outlets; Biographies of important figures. With articles contributed by scholars and practitioners, this volume provides both academic analysis and practical insights on the history, impact, and roles of the media in politics. Additional key information is provided through photographs, tables, figures, appendices, and an index. School, academic, and public libraries as well as libraries that serve media and professionals in related areas will want to acquire this important new resource for their patrons.
Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics by
The Encyclopedia is the only resource available that focuses exclusively on the expanding role of minorities in U.S. politics. Containing more than 2,000 entries, this two-volume set is divided into four distinct sections covering African Americans, Asian Americans, Latinos, and Native Americans. It makes a broad range of information readily accessible, including historical and contemporary biographies, descriptions of major events, and coverage of important legal decisions and organizations.
Encyclopedia of Modern Ethnic Conflicts by
An indispensable reference that will help students understand the major ethnic conflicts that dominate the headlines and shape the modern world. Since World War II, significant conflicts have most often taken the form of acts of violence between ethnic or national communities inside individual states. This two-volume work uses case studies to explore some four dozen of those conflicts, making it an ideal first-stop reference for students and others who wish to quickly gain an understanding of ethnic struggles. Content from the first edition is updated and new entries on recent conflicts have been added. The set's geographical range, which encompasses nearly every continent, is matched by the diversity of the conflicts explored. These include internal conflicts such as those experienced by African Americans in the United States and Muslims in France, as well as separatist movements of groups like the Chechens in Russia and Bosnians in Yugoslavia. Headline-making conflicts--for example, those in Mali and Syria--are covered as well. The book is organized alphabetically by country and region. Each essay begins with a timeline and then explores the historical background, evolution, efforts to manage, and significance of the conflict. Suggestions for follow-up research and appendices of relevant, primary source materials are also included. Presents comprehensive coverage of ethnic conflicts that enables readers to comprehend recent events around the world Contains updates and revisions to the first edition and new entries on more current conflicts Features cases that are both relevant and topical, covering the vast majority of the conflicts that are spilling blood, affecting policies, and shaping the contemporary world Includes primary documents that support the text, allowing students to use hard evidence in their research Supports the National Geography Standards by examining cultural mosaics and conflict
Encyclopedia of Political Communication by
The Encyclopedia of Political Communication discusses the major theoretical approaches to the field, including direct and limited effects theories, agenda-setting theories, sociological theories, framing and priming theories, and other past and present conceptualizations. With nearly 600 entries, this resource pays considerable attention to important political messages such as political speeches, televised political advertising, political posters and print advertising, televised political debates, and Internet sites. The audiences for political communications are also central, necessitating concentration on citizen reactions to political messages, how the general public and voters in democratic systems respond to political messages, and the effects of all types of media and message types.
Encyclopedia of Political Thought by
A resource for students or general readers who want to know more about the major ideas, philosophies and concepts, both past and present, that have influenced and shaped civilization. With particular emphasis on the 20th century, the encyclopaedia contains over 400 fully cross-referenced entries that provide a survey of topics that have been crucial to the history of mankind, including the rise and fall of communism, the advent of feminism, and the advancement of democracy. Key concepts and controversial issues are clearly defined and analyzed, with examples from current events used to enhance readers' understanding of the ideas presented. Ideologies are not only considered within their historical context but are also related to contemporary politics. A chronology provides a linear presentation of the evolution of political thinking.
Encyclopedia of Politics by
Although the distinction between the politics of the left and the right is commonly assumed in the media and in treatments of political science and history, the terms are used so loosely that the student and the general reader are often confused: What exactly are the terms left and right supposed to imply? This two-volume Encyclopedia of Politics: The Left and the Right contains over 450 articles on individuals, movements, political parties, and ideological principles, with those usually thought of as left in the left-hand volume (Volume 1), and those considered on the right in the right-hand volume (Volume 2). Key Themes Countries/Regions "Isms" Laws Political Issues Political Movements Political Parties People
Encyclopedia of the United States Cabinet by
This authoritative, multi-volume work showcases the cabinets of all 44 presidential administrations, from George Washington to Barack Obama. With its unique arrangement (by administration) and thoughtful presentation of information, no other source provides such insight into this important political body.
The Encyclopedia of the United States Congress by
This four-volume study of the history, members, and structure of the US Congress includes more than 1000 signed, original articles and 900 photographs, maps, charts, and illustrations. More than 500 leading academics and professionals from a range of disciplines have contributed articles on aspects of America's legislature in a manner that should be easily accessible to the scholar.
Health Care Policy and Politics a to Z by
This essential guide for libraries, policy makers, and anyone concerned with health care in America has now been fully updated Readers will find updated information on long term health care spending, abortion, Medicaid and Medicare, health insurance and the uninsured, the State Children's Health Insurance Program (SCHIP), and much, much more. New entries reflect important changes in recent years and include the Medicare Modernization Act, abstinence education, electronic health records, health savings accounts, Plan B, the President's Emergency Plan for AIDS Relief (PEPFAR), and Project BioShield.
Historical Dictionary of United States Political Parties by
Provides concise entries on the parties, major and minor, past and present, and those who ran them. This includes all of the presidents and vice presidents, whomever won presidential votes in the electoral college, congressional party leaders, and national party chairs. Other entries explain the workings of the parties and familiar jargon. The dictionary is embedded in a broad study of the system in the introduction, a chronology placing events in their context, and a list of acronyms. Equally important is a well-structured bibliography covering the party system, the parties and their leadership.
Historical Encyclopedia of U. S. Presidential Use of Force, 1789-2000 by
Use of military force without a declaration of war has been a weapon in the arsenal of U.S. presidents for the last 200 years. Force has become an increasingly more (relevant) foreign policy action in the post-Cold War world. This comprehensive resource approaches the study of the use of force from several theoretical approaches: the historical record, which includes regional analyses of Latin America/the Caribbean, Europe, Asia, the Middle East/North Africa, and Sub-Saharan Africa; the data sets that focus on the use of force; the international level, which includes democratic peace, multilateralism, and Yugoslavia; domestic politics, which includes Congress, the media, and public opinion; executive-congressional relations, including political and constitutional issues; ethics; and theories of decision making on the use of force. The volume includes a list of important concepts and terms and a selected bibliography, as well as suggested readings following each entry, and an index. It will be of interest to students and scholars in political science, U.S. history, international relations, and foreign policy. Academic libraries and selected public libraries will also be interested in this comprehensive volume.
Information Sources of Political Science by
A thoroughly revised and updated new edition of the world's leading comprehensive bibliography of American and international politics. The eagerly anticipated new edition of the widely acclaimed Information Sources of Political Science is the most comprehensive English-language political bibliography available, offering the surest way for students and researchers to get straight to the information they need. Like no other volume, it provides a fully rounded view of the field both in the United States and internationally, including relevant works in history, economics, sociology, and education. Its 2,500 entries cover a wide variety of source types: indexing and abstracting services, major bibliographical tools, encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, directories, statistical compilations, and more. In addition, this edition is the first to feature substantial coverage of electronic resources, both databases and Internet sites. Each source receives its own annotation, with entries grouped in categories to bring together like works for easy comparison. This work is a cornerstone reference for academic and public libraries. 2,500 A-Z entries from political science and related disciplines such as American politics and government, comparative politics, international relations, public administration, and political theory Listing of political science literature in print and nonprint formats published since the fourth edition An easy-access bibliography covering each entry A comprehensive index of source titles and authors
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Politics and Religion by
"This encyclopedia brings together leading scholars to provide the most comprehensive and up-to-date resource on politics and religion ever produced. Editors in Chief Paul A. Djupe, Mark J. Rozell, and Ted G. Jelen-joined by an editorial board of associate editors (Gizem Arikan, Pazit Ben-Nun Bloom, Taylor Boas, Steven Kettell, Amy Erica Smith, and Günes Murat Tezcür)-have assembled over 100 peer-reviewed entries. In this extensive resource, readers will find authoritative overviews of the key topics, theories, and findings in religion and politics. Social scientists have closely observed religion at multiple levels of analysis, across a long time span, and in diverse outlets. As a result, it can be difficult for new researchers and interested observers to understand the state of the field. The Oxford encyclopedia of politics and religion addresses that need, and is therefore essential reading for all who seek to understand some of the most important issues and questions facing the world, including the role of regulation of religion by states, how religion is linked to civil war, whether religion is compatible with democracy, how religion structures political behavior and public opinion, how religious parties behave, and much more"--
The Oxford Guide to the United States Government by
The Oxford Guide to the United States Government is the ultimate resource for authoritative information on the U.S. Presidency, Congress, and Supreme Court. Compiled by three top scholars, its pages brim with the key figures, events, and structures that have animated U.S. government for morethan 200 years.In addition to coverage of the 2000 Presidential race and election, this Guide features biographies of all the Presidents, Vice Presidents, and Supreme Court Justices, as well as notable members of Congress, including current leadership; historical commentary on past elections, majorPresidential decisions, international and domestic programs, and the key advisors and agencies of the executive branch; in-depth analysis of Congressional leadership and committees, agencies and staff, and historic legislation; and detailed discussions of 100 landmark Supreme Court cases and themajor issues facing the Court today. In addition to entries that define legal terms and phrases and others that elaborate on the wide array of government traditions, this invaluable book includes extensive back matter, including tables of Presidential election results; lists of Presidents, VicePresidents, Congresses, and Supreme Court Justices with dates of service; lists of Presidential museums, libraries, and historic sites; relevant websites; and information on visiting the White House, the Capitol, and Supreme Court buildings.A one-stop, comprehensive guide that will assist students, educators, and anyone curious about the inner workings of government, The Oxford Guide to the United States Government will be a valued addition to any home library.
The Presidency a to Z by
The one-stop reference on all aspects of the U.S. presidency, The Presidency A to Z, Fifth Edition is an authoritative and accessible volume providing all the basic information readers need to understand the executive branch. This new and extensively revised fifth edition features important new entries on Barack Obama, Michelle Obama, John McCain, Guantanamo Bay, and War in Afghanistan. It also includes updated entries on Campaign Finance, Iraq War, Presidents' relationship with Congress, and many more. More 300 comprehensive, easy-to-read entries offer quick information and in-depth background on how the executive branch has responded to the challenges facing the nation. Readers will find: · Biographies of every president and many others important to the office· Explanations of broader concepts and powers relating to the presidency· Complete election coverage and analysis· Discussions of relations with Congress, the Supreme Court, the bureaucracy, political parties, the media, interest groups, and the public· Exploration of the policies of each president and their impact on U.S. and world history
Presidential Also-Rans and Running Mates, 1788 Through 1996 by
This now illustrated, greatly expanded, and fully updated edition of one of our most acclaimed reference works provides detailed biographical sketches for the 95 United States major party and significant third-party nominees who were never elected president or vice president.New to this edition are four subsequent elections, biographies of 41 third-tier candidates who received at least 2 percent of the popular vote or 5 percent of the electoral vote, portraits or photographs of every single nominee, and revisions and updates of all biographies. The candidates' lives and careers are fully revealed and an analysis is provided of how they might have fared if they had been elected.
Presidential Documents by
This is the most comprehensive single-volume edition of presidential documents available. In this lively, authoritative and up-to-the moment collection, historians Fred L. Israel and J. F. Watts present over 200 famous and lesser-known key speeches, proclamations, letters and other decisive papers and provide a brief political and historical commentary on each selection. Either printed in full or excerpted in a clear, readily accessible format, these history-making documents include the most memorable moments in the Presidency, from George Washington's first Inaugural Address to Bill Clinton's comments after the end of his impeachment proceedings.
Presidential Scandals by
This text offers a concise single-volume survey of presidential scandals in the United States that looks at the behaviour and public image of every president from George Washington to Bill Clinton. The scandals covered include Franklin Pierce's drunkenness and JFK's extra-marital affairs.
The Statesman's Year-Book Historical Companion by The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Globalization by 
The World Encyclopedia of Political Systems and Parties by
New edition of a three-volume reference that features in-depth looks at the government structures of almost every country in the world. Written by a team of political scientists and academic experts, 1,261 alphabetically arranged articles discuss the system of government, the power and responsibilit
International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences by SU Libraries SUMMON search engine can help you gather background literature about any topic in Political Science. Depicted below is one simple visual example of a SUMMON search result.
