Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Theses in Pan African Studies at Syracuse University
Core literature databases for African American Studies
African American Archives
Military documents, letters, court records, and more from the 17th -20th centuries pertaining to African Americans.
African American Newspapers : the 19th Century.
African American newspapers published during the 1800s; includes full page image content.
Black Studies Center
Scholarly essays, articles, historical newspaper articles, related to Black Studies, from fields such as literature, political science, sociology, philosophy, and religion.
Black Life in America
News content from U.S. and global news sources, including African American publications, covering topics such as voting rights, voter suppression and disenfranchisement, segregation and civil rights, prejudice, discrimination, activism and protest movements.
Black Thought and Culture : African Americans to 1975
Primary and secondary non-fiction writings, speeches, interviews, trials and other materials by black Americans.
Chicago Defender Archive
Searchable full page images of this influential African American newspaper, covering years 1905-1975.
Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio
guide for access information.
Searchable full-text version of The Liberator, an antebellum, anti-slavery newspaper published in chronological parts. Published in Boston, Massachusetts, by William Lloyd Garrison.
Race Relations Abstracts
Index and abstracts to articles covering race relations, ethnic studies, discrimination, immigration studies, and more.
Slavery, Abolition and Social Justice
Archival collection covering slavery from 1490-2007; focus areas include the African Coast, Underground Railroad, abolition, desegregation and more. Includes content from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
Other important databases for specific paper topics
America: History & Life This link opens in a new window
Articles, books and more covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada
ARTstor This link opens in a new window
Art, architecture, and archaeology images including images from the Smithsonian, the MoMA collection for architecture and design and the Schlesinger photograph collection on the history of women in America.
Articles, news stories, books and reports and archival content focusing on gender.
ERIC (EBSCO) This link opens in a new window
Education Resources Information Center (ERIC) index and abstracts to educational literature since 1966, including links to full text of RIE (Resources in Education) documents.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases, including Periodicals Archive Online, Humanities Index, American Periodicals 174-1940, digital National Security Archive, and others.
ProQuest Social Sciences
Search portal for multiple ProQuest databases in political science, education, sociology, psychology, public affairs, linguistics, economics, and criminal justice.
Index to literature in psychology, and related fields, such as psychiatry, sociology, anthropology, education, pharmacology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy, gerontology, and linguistics; published by the American Psychological Association.
Index and abstracts to books and journal articles about sociology, social work, aging, gerontology, child and family studies, marriage and family therapy and other social sciences.