African American Studies: News, Archival, Statistical, and Mapping Databases

African American newspapers published during the 1800s; includes full page image content.

African American newspapers published in the United States between 1827 and 1998.

Full-page images scan of this influential African American newspaper, from 1932 to 2010

News content from U.S. and global news sources, including African American publications, covering topics such as voting rights, voter suppression and disenfranchisement, segregation and civil rights, prejudice, discrimination, activism and protest movements.

Searchable full page images of this influential African American newspaper, covering years 1905-2010

Searchable full-text version of The Liberator, an antebellum, anti-slavery newspaper published in chronological parts. Published in Boston, Massachusetts, by William Lloyd Garrison.

Full-page images scan of this influential African American newspaper, from 1922 to 2010

Full-page images scan of this influential African American newspaper, from 1911 to 2010

Current and past worldwide news sources, including international, local and regional newspapers, media transcripts, wire service content, college newspaper articles, magazines, blogs, video and audio.

Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.

News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.

Search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases including Alt-PressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Text visualization options for selected newspapers are available on the TDM Studio platform; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.

Statistical information from the Congressional Information Service, Inc., including access to statistical tables.

Browsable and searchable collection of datasets from numerous sources, covering a wide range of subjects.

Data from both public and private sources related to a wide range of subjects, including consumers, digital markets, and companies; also includes forecasts, analysis, reports, and more.

Military documents, letters, court records, and more from the 17th -20th centuries pertaining to African Americans.

Pamphlets, newspapers, periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports, and in-depth oral histories covering the experiences of African Americans. Focuses on themes of racism, discrimination and integration, and African American culture and identity primarily in the communities of Atlanta, Chicago, Brooklyn New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina from 1863-1986.

Original documents of the African American Police League Records, 1961—1988.

For access to Series 2-5, select title above, go to Choose Databases link, change selected series, and choose OK.
Archival collection from the American Antiquarian Society of magazines and journals in five series: Series I: 1691 -1820; Series II: 1821-1837; Series III: 1838-1852; Series IV: 1852-1865; Series V: 1866 through 1877.

Primary and secondary non-fiction writings, speeches, interviews, trials and other materials by black Americans.

National, regional, and local newspapers published around the 1920s in the United States, documenting the voices of multiple organizations that either opposed or supported white supremacy and nationalism.

Log in to enable all features.Digitized print volumes, some of which are public domain. Includes almost half the print holdings at SU Libraries, with full-text searching across the entire repository, full-text PDF downloads for items in public domain or not otherwise under copyright, and full-text access to brittle out-of-print items in SU Libraries.

Primary resources including Federal government records, organizational records, and personal papers related to critical people and events in African American history, through the 20th century.

Open access alternative press and underground newspapers, magazines and journals from the 1960s to 1980s, including feminist, LGBT, minority, campus, community, GI, right-wing, and small literary presses.

Periodicals, pamphlets, and ephemera from the United States and United Kingdom representing anti-establishment and counter-cultural ideas and movements.

Documenting three pivotal decades in the fight for civil rights, this resource showcases the speeches, reports, surveys and analyses produced by the Department’s staff and Institute participants, including Charles S. Johnson, Dr Martin Luther King, Jr., and Thurgood Marshall.

Search across Readex databases, with content from historical newspapers, early American books, pamphlets, congressional documents and other governmental publications, on numerous subjects.

Archival collection covering slavery from 1490-2007; focus areas include the African Coast, Underground Railroad, abolition, desegregation and more. Includes content from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.

Geographic information system with policy-related data about demographics, real estate, crime, income, jobs, education, energy, and more.

Tool for creating maps and visualizations related United States demographics.