Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

African American Studies: Books, DVDs, and Reference Sources

African American studies covers a multitude of disciplines including the humanities, social sciences, and the sciences.

Video and Music Collections

SU Libraries subscribes to 21 streaming and online video, audio and image databases.  Click on the "Databases" link on the SU Libraries main page, Then under the box "All Database Types" scroll down to the last, "Video(21)" to access the databases.   Check out SU Libraries' webpage on its Video and Music Collections.

Video Collections
The Syracuse University Libraries have approximately 6,000 DVDs and 8,000 videocassettes that cover all subject areas. This collection is accessed by request at the 3rd Floor Check-In/Out and Help desk, by emailing multimed@syr.edu, or calling 315-443-4176. All items in the video/film collection can be found in the Classic Catalog . 
 

Music Collection
In addition to music books and scores, the SU Libraries maintain a collection of records, compact discs, and music cassette tapes. The collection contains music ranging from classical (Western and non-Western), jazz, folk, world, and popular music genres to musical theater. All items in the music collection can be found in the Classic Catalog

Reference books

Don't forget that all campus libraries have reference collections with scholarly encyclopedias, atlases, and other publications that may provide useful background information for your research.

Online Encyclopedias

Repositories of Digital Collections

New Books on African American Studies

Searching for Resources in the SU Libraries' Catalog

Summon is SU Library's search engine. Using Summon, you can search the Library website for books, videos, articles, as well as other resources.

Summon screenshot


 

Advanced Search

E-book collections

Each of these collections allows for full-text searching of all titles simultaneously:

Library print collections

There are a number of different collections on the SU Campus that may be useful for your research in African American Studies.  To search for books and other sources within the SU Library catalog, try some of the terms listed below, for example.  Also try searching the term African Americans as a subdivision, for example, under individual wars such as World War 1939-1945 African Americans.  Also look for headings with African American at the beginning of the subject term such as African American women.

  • African Americans
  • African American women
  • social sciences topics
  • humanities topics
  • maps
  • government documents

 

 

Encyclopedias in Print

Video Access and Usage Policies

The Libraries have developed videocassette, DVD, and film collections primarily in support of classroom teaching at Syracuse University. For that reason, and because copyright and /or licensing agreements impose restrictions and limitations on their use, full borrowing privileges are only extended to faculty, teaching assistants and students for in-class use. All SU-affiliated users are welcome to view these materials in the Libraries.

 

Videos/DVD's - African American Studies

This is a very brief list of the some videos/DVD's about  African American life and culture owned and located in either SU Bird Library, the African American Studies Martin Luther King Library, or other libraries on the SU campus.  To find out how to access many more videos, DVD's, or other media on African America, please see SU Libraries' Video Research Guide.