Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
New York State Resources & Guides
New York State
Official state site. Links for business, employment, education, recreation, health care, etc. Includes some press releases.
Office of the Governor (NYS)
Includes selected news briefs, updated daily. Key Documents includes state of the state and other addresses.
New York State Senate
State Senate home page. Includes schedule, rules, directory of senators, maps, biographies, press releases. Links to live senate proceedings.
New York State Assembly
State Assembly home page. Links for Bill Search, Legislative Calendar, Public Hearing Schedules, Assembly Calendars, and Assembly Agenda.
New York State Government Information Locator Service
Links to information services provided by New York State Government agencies, the State Legislature and the Judiciary. Hosted by the New York State Library.
New York State Legal Research (SU Law Library)
Guide to resources available at Barclay Law Library for legal research on New York State laws.
The Legislative History of a New York State Law
Guide to compiling legislative histories of New York State laws. Summarizes appropriate reference sources and materials.
Legislative Intent (New York State Library)
How to research legislative intent. Lists major resources and indexes.
Gibson's New York Legal Research Guide by
Call Number: KFN 5074 G53 2004 GOV REF COLL
Publication Date: 2004-01-01
The source for locating legal information on New York State.The third edition of this valuable work provides instructionon using the most current print and electronic resources ofNew York legal research material and is a must-havereference book for any attorney, paralegal, law librarian,law professor, or student performing legal research on theState of New York. Also includes the New York City LegalResearch Guide an an extensive chapter on the State andfederal government's relationship with the State's NativeAmericans, past and present.
McKinny's Session Laws of New York
Call Number: KFN 5025 M3 GOV REF COLL
Session laws are printed in chronological order, exactly as they were passed. Also includes related reports and memoranda. "Legislative findings and purpose," if available within the Session Law, express the official intent of the legislation. They do not show subsequent appeals or amendments. Pamphlets contain subject indexes and cumulative tables indicating which sections of the Consolidated Laws are affected by new legislation.
New York Laws and Regualations
Westlaw Campus Research
Provides access to law and regulatory resources, such as the U.S. Code Annotated, the Code of Federal Regulations. Includes the E version of [New York Official Compilation of Codes, Rules and Regulations]. Find by selecting "State Materials" - "New York" - "Regulations" - "New York Regulations."
Includes the E version of [McKinney's Consolidated Laws of New York Annotated]. Find by selecting "State Materials" - "New York" - "Statutes and Court Rues" - "New York Statutes and Court Rules"
Laws, Bills and Reports
Laws of New York
Select Laws of New York from the menu. That page will include consolidated and unconsolidated laws, Court Acts, Rules, and miscellaneous (constitution, NY City charter and administrative code). Unconsolidated laws are any laws passed by the legislature that are not part of the Consolidated Laws. They can include court acts, the NY City Charter and Administrative Code, miscellaneous laws that do not fit into the Consolidated Laws, and other special laws.
New York State Assembly Reports
Selected legislative and committee reports, 1998 - present.
New York State Bill Search
Allows searching by bill number or keyword; current bills only (latest amended version). Results may include summary, action, votes, memos; plus full text of bill.
NYS Senate Open Legislation
Search NYS Senate legislation
Case Law and Constitution