Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Local, Regional & State
City of Syracuse
Links to Mayor's Office, Common Council, City Services, Attractions, Press Releases. Includes maps and travel directions, notices of traffic pattern changes and details on redevelopment projects, live web casts, etc.
Official web site for Onondaga County. Links to employment, taxpayer guides, parks, elected officials, and other county agencies and services.
New York State
Official state site. Links for business, employment, education, recreation, health care, etc. Includes some press releases.
United States Government Policy and Supporting Positions (Plum Book)
Also known as the PLUM BOOK. Updated 12/01/2020. It lists over 7,000 Federal civil service leadership and support positions in the legislative and executive branches of the Federal Government that may be subject to noncompetitive appointment, nationwide.
Legislative Source Book
A goldmine of links and resources about all aspects of where to find federal legislative information and how the Federal Government works from the Law Librarians' Society of Washington, D.C. (LLSDC)
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. Congress.gov is usually updated the morning after a session adjourns. This site takes the place of the old THOMAS.GOV site which has been retired.
A new, dynamic way for the public to discover and access Government information on the three branches of the Federal Government from GPO. Govinfo is a user-friendly, modernized site that provides an easy to use navigation system accessible on smartphones, tablets, laptops and personal computers. This new site will eventually replace the FDsys website.
USA.GOV (Government Search Engine)
To improve the general public’s access to government information by providing hosted search services for more than 300 government affiliate organizations
CGP (Catalog of Government Publications)
This is the replacement for the GPO Monthly Catalog of government publications for item published after 1976.
MetaLib search engine of Gov databases from GPO
A federated search engine for searching 78 different government databases.
President of the United States - White House
Main web site for the White House and the President of the United States.
The official directory of the U.S. Congress (1997-20018)
* Short biographies of each member of the Senate and House, listed by state or district. Committee memberships, administrative assistants, and room and telephone numbers for Members of Congress.
* Lists officials of the courts, military establishments, and other State & Federal departments and agencies.
Easy "find your senators" feature; links to biographies, organization chart, related history and art, legislation, famous speeches, etc.
U.S. House of Representatives
Links to individual representatives' web sites, committee sites; includes roll calls, schedules, calendars, etc.
U.S. Supreme Court
Includes information about the supreme court, the constitution, biographies of current justices, list of all justices who have ever served (including who appointed them, their home state, etc).
Federal Agency Directories
U.S and State government Agencies and their web links
Society for History in the Federal Government
The Society works to address common concerns, support shared interests, and stimulate discussion across the federal history community.
CIA World Factbook 2017
Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
United Nations (UN)
The United Nations is committed to maintaining international peace and security, developing friendly relations among nations and promoting social progress, better living standards and human rights.
Country Information - International Monetary Fund (IMF)
Provides information on member country's relations with the Fund (e.g. when it joined, its quota size, disbursements and payments).
Docs in Library Catalog
Searching for Government documents in the Library's online catalog is best done using the Classic Catalog.
Using the Advanced Search and selecting the Govt Docs under the Location option allows you to search for titles only found in the Documents collection.
Using SUMMON will not always do a complete search of our Document holdings.