Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
References sources - print and "E"
Encyclopedias, Dictionaries, Handbooks. These are hot linked to the full text of the named resources. If you're off campus trying to access these you will need to go through the SU Proxy.
A Dictionary of Geology and Earth Sciences by
Call Number: QE5 .D555 2013
Publication Date: 2013-08-01
This leading dictionary - now in its fourth edition - offers wide-ranging and authoritative coverage of the earth sciences and related topics in over 7,500 clear and accessible entries. This new edition has been fully updated and 150 new entries added, with expanded coverage of geology and planetary geology terms. Over 130 line drawings accompany the definitions. It is essential for students of geography, geology, and earth sciences, and for those in relateddisciplines.
Encyclopedia of Geology by
Call Number: QE5 .E516 2005eb
Publication Date: 2004-12-16
Encyclopedia of Geology is an unrivalled, five-volume reference work covers all aspects of geology including earth history, earth materials, surface processes, regional geology, economic geology, engineering geology, petroleum geology, geochemical and mineral exploration, and the history of geology. The encyclopedia is divided into 340 articles, each covering one aspect of geology covering over 2500 pages in full color throughout. There are extensive cross-referencing and further reading lists that accompany each article.
Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science by
Call Number: QE741 .E53 2013
Publication Date: 2013-06-05
The second revised edition of the Encyclopedia of Quaternary Science, provides both students and professionals with an up-to-date reference work on this important and highly varied area of research. There are lots of new articles, and many of the articles that appeared in the first edition have been updated to reflect advances in knowledge since 2006. The second edition will contain about 375 articles (4310 pages), written by leading experts around the world. This major reference work is richly illustrated with more than 3,000 illustrations, most of them in color.
Geological Structures and Maps by
Call Number: QE601.2 .L57 2004eb
Publication Date: 2003-12-03
Introduces the skills of interpreting a geological map and relating it to the morphology of the most important types of geological structure. This work places emphasis on developing the skill of three-dimensional visualization, and provides an introduction to the subject of geological maps.
The Geoscience Handbook by
Call Number: QE52 .G46
Publication Date: online 2009
This title provides quick reference for the key metrics and concepts, as well as short tutorials on subjects that may not be familiar to all geoscientists and covers diverse subjects, from geophysics to geologic map symbols to GPS usage, and everything in between.
Treatise on Geochemistry by
Publication Date: 2013-10-19
This extensively updated new edition of the widely acclaimed Treatise on Geochemistry has increased its coverage beyond the wide range of geochemical subject areas in the first edition, with five new volumes which include: the history of the atmosphere, geochemistry of mineral deposits, archaeology and anthropology, organic geochemistry and analytical geochemistry.
Treatise on Geomorphology by
Publication Date: 2013-02-27
The fourteen volumes of this Treatise on Geomorphology will provide an important reference for users from undergraduate students looking for term paper topics, to graduate students starting a literature review for their thesis work, and professionals seeking a concise summary of a particular topic. This Treatise on Geomorphology provides a useful synthesis of the state of the discipline, as well as highlighting productive research directions, that Educators and students/researchers will find useful.
Treatise on Geophysics by
Call Number: QC806 .T743 2015eb
Publication Date: 2015-04-17
Treatise on Geophysics, Second Edition, is a comprehensive and in-depth study of the physics of the Earth beyond what any geophysics text has provided previously. Thoroughly revised and updated, it provides fundamental and state-of-the-art discussion of all aspects of geophysics. This title is essential for professionals, researchers, professors, and advanced undergraduate and graduate students in the fields of Geophysics and Earth system science. Comprehensive and detailed coverage of all aspects of geophysics Fundamental and state-of-the-art discussions of all research topics Integration of topics into a coherent whole
SAGE Handbook of Geomorphology by
Publication Date: 2011
A comprehensive handbook covering the fundamentals of geomorphology that examines all aspects of the discipline.
Environmental Geology by
Call Number: SpringerLink Database
Publication Date: 2019
The chapters in this volume examine water, energy, minerals and the environment in a holistic approach to land use planning.