Research Guides: ArcGIS Software Access: Resources

Data and Layers from SU Library Research Guides

GIS Research Guide
Links to many different data sets, layers, repositories, clearinghouses and archives.
Maps Research Guide
Links to print map resources found in the collections of SU's Library. Includes paper maps, atlases and historical air photos, as well as print fire insurance atlases for Syracuse and New York City.
Numeric Data Research Guide
Many different links and resources for find and downloading various types of numeric data for use in a GIS.

Databases for Data and Layers

Below are listed a few of the databases that SU students, faculty and staff have access to through the SU Libraries Database Menu.

Mapping Databases

Digital Sanborn Maps 1867-1970
Digital access to more than 660,000 large-scale maps of more than 12,000 American towns and cities.
PolicyMap
Geographic information system with policy-related data about demographics, real estate, crime, income, jobs, education, energy, and more.
ProQuest Congressional
In the Advanced search you can search by content type. Selects the Maps type. Here you will find maps from 1789 to 2007 that were included in Congressional Documents.
SimplyAnalytics
Four simultaneous users. Users must also create their own personal profile.

Application for mapping, analytics, and data visualization of variables such as demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, technology, and public health. Includes data from Nielsen Claritas, Dun and Bradstreet, Simmons, GFK MRI, Easy Analytic Software (EASI), and Applied Geographic Solutions.
Social Explorer
Tool for creating maps and visualizations related United States demographics.
Soil Surveys
Soil maps and geospatial data for more than 95 percent of the nation's counties; also includes reports and monographs.

Data Databases

Databases for Numeric Data
This is a list of 55 databases that are available from the SU Libraries database menu for finding datasets and statistics for your GIS.

Esri Resources

Learn ArcGIS through the Esri Academy

Here are some first steps, or courses, to take in learning ArcGIS. Most classes are free and when you log in.

Through SU's site license you can take any number of FREE courses, webinars or recorded classes. To see a list go to the "CATALOG" tab on the top row and then mouse over to the “Course Catalog” and make sure to click the two checkboxes that say “Maintenance Subscription” and "Free" . This will allow you to access many more FREE courses available to you through our license.

Then search for classes you want to take. Add the ones you want to your “wish list” by clicking on the little heart next to the course title.

Click on “My Academy” and then “My Wish List” to get to the courses you have saved or are in the process of taking.

ArcGIS Pro

ArcGIS Pro Fundamentals
A series of three web courses, two videos, and two documents on learning ArcGIS Pro. There is one instructor led 3-day course in this bundle that is not included in our license.

ArcGIS Online

ArcGIS Online Fundamentals
A series of three different web courses that teach you the basics of ArcGIS Online.

ArcGIS StoryMaps

ArcGIS StoryMaps Fundamentals
Series of three courses that teach you how to create a StoryMap.

Other Commonly used Esri Extensions and Apps

ArcGIS Fundamentals
A series of seven web courses that teach you the fundamentals of ArcGIS. There is one instructor led 2-day class that is not included in our license.
Getting Started with Spatial Analyst
Python for Everyone