Research Guides: LGBTQ History Month &amp; Pride Month: Primary Source Archives

From Syracuse University Special Collections Research Center

Inside SCRC: Cartoon, Pulp Lit, and Sci-Fi Collections
Features Love and Rockets—an acclaimed comic featuring LGBTQ themes

Love and rockets (Fantagraphics Books)
Call Number: PN6728 .L68

Lillian Reiner Collection
Lillian Reiner (1901-1987) was a native of Syracuse, New York and a civil rights and peace activist. She was an advocate of LGBTQ rights and belonged to a number of peace organizations, including the Syracuse Peace Council.
Mary Edwards Walker Papers
Mary Edwards Walker (1832-1919) defied nineteenth century patriarchal society through living a non-conformist lifestyle. Specifically through advocacy for women’s dress-reform, Walker paved the way for future generations of LGBTQ and gender non-conforming folks by exclusively wearing men’s clothing—and on several occasions, Walker was arrested for impersonating a man. Walker’s refusal to live within the confines of gender-based roles is available for study through the Mary Walker Papers at SCRC and are comprised of correspondence, legal and financial documents, memorabilia, pension documents, and writings of Mary Walker.
ONE, Inc. Collection
• The One, Inc. Collection consists of printed material from the American gay rights organization. Material includes an informational brochure and two issues of the newsletter "ONE Confidential."
Syracuse University Student Organizations Reference Collection.
Contains materials related to the Gay Students Association and the Lesbian and Gay Graduate Collective, both student organizations dating from the 1970s-1990s.
Syracuse University Student Publications Collection.
Issues of "The Out Crowd" can be found here!

Primary Source Archives

Archives of Sexuality and Gender
Archival documents relating to the historical, political, social, legal, and health aspects of sex, sexuality, and gender. Contains newsletters, papers, government documents, manuscripts, pamphlets, and more. Includes modules on LGBTQ History and Culture Since 1940 (parts 1-2); Sex and Sexuality, Sixteenth to Twentieth Century; International Perspectives on LGBTQ Activism and Culture; Community and Identity in North America.
Gender: Identity and Social Change
Images, books, diaries, speeches, legal documents, correspondence, and men's and women's organization papers, documenting changing gender roles and relations from the early nineteenth century to the present. Material sourced from the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom and Australia covering women’s suffrage, feminism, the men’s movement, the family, education, labor, sexuality, and politics.
Sex and Sexuality
Unpublished papers of American sexologists, sex researchers, advocacy groups and campaigners, digitized from the Kinsey Institute Library and Special Collections. Documents include correspondence between professional and private individuals, autobiographical accounts, official records, and literary works spanning the 19th through 21st centuries. Includes modules 1-2.
Defining Gender
Primary source material from multiple museum and library collections relevant to the study of traditional gender roles, education, ideals of conduct, education, exercise, distribution of power within the family, and consumption and leisure. Primary sources include correspondence, diaries, ephemera, government documents, manuscripts, periodicals, printed books along with secondary material such as biographical information, chronologies, and topical essays.