Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Data Centers & Sites
Association of Research Libraries (ARL): Data & Analytics
New measures that address issues of service quality, electronic resource usage and value, and outcomes assessment.
Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) Data Catalog
Our Data Catalog puts IMLS data—comprising agency data such as grants administration and data about libraries, museums, and related organizations—at your fingertips so you can dig into it.
International Federation of Library Associations and Institutions (IFLA) Statistics and Evaluation Section
The Section aims to promote the compilation and use of statistics both in the successful management and operation of libraries and in the demonstration of the value of libraries outside the profession. It is concerned with the definition, standardization, collection, analysis, interpretation, publication and use of statistical data from all types of library and information service activity—including statistics of technically innovative services. Case studies of good practice and international benchmark comparisons are within its scope as is collaboration with international agencies such as UNESCO and ISO.
Library Research Service
The Library Research Service provides library professionals, educators, public officials, and the media with research and statistics about libraries. The Library Research Service provides library professionals, educators, public officials, and the media with research and statistics about libraries.
U.S. Department of Education: Library Statistics Program
The National Center for Education Statistics (NCES) began a nation-wide library statistics program in 1989 that now includes the Academic Libraries Survey, the Public Libraries Survey, the School Library Media Center Survey, and the State Library Agencies Survey. Collections, expenditures, services, and staffing are some of the topics covered by these surveys.
A related guide, Data Science, contains information about data sources, visualization, management, and more.
Browsable and searchable collection of datasets from numerous sources, covering a wide range of subjects.
ProQuest Statistical Insight
Statistical information from the Congressional Information Service, Inc., including access to statistical tables.
Four simultaneous users. Users must also create their own personal profile.
Application for mapping, analytics, and data visualization of variables such as demographics, employment, housing, market segments, businesses, consumer spending, brand preferences, technology, and public health. Includes data from Nielsen Claritas, Dun and Bradstreet, Simmons, GFK MRI, Easy Analytic Software (EASI), and Applied Geographic Solutions.
SU Libraries Data Services
For assistance with data gathering and analysis, see the Numeric Data Services LibGuide by Paul Bern, Data Librarian.
Custom Data Search
This Google Custom search engine performs a search on websites that have been evaluated for their usefulness in providing data and statistics. Results will open in a new window.
Google Datasets (Beta)
Google Dataset Search
Dataset Search enables users to find datasets stored across the Web through a simple keyword search. The tool surfaces information about datasets hosted in thousands of repositories across the Web, making these datasets universally accessible and useful.