Sport Management

Please see below recommended starting points for finding business case studies:

Harvard Business Publishing case studies cover all areas of management, business planning, marketing, accounting, finance, organizational behavior, entrepreneurship and more. The case studies range from 10 to 30 pages in length and often include an author provided guide, called a “teaching note,” on how to teach the case in the classroom.

These case studies should not be confused with the short case studies published in the Harvard Business Review and available in full text via SU Libraries' database Business Source Elite.

Access to the Harvard Business Publishing case studies requires individual purchase of cases, including purchase of copyright permission in situations where multiple copies are desired. Harvard does not offer institutional subscriptions that permit an academic library to subscribe to these case studies.

• Students and faculty visiting the HBP site can freely search and browse topics to identify case studies of interest
• Access to the full-text case study PDFs requires individual purchase (often priced between $8 and $10 per case)
• Options for student access to cases selected by faculty are available under a coursepack style access model (in some instances, students enrolled in such courses can receive purchase discounts on cases their faculty identify)
• SU faculty interested in access (for themselves or their students) should explore detailed information about applying for  Harvard Business Publishing's Case Study "Educator Access"

Find the Harvard Business Review in Business Source Elite (which indexes HBR content back to 1922 and provides full-text article coverage from 1985 thru the present, including HBR articles and case studies) via the link below:

NOTE: The case studies in HBR are short (around four pages each) and should not be confused with the premium Harvard Business Publishing case studies noted on this page under "Harvard Case Studies."

Please note that Harvard Business Review articles provided by EBSCOhost are intended for individual academic use only. The following notice accompanies each Harvard Business Review article in Business Source Elite:

"Harvard Business Review Notice of Use Restrictions, May 2009
Harvard Business Review and Harvard Business Publishing Newsletter content on EBSCOhost is licensed for the private individual use of authorized EBSCOhost users. It is not intended for use as assigned course material in academic institutions nor as corporate learning or training materials in businesses. Academic licensees may not use this content in electronic reserves, electronic course packs, persistent linking from syllabi or by any other means of incorporating the content into course resources. Business licensees may not host this content on learning management systems or use persistent linking or other means to incorporate the content into learning management systems. Harvard Business Publishing will be pleased to grant permission to make this content available through such means. For rates and permission, contact permissions@harvardbusiness.org."

Harvard Business Review 500
At the request of Harvard Business Publishing, EBSCO has made 500 of the most popular Harvard Business Review articles read only by disabling the printing, saving, and persistent linking functionality for these articles in Business Source Elite. All Business Source Elite subscribers (including SU Libraries) were offered the option to restore this basic functionality by paying an additional annual premium fee. When Syracuse University Libraries requested a quote from EBSCO to restore full access to the 500 HBR articles, we were presented with a significant five figure amount. SU Libraries is disinclined to pursue the option to restore full access to the HBR 500 by paying this premium. Not only is the price per article exorbitant, but more importantly, agreeing to such a fee in order to restore access to content for which we have already paid, could set a terrible precedent.

What matters and what we wish to emphasize is that, if HBP’s new model catches on, having to essentially pay twice (or multiple times) for the same online content will erode the Libraries’ ability to provide other resources to the SU research community. In short, it’s a zero-sum game when it comes to Libraries’ acquisitions that support research, and this development further adds to the costs of supporting scholarship. In declining to license with HBP under the proffered terms, the SU Libraries’ goal is to protect our ability to support research at SU to our utmost. While that may sound contradictory, at least in the short-term, in the long-term it most assuredly is not.

Print versions of the Harvard Business Review (HBR) from 1922 to the present are available in Syracuse University Libraries' print collection: