The resources on the lists below will bring you to more specific, and often scholarly, sources that address your inquiry. You'll also find access to datasets, multimedia, and other types of content among these resources. If you have questions or need help using any of these databases at any time, get in touch with a librarian. Excellent choices are available here, but far more options than any one WRT 205 student will need. Be selective.
Medicine & Health Literature:
Nursing and allied health journals and publications. Material contained in this database is intended for informational purposes only.
CINAHL
Cumulative Index of Nursing and Allied Health Literature (CINAHL) covering literature on allied health, alternative and complementary medicine, consumer health, nursing and more.
MEDLINEplus
From the National Library of Medicine, this freely available resource provides authoritative health information geared to both health professionals and consumers. It includes extensive information on more than 650 diseases and conditions, as well as lists of hospitals and physicians, a medical dictionary, a medical encyclopedia, information on prescription and nonprescription drugs, and links to thousands of clinical trials.
PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to over 11 million MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals.
Scientific Literature:
ScienceDirect
Full-text scientific database offering journal articles and book chapters in scientific, technical and medical fields. Contains interactive elements in articles such as audio, video, graphs, tables and images, and offers tools so users can keep current with research trends. Features embedded links to external datasets, and chemical reactions data from Reaxys.
Peer-reviewed journal of scientific work published in video format, allowing for visual demonstration of techniques and procedures.
Web of Science
Authoritative, multidisciplinary abstract and citation database spanning every discipline. Connects publications and researchers through citations and controlled indexing in curated databases.
Articles, patents, and white papers describing chemicals. Includes information on structures, reactions, compounds, drug development, and manufacturing. Also includes PatentPak, MethodsNow Synthesis, and Retrosynthesis. Search by substances by name, CAS Registry Number, or use the editor to draw chemical structures, substructures, or reactions. Requires separate login. See the
CAS SciFinder-n Research Guide for more help.
A unique aggregation of high-impact bioscience research journals, featuring content on a wide-array of today's most pressing topics, including global warming, stem cell research, ecological and biodiversity conservation.
Engineering Village allows you to search Inspec and Compendex simultaneously or alone. Inspec covers the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology. It includes journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations from 1898 to present.
Collection of information needed to understand the Nation's water resources, and access to water data, publications, and maps, as well as to recent water projects and events.
USDA.gov
Government reports, transcripts, and bills from the US Department of Agriculture.
Science.gov
Gateway to numerous authoritative scientific databases and websites provided by U.S. Government agencies, including the Department of Energy (DOE), Department of Defense (DOD), the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) and the Environmental Protection Agency (EPA).
Interdisciplinary Databases:
ACM Digital Library
Full text articles, ebooks, abstracts, and reviews published in ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) periodicals and proceedings.
JSTOR
Full-text archive of scholarly publications, including ebooks, in mathematics, science, the arts and humanities, and the social sciences.
Use the advanced search screen to limit results to journals from the sciences, health, communications and other fields
Sage Journals Online
Full text access to journals in numerous disciplines. Especially strong in health, criminology, management, sociology, psychology and communications. Includes the archive of the Institute of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE).
Taylor & Francis Online Journals
Full-text collection includes journals from many subject areas, including area studies, humanities, behavioral sciences, business, economics, education, engineering, environmental topics, language, literature, physical sciences, politics/international relations, social sciences, and more.
SCOPUS
The largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature: scientific journals, books, conference proceedings and patents.
GreenFILE
Multidisciplinary; draws on the connections between agriculture, industry, the environment and a variety of disciplines.
Worldwide literature citations pertaining to all aspects of agriculture and related fields. Includes journal articles, monographs, proceedings, theses, patents, translations, audiovisual materials, computer software, and technical reports.
Business Source Elite
Business, management, and industry publications, many of which deal with agriculture, sustainability, and green trends in business.
Mass Media/Popular Sources/News & Newspaper Sources:
ProQuest News & Newspapers
One stop search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases: AltPressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic Newswatch, Gannett Newsstand, GenderWatch, US Newsstream and International Newsstream. ProQuest Historical Newspapers are also included, with access to the complete seventy year run of the Chicago Defender and full page scans reaching back to the founding 19th century issues for the Los Angeles Times, New York Times, Wall Street Journal and Washington Post.
Access World News
Current and past worldwide news sources, including international, local and regional newspapers, media transcripts, wire service content, college newspaper articles, magazines, blogs, video and audio.
Search hundreds of smaller, regional, and historical newspapers for New York State. Database includes deep historical page imaged back issues of the Syracuse Post Standard. For year 2020 and forward Post Standard articles - visit the database called
Syracuse News Sources
Syracuse News Sources
Article text from the Post-Standard newspaper, Syracuse, New York (1986 - present), as well as the Syracuse Herald-American and Syracuse Herald-Journal (1986-2001).
Other large historical newspapers:
NexisUni
Access more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis—including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790, together with extensive current and historical U.S. state and federal statutes, published court decisions and regulations. Registering for a free ID and password within the interface is recommended for those looking to take advantage of personalization features such as alerts, saved searches and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents.
Alt-Press Watch
Full text of selected newspapers, magazines, and journals of the alternative and independent press.
Alternative Press Index
I
ndex to alternative, radical, and left periodicals, newspapers, and magazines, from 1991 to present.
Index to evening news and some special reports from major U.S. national broadcast networks from 1968 to present for ABC, CBS and NBC, 1995 to present for CNN, and 2004 to present for FoxNews. NBC and CNN allow video streaming online. Advertising that ran adjacent to reports is often available (e.g., search “commercial” and a brand name).
Opinion Journalism:
The Nation
Progressive/liberal opinion magazine, online coverage is 1865 thru present - and includes letters to the editor.
National Review
Conservative opinion magazine, online coverage is 1955 thru present - and includes letters to the editor.
Digital Journalism
*to be announced soon, SU Libraries will (later in this semester most likely) be making available access to the digital platform for the Washington Post (WAPO) - for all current NETID holding students, staff and faculty. When available, an access point for this will be publicized.
Call Us: 315-443-4083
Text Us: 315-464-0744
Email us: libref@syr.edu
