Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Syracuse University Libraries

GEO 482/682 Environmental Remote Sensing (Spring 2022): Home

Air Photo Collection in the Map Room

The Map collection has over 80,000 air photos. The majority of the  collection is of New York state, but there are selected sets of images from the 40's and 50's of selected cities arount the US.

New York State - coverage for most counties in the collection are from 1938 to 1960. Please see the PDF document below or check the list attached to the air photo cabinet in the map room for specific counties and dates. Mosaic indexes for these flights are kept in the map case next to the air photo cabinets

New York State Pre-WW II air photo coverage for 25 of the 62 counties (1937-42). See the PDF coverage map below.

Susquehanna Watershed Project - The Map Collection has coverage for the counties flown in this 1936/37 that cover the Susquehanna Watershed in New York State. See the PDF coverage map below.

Antarctica - Operation High Jump (1946-7) and Windmill (1947-8) - The map collection has an extensive collection of vertical, left and right oblique aerial photographic flights from Operation High Jump. These flights cover the first aerial survey of the coastline of Antarctica.

The map collection also has aerial coverage for the City of Syracuse from 1926 flown by the Air Map Corporation of America. This is the first aerial photographic coverage ever done for Syracuse, NY.

Contact

Profile Photo
John Olson
Contact:
358 Bird Library

Individual appointments for in-depth reference inquiries are also welcome through MS Teams or Zoom.
315.443.4818
Social Media: Twitter Page