Electronic Reference BooksReference Books in Print
This is the "Home" page of the "Political Science - Research Guide" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Subject Guides - Syracuse University Libraries

Political Science - Research Guide  

Last Updated: Jul 10, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.library.syr.edu/polisci Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Political Science

Syracuse University Libraries purchases and provides access to a wide variety of information sources (e.g., books, journals, DVDs, electronic resources) in all areas of political science.

To find out more about these sources, please explore the links on this page and on this guide's top menu bar.

 

Statistical Database BEST BET

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets

Has been described as “The World’s Largest Collection of Organized Statistical Data.”

Once inside Data-Planet Statistical Datasets, look toward the left of the screen for a series of subject folders.  The "International" folder draws datapoints from sources such as the International Monetary Fund, World Bank, United Nations and China Data Center as well as World Resource Institute environmental data.  Additional categories cover foreign labor statistics, population change/migration, and balance of trade data.  Data categories covered for the U.S. include education, commerce, housing and construction, population and income, prices and cost of living, energy, health, labor & employment, banking, finance and insurance.  Variables can be cross-compared using side by side tables and charts.

 

Congress.gov

Congress.gov makes federal United States legislative information freely available to the public. Launched Sept. 19, 2012, this version of the site is an initial beta release of Congress.gov, created as a successor to THOMAS.gov, the current public site for legislative information. The Congress.gov beta site contains legislation from the 107th Congress (2001) to the present, member of Congress profiles from the 93rd Congress (1973) to the present, and selected member profiles from the 80th through the 92nd Congresses (1947 to 1972). Over the next two years, Congress.gov will be adding information and features, eventually incorporating all of the information currently available on THOMAS.gov.

http://beta.congress.gov/about

 

Added to Reference Collection @ Bird Library

Cover Art
The Wiley-Blackwell Encyclopedia of Globalization - George Ritzer
Call Number: JZ 1318 W543 2012 V.1 - V.5 (2nd Floor - Reference Coll - Bird Library)
ISBN: 1405188243
Publication Date: 2012-03-27

 

      Database BEST BETS

 

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts [Proquest] - Citations, abstracts, and indexing of the international serials literature in political science and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration / policy.  A core research tool for exploring the discipline's journal literature.  Looking for other excellent collections of scholarly & professional literature in political science? Try these databases (and be sure to visit this guide's Databases page for additional options):

 

      New Database

N B C Learn Higher Ed 

 

  • NBC Learn Higher Ed provides access to digitized video news stories from NBC archives, including stories from NBC Nightly News, the TODAY show, Meet the Press, Dateline NBC, as well as MSNBC, CNBC, and Telemundo.  The resource also includes digitized photos and other materials.  Some historic content is included, back as far as the early 1900s.
     
  • “Cue cards” are included with stories, offering information about the item such as source, creator and date, and for many items, a transcript.   For S.U. faculty, see also - Information about integrating NBC Learn into Blackboard.
 

Policy Map

Policy Map is a geographic information system which allows you to easily create and customize maps, tables, and charts detailing various U.S. demographics, real estate, crime, money & income, jobs, education, energy, and public investments. T R F Policy Map

Librarian

Profile Image
Michael Pasqualoni
Contact Info
Bird Library (Room 200)
(315) 443-3715
Send Email
 

QDR

The Qualitative Data Repository (QDR) is a dedicated archive for storing and sharing digital data (and accompanying documentation) generated or collected through qualitative and multi-method research in the social sciences. QDR provides search tools to facilitate the discovery of data, and also serves as a portal to material beyond its own holdings, with links to U.S. and international archives. The repository’s initial emphasis is on political science.  QDR is funded by the National Science Foundation, and hosted by the Center for Qualitative and Multi-Method Inquiry, a unit of the Maxwell School of Citizenship and Public Affairs at Syracuse University.

 

DemocracyWise

 

Get Democracywise

DemocracyWise is a unique online resource center created by Syracuse University - Newhouse School - Professor Charlotte Grimes, SU's Knight Chair in Political Reporting.  DemocracyWise offers basic knowledge and information for everyone to participate in democracy — everything from stories about candidates and issues to a democracy toolkit on the nuts and bolts of registering to vote.

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip