Government Publications at Syracuse University
The government documents collection includes all types of government publications in all formats. The SU Libraries has been a part of the Federal Depository Library Program for more than 135 years since it was designated by US Representative Frank Hiscock on Feb 7, 1878. We currently select 70% of all documents available to depository libraries. We also collect other government publications that include:
The collection includes over 500,000 paper items, thousands of items in electronic format, over 4,000 CD-ROMS and DVDs, and over 1 million microfiche. Materials are located on the 3rd floor of Bird Library. Most government publications can be searched for by using the Classic Catalog or SUMMON
This library is a congressionally designated depository for U.S. government documents. Public access to the government documents collection is guaranteed by public law. (Title 44 United States Code)
Updated February 9, 2015
General Public Access to Documents at SU Libraries
All are welcome to use the Government Documents Collection when ever the library is open to the public. (8am - 8pm M-F, 10am - 8pm Sat/Sun). Please refer to the Use and Conduct policy for more information on using any of the Libraries. Please refer to the Visitor's Guide on using the Libraries online catalog and any of the databases.
For available computers to view electronic documents in the Documents Collection on the third floor see the link below.
For Documents information on CD-ROMs and DVDs there is a stand-alone CD-ROM computer available for use in the GSIC lab across from the 3rd floor service desk.
The Government Information Librarian is available for:
- class workshops or presentations on library research and resources
- small group assistance on research projects
- individual research help
Please use the contact information in the box above to schedule an appointment.