Research Guides: Russian Language and Literature: Home

Russian Language & Literature at Syracuse University

The Syracuse University Russian Program is part of the Department of Languages, Literatures, and Linguistics in the College of Arts & Sciences.

Russian Program Website

Online Videos

Research Help

Databases of Interest

American Bibliography of Slavic East European, and Eurasian Studies: ABSEEES
Produced by the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. Provides information on East-Central Europe and the former Soviet Union, covering subjects such as anthropology, culture and the arts, economics, education, and geography. Sources indexed include journals, books, dissertations, and selected government publications published in the U.S. and Canada.

ProQuest Literature & Language
A resource that offers access to multiple databases, including CBCA Complete: Literature & Language, ProQuest Dissertations & Theses: Literature & Language, and ProQuest Research Library: Literature & Language.

JSTOR
A full-text archive of scholarly publications in the arts and the humanities, the social sciences, and mathematics and the natural sciences. Provides coverage of 19 Slavic Studies journals.

Pravda

Online Journals

Classified Resources at the SU Libraries

Russia and Ukraine by Maria Popova; Oxana Shevel
Call Number: DK5417 .P67 2024
ISBN: 9781509557370
Publication Date: 2024-01-16

Browsing Library Collections by Call Numbers

Although some older books are perhaps classified in the Dewey Decimal Classification System, most Syracuse University Libraries print resources are classified in and physically arranged according to the alpha-numeric Library of Congress (LC) Classification System. [NOTE: Although they have no physical presence, e-books are also assigned base LC classification numbers to make them findable via Libraries Search "Call Number" searches.]

The LC system has allocated Class P to Languages and Literature. “P” call numbers are assigned to the Languages and Literature holdings that are shelved in the Reference Collection on the 2nd floor of Bird Library and in the general and oversize stacks on the 5th floor of Bird Library.

Note: Less frequently used library materials are kept in other facilities on campus. Materials can be requested for next-business-day delivery to a library on campus.

You can see an outline of the entire "P" Class from the Library of Congress. Then click on Subclass "PG" for an outline of the classification scheme for Slavic Languages and Literature.