Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Accessing Online Resources @ SU Libraries
Even though you might not be able to visit Syracuse University Libraries in person, many—if not most—of our resources and services are available to online and distance students.
Off-Campus Access to Online Resources
Syracuse University Libraries offers to currently enrolled SU students, faculty, and staff a variety of research materials (databases, electronic journals and books, and other Internet and web-accessible resources) for online access through the Internet and Web. Click here to learn more about off-campus access.
Unable to Connect from Off-Campus?
Resources and contact information to assist if you're experiencing difficulties connecting to SU Libraries resources from off-campus.
Unable to access a specific electronic resource?
If you're unable to access a specific electronic resource that appears to be available online, such as a journal article, please complete the Report an Electronic Resource Issue form and someone will assist you as soon as possible.
Summon is a search engine for most of the Syracuse University Libraries’ collections and other resources beyond the SU Libraries. Includes articles, books, journals, maps, sound recordings, archival materials, government documents, and more. Users can narrow or expand results using multiple search refinements. For example, you can choose a search filter to show only items with full text online. By combining the full-text online filter with the book/eBook filter, the results will show only eBooks that can be read directly online.
Access more than 550 databases covering almost every subject and content type. Popular databases include JSTOR, NexisUni, ProQuest, Scopus, and Web of Science.
Journals, Newspapers, Magazines, & Other Periodicals
SU Libraries offers access to thousands of different journals, magazines, newspapers, and other periodicals. Chick here to search for journals/periodicals and access them online.
Special Collections Research Center (SCRC)
The Syracuse University Libraries' Special Collections Research Center (SCRC) advances scholarship and learning by collecting and preserving rare books, manuscripts, and other primary source materials. Many of these collections are available online.
Syracuse University's open access repository containing dissertations, theses, books, journals, magazines, and other forms of scholarship.
Through the worldwide eduroam network, SU students, faculty, and staff can now use eduroam to securely and easily connect to the Internet and the SU network while visiting other eduroam institutions, even those abroad.
Accessibility, Inclusion & SU Libraries
Syracuse University Libraries are committed to providing all SU students, faculty and staff equitable access to the library resources and services they require for their academic and research needs even during this quarantine period. Learn about the resources, services, and specific tools that SU Libraries offers to further inclusion and accessibility. If you have any questions related to issues of inclusion and accessibility at Syracuse University, please contact Kate Deibel, our inclusion and accessibility librarian during. She can be reached at 315-443-7178 or firstname.lastname@example.org.
Finding More Accessible Materials
Responsibility for providing accessible course materials lies in the teaching staff, but the Libraries can assist in finding electronic copies that may be more easily remediated for accessibility.
Alternate Format Service for Patrons with Disabilities
For patrons with print-related disabilities, the Libraries can provide alternate formats to qualifying individuals of library owned or licensed materials or InterLibrary Loan materials.
Read & Write Gold software
Read&Write lets everyone read, write and express themselves more confidently. From hearing emails or documents read out loud to text prediction, picture dictionaries and summary highlighters, Read&Write makes lots of everyday literacy tasks simpler, quicker and more accurate. Students enrolled at Syracuse University may download Read & Write Gold onto their own computers at no cost.
Microsoft Accessibility Features
The Microsoft Windows operating systems have multiple built-in accessibility features to use as temporary alternatives to any installed campus software you may rely on.
Apple Accessibility Features
Apple products and operating systems have multiple built-in accessibility features to use as temporary alternatives to any installed campus software you may rely on.
Borrowing Items from SU Libraries
In addition to accessing online and electronic resources via Syracuse University Libraries, it may be possible to borrow or access resources that are physically located at Syracuse University Libraries:
Check your SU Libraries accounts (and RENEW)
Click here to check your library account for due dates, renewals, requests, and fines, or to check your Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) account to manage and review your Interlibrary loan requests.
Learn which resources you're allowed to borrow or check out at SU Libraries and how long the borrowing period might be
The Interlibrary Loan service at Syracuse University Libraries can help connect online and distance students with the resources they need by mailing printed and other physical resource needed to for coursework and research. If you live more than 30 miles from campus, we will mail items to your home. Use the ILLiad Request Form to borrow library material and request delivery. Please indicate that you are a distance student in the Notes box. Interlibrary Loan books from other libraries cannot be mailed.
Articles to Go Electronic Delivery
Articles to Go provides electronic delivery of articles or book chapters scanned from the Libraries' print periodical collection, microfilm/fiche collection, or book collection and is free to current SU faculty, staff and graduate students. Most articles will be delivered within two business days.
Finding Resources Beyond SU Libraries
If you're looking for a resource or item that's not available via Syracuse University Libraries, there may be other options for you to access the resources that you need:
Onondaga County Public Libraries
Local public libraries could be a great place to start finding resources or items that aren't available via SU Libraries. The Onondaga County Public Library, for example, offers an interlibrary loan service, databases, and other free resources.
New York Public Library
If you live in an area with a strong regional or statewide library system, such as New York State, explore the resources and services those library systems offer. The New York Public Library, for example, offers free membership to all state residents and provides access to an incredible variety of databases, eBooks, and other online resources.
WorldCat is a great tool to see which libraries—both public and academic—have the specific resource that you're looking for. You might find a particular book or other item at a nearby library.
LinkedIn Learning is a leading online learning platform that helps anyone learn business, software, technology and creative skills to achieve personal and professional goals. Through individual, corporate, academic and government subscriptions, members have access to the Lynda.com video library of engaging, top-quality courses taught by recognized industry experts.
Open Access Resources
A growing number of researchers, institutions, and publishers are offering free access to research and other scholarly publications instead of hiding scholarship behind expensive paywalls. Click here to learn more about locating articles and other forms of scholarship in open access repositories (databases) from around the world.
This program allows faculty, students, and staff from Syracuse University and other participating institutions to gain on-site access to collections at many research libraries, museum libraries, and archives in the United States and several other countries.