Research Guides: LIN 208 / NAT 208: Indigenous Languages: Their Past, Present, and Future (Spring 2024): Home

Using this Research Guide

This guide is intended to point you to websites, books, periodicals, and databases that will help you to complete locate sources for your biblkigraphy projects for LIN 208. Feel free to contact subject librarian Patrick Williams if you have questions.

Reference eBooks in Linguistic Studies & Indigenous Issues

If you encounter terms or concepts about which you need some additional background information or context, consider searching in the reference ebooks linked below.

Dictionary Plus Linguistics
ISBN: 9780191831072
Publication Date: 2017
The Routledge handbook of sociolinguistics around the world
Call Number: P40 .R68 2023
ISBN: 9781000901962
Publication Date: 2023
The Routledge Handbook of African Linguistics by Augustine Agwuele (Editor); Adams Bodomo (Editor)
ISBN: 9781315392967
Publication Date: 2018-03-09
The Routledge Handbook of North American Languages by Daniel Siddiqi (Editor); Michael Barrie (Editor); Carrie Gillon (Editor); Jason Haugen (Editor); Eric Mathieu (Editor)
ISBN: 9781351810265
Publication Date: 2019-09-25
The Routledge Handbook of Indigenous Development by Katharina Ruckstuhl (Editor); Irma A. Velásquez Nimatuj (Editor); John-Andrew McNeish (Editor); Nancy Postero (Editor)
ISBN: 9781003153085
Publication Date: 2022-11-30
The Routledge Handbook of Language Revitalization by Leanne Hinton (Editor); Leena Huss (Editor); Gerald Roche (Editor)
ISBN: 9781317200857
Publication Date: 2018-03-05
Immigrant Children in Transcultural Spaces by Marjorie Faulstich Orellana
ISBN: 9781315752617
Publication Date: 2015-10-14
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Linguistics by P. H. Matthews
ISBN: 9780199675128
Publication Date: 2014-05-13
The Routledge Handbook of Language Education Curriculum Design by Peter Mickan (Editor); Ilona Wallace (Editor)
ISBN: 9781317338895
Publication Date: 2019-12-23
The Routledge Handbook of Language and the Global South/s by Sinfree Makoni (Editor); Anna Kaiper-Marquez (Editor); Lorato Mokwena (Editor)
ISBN: 9781000600193
Publication Date: 2022-08-25
Routledge Handbook of Critical Indigenous Studies by Steve Larkin (Editor); Brendan Hokowhitu (Editor); Aileen Moreton-Robinson (Editor); Linda Tuhiwai-Smith (Editor); Chris Andersen (Editor)
ISBN: 9780429802379
Publication Date: 2020-12-30

Other eBooks for Language Research

An Introduction to the Languages of the World by Anatole Lyovin; Brett Kessler; William Leben
ISBN: 9780195149883
Publication Date: 2017-01-02
When Languages Die by K. David Harrison
ISBN: 9780195181920
Publication Date: 2007-02-01

Databases for Language Research in Academic Journals & other sources

Primary Databases for Linguistic Studies Research

LLBA: Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts
Index and abstracts of articles, books, and dissertations covering linguistics, discourse analysis, phonetics, literary theory, semantics and more.
Linguistics Abstracts Online : LABS
Index and abstracts to scholarly articles published in linguistics journals.
Communication Source
Abstracts of publications covering advertising, discourse, linguistics, media studies, speech-language pathology, and other communication fields.
MLA International Bibliography (EBSCO)
Modern Language Association bibliography of publications related to language, literature, folklore, and linguistics.

If you are having trouble finding mention of your language, consider searching SUMMON, the library's search interface to all databases simultaneously. This will include print and ebooks, news, popular content, video, and other sources you may not find elsewhere.

Other Library collections and subscription resources

ProQuest
Databases covering a broad range of subject areas including business, economics, education, humanities, literature, news, social sciences, science and technology and more.
PressReader
Current local, regional and international newspapers and magazines from over 100 countries in 60 languages, displayed in their original format and accessible by country, language, or title.
Ethnic NewsWatch
Newspapers, magazines, and journals that focus on ethnic studies, indigenous peoples, and the presses from a diverse range of multi-racial, multi-ethnic and multi-cultural perspectives; included in the TDM Studio text visualization dashboard; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.
Indigenous Newspapers in North America
Collection of print journalism from Indigenous peoples of the US and Canada from 1828-2016. From the collections at the Newberry Library, Chicago, and the Sequoyah National Research Centre at the University of Arkansas. Key topics covered include community news, public health and welfare, education, tribal laws and elections, sovereignty, and more.
ProQuest News and Newspapers
Search portal for multiple news and newspaper databases including Alt-PressWatch, Canadian Newsstream, Ethnic NewsWatch, GenderWatch, Global Breaking Newswires, International Newsstream, US Newsstream, and ProQuest Historical Newspapers. Text visualization options for selected newspapers are available on the TDM Studio platform; please see the ProQuest TDM Studio guide for access information.

Resources for research citations on the open web (cut and paste article titles into SUMMON, linked above, for library access).

Websites for Language Research

Ethnologue
A reference for making informed decisions in every language context worldwide.
Glottolog
Comprehensive reference information for the world's languages, especially the lesser known languages. Locate additional external resources on your language here.

In some cases, external resources or references listed in Ethnologue & Glottolog will only include citations, and will not have direct links to full text. In those cases, take the title of the article and search in SUMMON, the database of library subscribed databases, to see if we have access.

World Atlas of Language Structure
The World Atlas of Language Structures (WALS) is a large database of structural (phonological, grammatical, lexical) properties of languages gathered from descriptive materials (such as reference grammars) by a team of 55 authors.
Endangered Languages Project
A worldwide collaboration to strengthen endangered languages; catalogue contains information on 3466 languages. This is the one with the very useful map to cross-reference with the Ethnologue list.
UNESCO World Atlas of Languages
The World Atlas of Languages is an interactive and dynamic online tool that documents different aspects and features of language status in countries and languages around the world. It aims to provide a detailed record of languages as communicative tools and knowledge resources in their sociocultural and socio-political contexts.