Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Company Information, Case Studies and Interviews
Business Insights: Essentials
Useful for company information. Can find companies by city. May be used to find companies in this area. For example, cities in and around Syracuse include: Syracuse, DeWitt, Manlius, Salina, Cicero, Clay, including smaller towns of East Syracuse, Baldwinsville, Liverpool, Elbridge, Cazenovia, Oneida, Solvay, Skaneateles, and Fayetteville.
Business Source Elite
Use to find interviews, case studies and articles. Includes a Company Profile search. Covers business, management, and marketing publications and economics journals.
Includes daily research articles, Interviews, analyst reports, and a database of ebusiness and online marketing statistics, aggregated and analyzed from over 2,800 sources.
Includes case studies and current company profiles. Resources cover company, country, industry and product intelligence as well as business strategies and news and opinion. Browse by industry or search by specific company.
Information about U.S. and international public and private companies, company news, and key business ratios. Searchable by company, person, or industry. Includes content in D & B Million Dollar Database and offers FirstResearch industry profiles, Indeed job search, Nielsen demographics, and a residential directory.
Additional Databases for Information Sciences and Business Articles
ACM Digital Library
Many of the ACM publications may also be searched for in Business Source Elite. Bibliographic information, abstracts, reviews, and the full text for articles published in ACM (Association for Computing Machinery) periodicals and proceedings since 1985.
Faulkner Advisory for IT Studies : FAITS.
Full-text reports in information technology. Subjects: IT Infrastructure, Wireless Communications, Security, Telecommunications, Data Networking, Enterprise Systems, Technology Vendors, Convergence, The Internet & Web, Linux/Open Source, Information Manag
Library and Information Science Abstracts (LISA)
Index and abstracts of English and foreign-language journal articles. Dates of coverage: 1969 to present.
Library Literature & Information Science Full Text
Coverage: English and foreign language periodicals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, and theses. Index and abstract entries 1984 to present; select full text 1994 to present.
Scopus covers of scientific, technical, medical and social sciences literature including peer-reviewed journals, open-access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, and book series. Scopus also covers web sources, including patents.
Possible Search Words
Here are some subject words that may be good to start with:
- "information management"
- "information technology"
- "case studies"
- success or effectiveness
- cyber security
- cyber attack
- data breach
- software or system failure
- "success factors"
- "data maintenance"
- "data management"
- "digital exhaust"
- "information continuum"
- "information governance"
- "knowledge management"
- "business planning"
- "decision support systems"
- "risk management"
- "enterprise resources planning"
- "corporate culture"
- "computer networks"
- "strategic planning"
- information architecture
Librarian for the iSchool: Brenna
- Application analyst
- Data analyst
- Database administrator
- IT consultant
- IT technical support officer
- Systems analyst or systems developer
- Information security analyst
- Computer Systems Analysts
- Information systems manager
- Health IT specialist
- Mobile application developer
- Web developer
- Computer forensic investigator
Information Managment Companies - short list
- DST systems
- BMC Software
- Citrix Systems
- CA Technologies
- Parametric Technology
- Red Hat