Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Special Collections Hours and Contact
"Migration of the Negro" series #24: Child labor and a lack of education was one of the other reasons for people wishing to leave their homes.
Selected Special Collections related to History of Education:
- Alexander A. Liveright Papers
Alexander A. Liveright was a professor of adult education and director of the Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA) for more than ten years. Correspondence, minutes and reports which highlight Liveright’s professional interests and affiliations. Included are papers generated while professor in the schools of education at Boston University and Syracuse University, as director of The Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults, and as founding member and Secretary of the International Congress of University Adult Education. Sagamore Conference papers and those of the New Institutional Forms Project, a research project begun by Liveright to study the development of comprehensive adult education programs, also appear in the collection. International adult education is the focus of records from trips to Australia, Hong Kong, India, New Zealand, the Philippines, and Thailand. Miscellaneous material includes newspaper clippings, War Manpower Commission documents, and material from the Highlander Folk School.
- Alexander N. Charters Papers
Papers of the American adult educator. Material in the collection includes bibliographies, correspondence, directories, memoranda, minutes, newsletters, photographs, reports, speeches and writings related to issues and organizations in the field of adult and continuing education. Organizations represented include the Adult Education Association (AEA/USA), Association for Continuing Higher Education (ACHE), Center for the Study of Liberal Education for Adults (CSLEA), Coalition of Adult Education Organizations (CAEO), Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE), Committee for the Study and Research in Comparative Adult Education (CSRCAE), Galaxy Conference, International Conference on Adult Education (ICAE), International Congress of University Adult Education (ICUAE), Middle States Association (MSA), National University Extension Association (NUEA), Syracuse University Publications in Continuing Education, Unesco, and the Universidad Simon Rodriguez.
- American Book Company
The American Book Company was formed in 1890 by consolidation of Van Antwerp, Bragg and Co., A.S. Barnes and Co., D. Appleton and Co., and Iveson, Blakeman and Co. The collection includes the records of the company which manufactured books and educational materials in several locations in the United States, with head offices in New York City; the book list embraced all subjects at all educational levels. The collection is primarily textbooks, including several editions as far back as 1840 of the McGuffey readers; also included are business records and illustrations.
- Arthur L. Carson Papers
Books and printed material, some related to Silliman University in the Philippines.
Records of Fairfield Academy and Fairfield Medical College, Herkimer County, New York, and the personal papers of Dr. William Mather, Alonzo C. Mather, Albert B. Watkins, and other families and individuals connected with the school and town.
- Rae Rohfeld Papers
Papers of the adult education professor at Syracuse University. Collection includes correspondence, conference material, writings. Most relates to several working conferences on the history of adult education held at SU.
- Syracuse University Kellogg Project Records
Project to document the history of adult education. Collection includes reports, registers of collection, audiocassettes and other material.
- William S Griffith Papers
Papers of the adult education professor and researcher. Includes Griffith's correspondence and his own writings (articles, book chapters, reports, speeches) as well as an extensive amount of relevant material by others including articles and clippings, conference proceedings, papers, reports and studies, speeches, and printed material. The collection reflects Griffith's interest in international education (material from countries ranging from Africa and Asia to Scotland and Sweden), correctional education (particularly for sex offenders), and population education (Planned Parenthood, population education in Egypt). There is also a considerable amount of material from organizations with which Griffith was closely involved, including the American Association for Adult and Continuing Education (AAACE), the Commission of Professors of Adult Education (CPAE), the Northwest Adult Education Association, and the Universities of Chicago and of British Columbia.