Research Guides: European Studies: European Studies Databases

Databases A-Z

Here's a link to the full A to Z list of databases available through the Syracuse University Libraries. Includes databases containing articles, images, data and videos. Search for a database by title, subject area, or content type.

Watch for the SULinks icon

If you see this next to the record for an article in an SU Libraries database, click on it to see if the full-text is available online.

Off-Campus Access

For information on accessing SU Libraries subscription resources when you are off-campus, see

Working Off Campus

Kanopy - Video Collection

Kanopy
To access titles, click on LOG IN TO SYR or WATCH THIS buttons at bottom of screen, and not LOG IN at upper right of screen. If you cannot find a title on Kanopy, please use the SU Libraries’ Request a title form
Academic streaming video collection containing educational titles as well as U.S. and international feature films. Some titles include transcripts and closed captioning. The platform video player is WCAG-compliant.

Help With Citing?

Need help on formatting the sources you cite in your academic writing (e.g., APA, MLA, etc.) or want access to full-fledged online bibliographic management systems-like "RefWorks" or "Zotero?" Visit the SU Libraries Citation Support website.

Database Search

Syracuse University Libraries provides access to hundreds of subscription databases. Some database choices with likely relevance to European Studies are:

Access World News
Current and past worldwide news sources, including international, local and regional newspapers, media transcripts, wire service content, college newspaper articles, magazines, blogs, video and audio.
American Bibliography of Slavic East European, and Eurasian Studies: ABSEEES
Citations for journal articles, books, government publications, and other scholarly sources on East-Central Europe, Russia, Soviet Union and the former Soviet Republics. Sources published in the United States, Canada, and some European countries. Produced by the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign.
British Periodicals
British journal and magazine page image content from the 1600s to the 20th century.
Economist Intelligence Unit
Reports, analysis, and data from the Economist Intelligence Unit related to the industries, and the economy in numerous countries.
Europa World
Online Europa World Year Book providing basic facts, and political and economic information about countries and territories.
ForeignAffairs.com
Articles and current news covering the political, historical, and economic impacts of American foreign policy and global affairs. Includes the full archive of Foreign Affairs Magazine 1922-present plus additional online-only content.
Historical Abstracts with Full-text
Index to articles about world history, excluding the United States and Canada, from 1450 to the present. Covers history of specific subjects in the humanities, social sciences and sciences.
Humanities Index
Index and abstracts to humanities journals and weekly magazines published in the United Kingdom (UK) and English speaking countries, as well as newspapers published in the UK.
Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research : ICPSR direct
ICPSR is a membership-based organization providing access to the world's largest archive of computer-based research and instructional data for the social sciences. The data archive includes a broad range of disciplines, including political science, sociology, demography, economics, history, education, gerontology, criminal justice, public health, foreign policy, and law. ICPSR's entire collection is online and available for downloading. User must create free MyData Login while on-campus in order to download data. After the Login is created you will be able to download from anywhere.
Roper iPoll
Public opinion data in the U.S. from academic, media and commercial polls.
Nexis Uni
News, business, and legal sources covering world news and companies, and including U.S. Supreme Court decisions, state, federal and international law, regulations, and law reviews.
OECD iLibrary
Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) Library of publications, including articles, books, working papers, and data sets covering agriculture, development, energy, transportation, and more.
PAIS Index
Index to journal articles, books, government documents, reports, and papers, covering public affairs and policy.
Polling the Nations
Information about polls on various subjects, including poll questions and responses.
SAGE Journals Online
Journals published by Sage in numerous disciplines, including health, management, sociology, psychology and communications. Includes the archive of the Institute of Mechanical Engineers (IMechE).
SAGE Knowledge
Books, reference works, handbooks, in the social sciences, from Sage and CQ Press.
Scopus
Abstracts and citations of journals, books, conference proceedings, and patents covering science, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts and humanities.

Transitions Online [Transitions - Czech Republic]
A gateway to media outlets not readily accessible in the west (e.g., examples of publications: Novoe Vremea (Moldova); Kapital (Macedonia). Transitions Online compiles these into coherent web-accessible collections (e.g., by country name). In addition to daily journalism-the site allows users to locate, by country, a variety of links to that nation's political parties, government agencies, and think tanks. It also offers job listings, opinion pieces, essays, article packages focusing on common themes and year-in review annual surveys for each country. It does not limit its coverage to economic or political subject matter-but also links to news of the arts, culture and the humanities. It includes a searchable archive with content reaching back to the mid 1990s.

Web of Science
Abstract and citation database covering numerous fields in arts, humanities, social sciences and sciences. Includes access to Arts and Humanities Citation Index, Biosis Citation Index, Book Citation Index, Current Contents Connect, Data Citation Index, Derwent Innovations Index, Essential Science Indicators, Index Chemicus / KCI Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Citation Index, Current Chemical Reactions, Social Sciences Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Science Citation Index, Zoological Record.
World News Connection
Archive (1995-2013) of translated and English language news and information from the Foreign Broadcast Information Service including translated newspaper articles, conference proceedings, television and radio broadcasts, and non-classified technical reports.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Abstracts and indexing of journal literature in political science, international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

See also these freely available sources:

International Statistics [United Nations Statistics Division]
Links to all statistics programmes of the United Nations, of the United Nations Specialized Agencies (FAO, ILO, IMF, etc), and selected Autonomous Organizations (Eurostat, World Trade Organization, OECD, etc.)
Statistics Online [United National Economic Commission for Europe]
Statistics on gender, human settlements, economic trends, etc. For Europe and North America.
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets [U.S. State Department]
Contains factual information on countries of the world with which the United States has relations. Note the date next to each entry to know when the information was last updated. Entries include data on land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and its relations with other countries and the United States.