Research Guides: IST 425/625: Enterprise Risk Management: Home

Sources Featured in the Video Tutorials

From Part I: Identifying Industry Codes

North American Industry Classification System

Data Axle Reference Solutions Includes profiles on United States and Canadian companies (including smaller private companies), a U.S. New Businesses search (with new businesses added weekly), a U.S. Consumers/Lifestyles database (where consumers can be identified with criteria such as income level and area of interest/hobbies), and directories of U.S. and Canadian residents.

(formerly ReferenceUSA)

From Part 2: Discovering Industry Research Reports and Data

IBISWorld Industry and company reports, industry outlook and risk rating reports, market share, and business environment profiles, and more, searchable by keyword or NAICS code.
Business Insights Articles about business, company histories and profiles, financial and industry reports, SWOT analyses, and more.
Mergent Intellect Information about U.S. and international public and private companies, company news, and key business ratios. Searchable by company, person, or industry. Includes content in D & B Million Dollar Database and offers FirstResearch industry profiles, Nielsen demographics, and residential and consumer lifestyle directories.
BizMiner Industry and market analysis reports, covering national and local markets.
Business Source Elite Business and economics journals and magazine articles, many with full text, including content from the Harvard Business Review.

Explore Census Data

Sage Data Browsable and searchable collection of datasets from numerous sources, covering a wide range of subjects.

Citing Sources

Citing Business Databases in APA From UNC-Greensboro
Citing Sources

Industry Research Video Tutorials

Introduction Video
Industry Research Part 1: Identifying Industry Codes
Stephanie McReynolds, business, management, and entrepreneurship librarian at Syracuse University Libraries, provides guidance on identifying North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) industry codes. (14 minutes 45 seconds)

Since this video covers a lot of material, it has been subdivided into shorter chapters, which can be reached by using the chapter navigation feature in the upper left corner of the video player. An outline of the video chapters is also listed below, for your convenience.

Video Chapters for Industry Research Part 1: Identifying Industry Codes:

Introduction: Introduction and short description of North American Industry Classification (NAICS) codes. (38 seconds)
Searching for Codes in NAICS: Tips for searching for NAICS codes in the North American Industry Classification System (6 minutes 42 seconds)
Browsing for Codes in NAICS Reference Files: Overview of how NAICS Reference Files can be browsed to identify relevant codes that might otherwise be overlooked. (1 minute 17 seconds)
Using Company Databases to Find NAICS Codes: Overview of how company databases can be used to find NAICS codes. (50 seconds)
Searching ReferenceUSA for NAICS Codes: How to search in the company database ReferenceUSA to find NAICS codes. (5 minutes 19 seconds)

Industry Research Part 2: Discovering Industry Research Reports and Data
Stephanie McReynolds, business, management, and entrepreneurship librarian at Syracuse University Libraries, provides guidance on how to use North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) industry codes and keyword searches to find industry research reports and data. (28 minutes 11 seconds)

Since this video covers a lot of material, it has been subdivided into shorter chapters, which can be reached by using the chapter navigation feature in the upper left corner of the video player. An outline of the video chapters is also listed below, for your convenience.

Video Chapters for Industry Research Part 2: Discovering Industry Research Reports and Data:

Introduction: Intro and overview of NAICS codes (already identified) to use when searching in industry databases. (2 minutes 7 seconds)
IBISWorld for Industry Research: How to find industry reports in IBISWorld using NAICS codes and keywords searches. (5 minutes)
Business Insights: Essentials for Industry Research: How to find industry reports, industry associations, market share reports, and rankings in Business Insights Essentials using NAICS codes. (4 minutes 17 seconds)
Mergent Intellect for Industry Research: How to find industry reports using NAICS codes and keyword searches in the "First Research" module of Mergent Intellect (2 minutes 54 seconds)
Plunkett Research Online for Industry Research: How to find industry reports, market reports, and industry associations using NAICS codes and keyword searches in Plunkett Research Online. (2 minutes 16 seconds)
Bizminer for Industry Research: How to find industry reports and ratios using NAICS codes and keyword searches in Bizminer. (2 minutes 32 seconds)
Business Source Elite for Industry Articles: How to find articles relevant to an industry by using NAICS code searches and keyword searches in the business article database Business Source Elite. (5 minutes 51 seconds)
Citing Business Resources in APA Style: Shows an example of how to find citation feature in article databases and demonstrates how to find recommended guide for citing other business resources in APA style. (1 minute 33 seconds)
Finding Additional Data: Recommendations of resources for finding additional data, including Explore Census Data and Data-Planet Statistical Datasets. (1 minute 42 seconds)